Origin of Expression-Saved by the Bell!

in #english7 years ago

Of course this expression referred to super popular 90's teens sitcom with the same name.


Source

Of course that's a bold faced lie, and in fact it doesn't even have anything to do with a school bell either.

This expression means that you were saved just in the nick or time, or saved at the very last minute.

You could use it in the following way;

When telling your friend how you got out of big project at work because your shift was over, you could say 'I was saved by the bell"

The expression actually originates from these safety coffins from the good old days, when it was common to bury people alive. I mean really it's hard to tell if someone is dead or just sleeping right? Someone had to work the 'graveyard shift' to listen for the 'dead ringers' to be "saved by the bell".

You could also get the safety coffin with the flag in case the guy that was going to save your life was def.

Sorry those were all lies

Well not lies, but erroneous theories about how all three of those expressions (dead ringer, graveyard shift, saved by the bell) started. It's certainly much more fun and interesting then the real ones. It's always interesting to hear how these alternate origin stories got started and then popularized due to the internet. (fake news anyone).

So on with the real origin

Like I said it's not as much fun as above, it actually related to boxing, when the bell at the end of the round stopped the fighting so the combatant had a chance to rest. Or even the final bell which meant you no longer had to fight at all.


Source

Now your smarted and can impress your friends, also you won't go around spreading lies anymore


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Far too many coffins out there with fingernail scratches under the lid.
In fairness, if people are dropping like flies from a horrific, infectious disease, you probably want to get them underground nice and quick.
I thought that was the reason, but I'll take your word for it.

Here I lie by the vestry door.
Here I lie because I'm poor.
The further in, the more you pay.
So here I lie, as warm as they.

I think the coffin one was kinda a popular internet hoax, that everyone started to believe. I guess maybe sometimes you may wanna bury someone quick.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

A quick 'memo' to say this post has been featured in the latest issue of 'Notes', do stop in and see what else #thealliance has been up to. Some really good content out there!

Yeah, I took a look, Thanks so much, I'm going to pick through some of the other articles when I get a chance.

Right on brotha! Thanks for your support and commitment :)

Oh, I feel claustraphobic for those sleeping people who will wake up in a coffin and have to ring a bell! Sleeping vs dead. Maybe check if that person is breathing and has a pulse? I don't know. lol

Yeah, I know right. Maybe just poke them and say "hey bud, you asleep", before they box em up...lol.

haha yeah, seriously!

As always these little bits of knowledge are always handy in pub quizzes and random fact dropping in conversations. Cheers

Yeah, definitely handy little tidbits.

I knew it had to do with boxing, but for shure your first false story of the people buried alive actually convinced me, lol. You sneaky misleading Canadian.

Yeah, the coffin one is kinda a popular internet hoax that's going around.

Ha ha, you got it right. Dead ringer!
lol

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out my Latest Blog

I can't believe those were even a thing...lol.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

I'm so smarted now! LOL love this series.

Thanks, yeah it's a fun one to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43