Sort:  

Hindi and Urdu are in my regular practice. I even get a pretty good workout of Arabic because of some of my Arab friends. I am a bit worried about my Sanskrit and Pharsi, but not enough to do much about it. I know I can pick it up when the need arises.

My regret in French. I stayed in France for a year and got a bit of it in my use and then poof! It literally evaporated from my mind. Same with Polish..............

It seems as if you pick up languages like dirty socks from the floor.

I didn't intend to come across as flippant. The truth is that to languages come with a lot of hard work and difficulty. I was raised in a multilingual household so that gave me a certain edge but most of the languages I know have been acquired with painfully long hours of work.

If you read my posts you'll see a lot of grammatical inconsistencies. This is because of learning so many different languages. My vocabulary maybe good but my grammar suffers because of frequent switch overs. Some of the guys I know speak double the languages I do and they do it impeccably. It makes me jealous to no end but I know that these guys have the talent for it while I have to exert myself, sometimes unreasonably just to pick up even the smallest and simplest of colloquialism in a language.

I am an also an avid reader..............more like a maniacal reader. This also give me a bit of an edge. I wrote a post about my reading habits a while ago. Here it is: https://steemit.com/my2018/@hashcash/my-2018-this-is-my-hobby-reading

I didn't intend to come across as flippant.

Oh no, that's not what I meant to convey. I should've put a smiley there. My bad.

How well do you speak those four? Do you have opportunities to practice them?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51