You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's Your English Vocabulary Size? Take A Test And Find Out!

in #english6 years ago (edited)

Hindi and Urdu are in my regular practice. I even get a pretty good workout of Arabic because of some of my Arab friends. I am a bit worried about my Sanskrit and Pharsi, but not enough to do much about it. I know I can pick it up when the need arises.

My regret in French. I stayed in France for a year and got a bit of it in my use and then poof! It literally evaporated from my mind. Same with Polish..............

Sort:  

It seems as if you pick up languages like dirty socks from the floor.

I didn't intend to come across as flippant. The truth is that to languages come with a lot of hard work and difficulty. I was raised in a multilingual household so that gave me a certain edge but most of the languages I know have been acquired with painfully long hours of work.

If you read my posts you'll see a lot of grammatical inconsistencies. This is because of learning so many different languages. My vocabulary maybe good but my grammar suffers because of frequent switch overs. Some of the guys I know speak double the languages I do and they do it impeccably. It makes me jealous to no end but I know that these guys have the talent for it while I have to exert myself, sometimes unreasonably just to pick up even the smallest and simplest of colloquialism in a language.

I am an also an avid reader..............more like a maniacal reader. This also give me a bit of an edge. I wrote a post about my reading habits a while ago. Here it is: https://steemit.com/my2018/@hashcash/my-2018-this-is-my-hobby-reading

I didn't intend to come across as flippant.

Oh no, that's not what I meant to convey. I should've put a smiley there. My bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49