The Curation and Engagement Leagues - Sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag!

in #engagement6 years ago

Hi all!

Welcome to this weeks curation and engagement leagues, kindly sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag.

Thank you both very much for the extra STEEM boost, which allows me to reward the best curators and engagers of the past 7 days.

To enter the leagues until you say otherwise, drop a comment below.

On your marks, get set, curate!


newtitle.png


Introduction

My general views on curation rewards (to score highly in League 1) are:

  • Vote before the big hitters, but not too early!

  • Voting in the first minute will earn you a curation reward of almost 0.000

  • Voting between 1 and 29 minutes will earn an increasing % of the curation rewards split, this value peaking at 30 minutes and remaining the same from this point onwards

  • It is commonly suggested that 15-25 minutes is the 'best' time to vote (especially on known 'power author' posts because they are likely to have more auto-votes coming in at these times - and you want to be ahead of these votes)

  • A vote of equal weight and equal Steem Power at 30 minutes will give more reward than a vote at, for example 1 hour - first come first served, but don't arrive to early :)

  • Voting on good dtube content and utopian-io approved contributions (prior to the vote by @dtube / @utopian-io ) can earn some very good curation rewards

  • Voting on @ocd posts is likely to gain good curation rewards as founder @acidyo, and @anomadsoul support these posts after giving time for other accounts to vote - you will be in front of a couple of large votes here!

As you can see, a combination of many variables such as Steem Power, voting strength, voting weight, time of vote, (and more) all play a part in the amount of rewards received.

My general opinion on maximizing engagement (to score highly in League 2) is:

  • Spread your vote and write lots of engaging comments!

  • Use your vote on comments to make your vote seen


The data for league 1

The raw data has been collected from SteemSQL - @arcange's MS SQL Server copy of the Steem Blockchain.

The formula used for 'quality of financial curation skill' is:

Curation Rewards DIVIDED BY Steem Power MULTIPLIED BY 1000

This will return the amount of Curation rewards gained per 1000 Steem Power held


The rules (which will cause auto-filtering of your account if not met so just enter anyway and see what happens!) to appear in this league:

  • No programmed voting!

  • Must have voted at least once on a piece of content in the past 7 days

  • Must not have leased or delegated Steem Power in the last 14 days

  • Must not have Started a Power Down (withdrawal of Steem Power) in the last 15 days

The 2nd and 3rd points above are required to reduce distortion of the figures.

And, as curation rewards for the past week are actually taken from votes made up to 14 days ago, we need a 15 day window as mentioned above.

Don't let this put you off entering though - you will be automatically be excluded/appear depending on the criteria above.

League 1 - Curating to maximize returns

See the rules above if you are missing from this table

The end column is what I think is a genuine indicator of how well you are financially working the curation game with the tools, including vested Steem Power, that you have at your disposal.


This weeks' winners!

Congratulations to @crypto-econom1st again - 3rd week in a row! (And he told us he was retiring!)

And well done to @williamsyee, @tifaong, @pataty69, @misterakpan, @steemitri, @arrliinn, @sandrag89, @fiveboringgames, and @journeyoflife for earning their place into the top 10.

A slight prize reshuffle this week means all of the above will be getting some STEEM :)


League 2 - Engagement and Excellence - Write on!


ossyjay.png

This the newer league which is not based around rewards and relates to engagement.

Everyone currently on my master list has a chance here - delegation dealings or not.

I've used some metrics (which is the fancy way of saying that made up some numbers) relating to:

  • Posts (P)
  • Comments - number of (C)
  • Comments - outside of your own blogs (C E)
  • Comments - length in characters (C L)
  • Witness votes (W)
  • Upvotes to others (V)
  • Upvotes to different authors (U V)
  • Self-votes - a small minus score for this one sorry! (S V)


Firstly, if you are placed in the table above then you are doing great and are among the top 20%!

Congratulations to @lynncoyle1 who tops the league of engagement and excellence this week for the second week in a row!!

Well done also to @gillianpearce who has finished in 2nd again this week!

Very impressive amount of work and super high engagement ladies :)

Excellent engagement levels also from @davemccoy, @maverickinvictus, @bashadow, @beeyou, @abh12345, @simplymike, @amariespeaks, @fullcoverbetting, and @themanwithnoname who are all getting a prize this week :)

Do you want to be a part of the leagues? Let me know below!


Prizes sent!

Curation League 1

Curation League 2

Delegations

The most consistent performers, and especially those in need of a boost to the holy grail of 500 SP, could also receive a small delegation. This week:

50 SP added to existing delegation - @lynncoyle1 (500 SP achieved!)

100 SP added to existing delegation - @gillianpearce (500 SP achieved!)

50 SP added to existing delegation - @fullcoverbetting

100 SP added to existing delegation - @themanwithnoname (500 SP achieved!)


Finally

  • If you have spotted any glaring errors in my post, please let me know so I can fix them

  • If you would like to be added or removed from my personal curation league, let me know

  • If you have any other comments or suggestions, please enter them into the box below


Thank you for your support, have a great day!

Asher @abh12345

Sort:  

wow Asher, look at the effect this league has on the self voting... only 2 votes out of the top 12 engagers! I think engaging and selflessness might be linked in some way. ;)

Congratulations to the Queen @lynncoyle1 who has retained her crown and is doing an amazing job of being "out there"... And also congrats to @gillianpearce too for her amazing effort. She is pushing Lynn every week for a while I'm sure, those 2 are incredibly competitive.

And there are too many other names to list that I am very happy to see up in the list, but 2 in particular made so much of a leap and those are @maverickinvictus and @bashadow. I'm very to see them both so close to the Queen! :) Great job guys!

I'm very happy to see that we crossed the 300 threshold of entrants in the league and I am very thankful for the support that you are getting from @carlgnash and @paulag! My hat tips you both for helping Asher to inspire so many!

Also Asher I would like to thank you very much for your generosity to me and all the others. I appreciate my prize and will again be donating it to the @friendsofgondor in your name to help the #stewardsofgondor while @fulltimegeek fights the selfishness in his quest. I also would like to thank you for the generosity that you show every week with your delegations, it is so nice to see how you have helped to grow and encourage people that I know are doing a great job! Congrats to @lynncoyle1 @gillianpearce @fullcoverbetting @themanwithnoname, I think is is awesome to see your growth and I'm happy to be a part of #ashersarmy with you all! :D

Yes that does look pretty damn good doesn't it :D

Thank you for the appreciation Dave, it's nice to hear and I do hear it enough from all the delegates - I'm just happy to have the chance to do this. It was never my plan when I joined the platform, but It seems like the right thing to be doing.

I have put a fair amount of hours in recently (as many have I know!) and will be nudging my seat back a little, especially when the sun arrives.

Thanks to you, the accounts in L2, and more, engagement is happening and being promoted as something positive for Steemit.

Cheers!

I understand the need to get some sun, I am right there with you. This winter has been too long and too cold for my tastes. I am happy that I had so much time to spend here though, but like you I will find a way to get a little sunlight in my day :P .... And I do agree that engagement is happening and growing and I love to see how everyone is responding!

Enjoy your evening Asher, and thank you again for all that you do!

Thank you :)

In this community things look great, hopefully we can rub off elsewhere too!

We're trying ;) ... we have some new groups that we are mingling with that I think are finding out how to fan out.. @meno's @helpie and @hitmeasap are two that I see growing like the wind right now. And we have @greetersguild that is just getting started but run by @terminallyill and he will do an unbelievable job of growing the "human" greeting function and replace some of those bots.

We're getting there, some days it seems slow and others not so much.. but as long as we stay focused I think we achieve some big things here.

This sounds very promising. I just hope it doesn't burn you out as the more you take on, the busier your time will become!

I have to echo @davemccoy's assessment regarding the self-upvoting. With one competition, you've been able to encourage engagement and in most cases either encourage people to not self-upvote (if they were already refraining), or incentivize them to reduce/stop. I really hope that the time and effort you're putting into this is giving back to you.

The prizes are worth more to minnow accounts that self-voting each of your posts - I'd like to be able to expand the prize list further to increase the incentive.

I really hope that the time and effort you're putting into this is giving back to you.

I'm winning at virtual hugs :) Perhaps in the future, or the next life!

Well, I don't want to underestimate the power of virtual hugs, but let's see if we all can't do something about spreading the word and maybe getting more of the larger accounts sponsoring this. :)

Thank you so much @davemccoy! I too noticed @macerickinvictus and @bashadow creeping up the ranks oh so stealthily!! :)

And you are so correct in thanking @carlgnash and @paulag...my lapse in not doing the same!

Congratulations to you as well this week; you've got so much going on all over the place and still comment like crazy! Nice ;) I think engaging and selflessness go hand in hand...or we're just all really competitive and don't want to lose our spot on @abh12345's lists here haha

haha... see .. you manage to always have the last word... I think that is the secret to your success.. No one can out do the Queen because she refuses to quit. lol ... Long live the queen!

Nice! My ex-husband always said the same thing, but funny enough, it didn't sound quite so sweet :)

(ok. Now I'm done ;)

I'm right there with you on self-voting, @davemccoy. I was only voting my own posts, so around 4 votes per week, but it's not worth it to lose points in the league. I'm glad to see that so many others are also getting help in building that habit.

Yes! Thank you so much to @carlgnash and @paulag for their generous support. You both are supporting the best contest on Steemit!Thank you!

I wouldn't be surprised to see scores in the 40,000s this week as there have been a lot of movers and people seem motivated to get that crown. It's going to be a tough fight! :)

I see a challenger coming for @lynncoyle1 and @gillianpearce... Its about time we had a "king" of engagement again, don't you agree blondie? :P

I humbly accept. Please send 50% of your rewards to me. I will give you all honorary titles. You will be expected to pay taxes on the lands that I grant you.

Wait, none of that really works on the blockchain. I guess we'll just have to try to dethrone @lynncoyle1 the old-fashioned way. (Commenting more)

haha... it might work on the blockchain if haejin has his way.. "vote me or else get flagged you peasant" ...

And we can tell our kids of the day when it wasn't like that... lol

I'd rather not have all the power concentrated on one person who demanded upvotes or threatened flags. When I first started and saw the controversy, I thought about trying to help iron things out. I thought better of it and I'm glad I did. I've seen a few medium accounts get destroyed by sticking their noses in there. I imagine that had to start all over. Once you're targeted, it's hard to get free.

sad but true... I have see the same as well. I even helped one guy to get a new account... some people let the power go to their head (I guess just like in real life)

The difference between real life and here is that in real life, you have to remember to go back and target the person. Here, you can set steemauto and forget about the person. For a whale, 1% downvote is a rounding error, but for the person being targeted, it can be all of the money they would make. It's tough.

Hahahaha this cracked me up but I think we should go to a backroom and make our dastardly plans there in order to dethrone the ladies hahaha

I see what you are up to @davemccoy and @themanwithnoname...land taxes, dethroning, all of it. I have eyes in the back of my head and several around the crown...we'll all be watching you two ;)

uses Jedi Mind trick you did not read anything about dethroning.

don't worry about what I said to @lynncoyle1 above, it is just a diversion ;)

Yeah definitely need to put this in the backroom haha

hahaha... you caught me... but I am innocent... It was all Mav's fault

@maverickinvictus, did you Jedi Mind Trick Dave too?

No he is my Master and I am merely his Padawan haha

haha @davemccoy ... so it is all your fault ;)

Still a long way away from dethroning you ladies. That number of comment length is ungodly!! Almost 200k and I thought @wtf had been prolific bceuaee of him reaching 100k plus each week consistently but you ladies are showing how much you jabber online hahaha

Did @wtf get reset? Because it says they haven't started blogging

I might have it wrong though lol

@maverickinvictus jibber jabber is right... one of the ladies even wanted to start a series called "chatty bitches" how the hell can we compete with that???

What do you think @themanwithnoname?

I didn't realize that had been talking about that. That's funny though.

We could have a series called "Guy Talk" and it would be a sitcom. The guys would all be stereotypical males, so they'd just sit around in their own houses and drink beer. They wouldn't talk. That would be it. Wait, that's not going to help us catch up with the gals' scores though.

We start a series called "How Many Letters?" In it, we just write a lot of letters and then ask questions about it. Like: How many "A's" come two letters after "C's"? (Otherwise you could just use Ctrl + F to find all the "A's".

Another option... We yell to each other! DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAVE! Can you HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAR MEEEEEEEE? LOL

hahaha.. that is hilarious @themanwithnoname... simply hilarious... I love the "guy talk" idea too... If you want me could even make a game for newbiegames.... it might be a little boring but hell, who cares!

still laughing at that one blondie!

ps... found a couple good giphys for you to use ;)

eyes.gif

Congratulations, this newbie nickel is sponsored by #newbieresteemday this week!

red-diamond.gif

nrd giphy good.gif

#newbieresteemday always recommends our sponsors!

You could call it You've Got Male and post questions about life, the universe and everything and take turns giving our takes on the topics all week. Then we could all get ice cream. @themanwithnoname knows a guy who knows a guy who may or may not have an ice cream truck (or a whole fleet).

well we are at a distinct disadvantage Dave because women say 7 words to our 1 word just look at the character count of the two Queens!! Those are already the length of all my posts and comments for the week!

hahaha.. yes so true Mav! I think there should be a gender added to the table and a multiplier effect given to the guys... Its only fair!!!

But the blockchain does not look at gender! it's all fair for it hahahha. We just have to keep doing one comment at a time Dave hahaha.
Although for every reply I give the Queen she gives me three so good luck to us hahaha

sadly true... and yes we will have to try harder... and yes I know... the Queen is a badass... you give her 5 words and she gives you 50... The truth be told, I actually admire @lynncoyles1 desire to win! If we have to get beat, then I am happy to admit she absolutely kicks ass!

I think the secret to their success is they hang out here on Asher's post all week. Holy cow. What's the record for most comments on a post? @abh12345 should be charging rent for everyone to hangout here. :)

We might rename Asher's home "the hangout"... its a place to come meet some people be greeted with enthusiasm and of course have some fun! Welcome to the hangout!

The only trouble is finding the comment to reply to! But good thing is, you can just reply to someone else's :P

Haha yeah Asher go and sit back and have a few good days in the sun. I have noticed that ever since the day @davemccoy and his crew came on board the scores in L2 has increased exponentially. Im kinda interested to look at the past top 20 scores and how it has increased haha. Maybe even the votes and comments given.

Lol I like that Asher's Army! We are just out there doing our small bit in commenting and upvoting people and this league of Engagement is the cherry on top!

Nice to see the names in there and we know they will be future influencers of this platform.

I know about the self votes and I had to admit it was hard especially when some of those that I follow in the curation trail come and upvot my post and I have to check if I self voted by accident hahhaa. I had to remove it.

This is indeed the league where everybody wins.

I'm glad you like #ashersarmy.. . I am making you the general ... So what do we do next General Mav?

Storm the Engagement front and take out the Queens hahaha

Hmmm war is about to unfold

a friendly war that the community will benefit from haha

Yep certainly
Might i join in?😂

Go for it and get yourself in the top 10!

@davemccoy So I stumbled on the Curation Leagues about 4 weeks ago (I just came back to Steemit in January) ... and I saw comments then about not self-voting. I thought this was only referring to not self-voting your own comments, but recently I started wondering if this also refers to our posts. If so, how does that benefit people who come by with a smaller upvote than ours?

Also, I remember when I first started on Steemit (last July), people were NOT happy if you didn't upvote your post first. "Pay to play" was one of the comments I remember reading. Has that changed?

Sorry, I feel like such a noob for asking this!

Hey @helenoftroy! I am not expert on this but will give you my thoughts. I believe that yes it does apply to posts too. I think the reasoning is that @abh12345 believes that your votes should be used to curate good content and to reward community building efforts (ie like helping newbies or certain projects). Now this is just a sentiment that is something that he (and others like me) believes is the best use of our votes. There are others that think that believe differently of course.

I think the main thing is for you to always do your best and to always try to help others. Sometimes like you say, a self-vote may be something that benefits your follows. A lot will depend on your size and the type of following that you have. For me it is best to try to reward others with my vote, as I am still very small so my upvote of my own post will not provide much in curation.

I wasn't around in July, but I can imagine what that was like. It sounds like there were some that were trying to encourage followers by promising to "give" an upvote after the initial 30 min to reward curation to the first people upvoting them. Like I said I wasn't here, so I don't know but that would make some sense if there was less content available.

The goal of course is that this place develops into a real community and people can earn and have fun and socialize in many ways. To do that, we will need to all think through our strategies and try to do our best. If we collectively all have a every person for themselves, the it is likely that we will go back and reset and do it all over again!

Which is fine with me btw, I would love to buy steem back in the $0.25 to 0.50 range again!

Thank you for taking time to respond! I guess I will have to look into this a bit more. I don't post often so I wouldn't want to "hurt" the followers who come by regularly and read my blog. But maybe I will encourage more comments from them so they can get direct upvotes from me that way ... I just thought not voting on your own post was still frowned upon, but that was probably back in the Dark Ages :D

I'm all for giving back to the community, so I'm excited to be part of the Leagues. We'll see how I fair :)

GREAT to see all these wonderful newbieresteem members listed!!
@davemccoy, @maverickinvictus, @bashadow, @beeyou, @simplymike, @amariespeaks, @fullcoverbetting, and @themanwithnoname

As you can see, when I have a bad week (due to a major episode with my illness) I slump off... plus I spent two days dealing with salespeople to get this for hubby (his birthday, anniversary and EVERY holiday gift until 2021)

20180323_160728.jpg

Just wanted to say congratulations to all!!!

@maverickinvictus You keep on making me smile!!!

thank you for the mention @goldendawne <3
giphy.gif

see its stuff like this that kill my VP... Very cool @amariespeaks! And good job this week too!

Congratulations, this newbie nickel is sponsored by #newbieresteemday this week!

red-diamond.gif

nrd giphy good.gif

#newbieresteemday always recommends our sponsors!

thanks @davemccoy !! there's gonna be gifs everywhere now ;-) hahah

Sorry to hear you haven't been feeling @goldendawne. That's a nice truck though. You must really like your husband, especially to give up Steemit time to get it for him.

Feel better soon! :)

Look at that motor! 2021 or 2031? :D

Get well soon Dawne, the league will still be here. Filled with #newbieresteemday accounts!

lol- yeah.... something like that
I love this man WAY too much!

Wow @goldendawne, if that truck doesn't say love, I'm not sure what does!! I know you've been sick, but geez, buying that beauty, and still making time to make this list...you even do sick well ;) Hope you're feeling better soon ;)

It was a stroke of luck of finding Asher's league because of you Engagement goddess and how I have stayed and made a lot of difference and encouraged to increase my Engagement skills. @ davemccoy is constantly making us kick up a notch or be banished hahaha.

I'm sorry to hear about you feeling not well and those two days were well spent and that truck looks like a total bad ass and I know your hubby will be so happy with that!

thanks @abh12345 - you rock ! and congratulations to everyone, this is the best league on Steeit! Special congrats to @lynncoyle1 and gillianpearce - you ladies are phenomenal!
Been waiting all week to use this! ;-)
giphy.gif

Love it!!

Well done to you too!

And well done to you too, kind sir! ;-) lol

LOVE IT!!! Thank you:) Congratulations to you as well @amariespeaks :)

You are most welcome! I should really teach myself how to make those! I know, I'll put it on the to-do list lol

best to do list ever:

Thank you so much @abh12345!! and 500 SP achieved! I probably wouldn't have noticed that without you mentioning it here haha Love it ;) And @gillianpearce and @themanwithnoname will be just as happy to see they've made it to 500 too!!

So nice to see so many @newbieresteem members on that list and so many others making their way up too! @gillianpearce! I've got my eye on you right behind me haha and I knew @davemccoy was working it it this week!

Congratulations to everyone on both of these lists, and always, thank you again @abh12345 for the "contest", for your generous delegations, and for just being you ;)

I knew I was lagging behind you, @lynncoyle1. I don't think I could have caught up even if I had put all my effort into it. You must get off to great starts on Sunday and Monday. I think I'm going to have to start sending an ice cream truck by your house every day. Then you'll always be going out to get tasty treats, and I'll have more time to catch up on engaging. :P

hahaha you've figured out my Achilles heel !!! Please not the ice cream trucks ;)

Congratulations to you too !!

I'm all about that dulce de leche! :) And you can take it to the beach!

@themanwithnoname is apparently also themanwithmuchpower if you can manage to send ice cream trucks around. If such is the case, then I'd like to see some my way, too, please. I have people here who can get the ice cream for me and I think I can still type with one hand while I eat my icecream with the other.

Right? I must have connections all over the place to be able to pull that off. I'd love to send you some ice cream, buddy. I don't have any trucks in the area though. I only have the one and dispatched it to Mexico. It won't arrive until later this week. Maybe I can get it to swing by your place on the way back. :)

Okay, so just one truck. No worries. If it does it's job and actually manages to distract @lynncoyle1, who am I to get in the way of such a magnificently thought out and executed plan. The problem is, you'll need to send one to the UK so you can also distract the other queen of comments (@gillianpearce), although I think you might have to throw in some bakery goods like Cornish pastries for good measure. :)

Yeah, just the one... plus that fleet that are "occupied." (I don't actually know what I mean here, just trying to sound mysterious.)

Oooh, I have a better idea. I'm going to fund raise to get gillian a plane ticket to visit lynn. They'll be so busy talking with each other (and eating ice cream) that they won't have time to post... That or they'll actually see the other person posting, and that will motivate them even more to commenting. Who knows?!

There's always the chance that the plan could backfire. If they're anything like my wife, and I suspect most women, they'll be able to talk up a storm, eat ice cream, and comment and post while lounging at the beach or watching a video.

Me, I'm a one task at a time kind of guy, unless I'm using technology that does it for me, so pounding out a comment while I'm eating would be possible, just slow. However, with me, the ice cream would help me to comment up a storm later after it was thoroughly enjoyed and consumed. Which may also be another point of backfiring with the ladies in question if you're not careful.

(That's okay. We all know you've got the other ice cream trucks deployed to keep the other seven distracted).

Maybe we're overthinking things and could just get out there and talk with people. We could write meaningful, insightful, engaging comments and then get points the organic way. What do you think?

Bingo...I'm commenting, writing a post, cooking ribs and sipping a beer...all right now ;)

Yeah, just the one... plus that fleet that are "occupied." (I don't actually know what I mean here

hahaha

(Shhhhh! There she is! Act natural.)

Ahem.

Hey! How's it going? :)

From where I sit, us guys need all the help we can get. I've read articles a couple of times now that women have thousands of more words to use each day than men, so I'm figuring that's carrying over from the spoken word and counts with the written word, too. I know I'm just barely halfway through the day and I'm already feeling it. :)

As it is, though I don't command the ice cream trucks, so if one shows up, it won't be because of me!

(Shhhhh! There she is! Act natural.)
Ahem.
Hey! How's it going? :)

I love it! Spot on. I feel like I'm sitting in the same room as you. Almost like a conversation.

You make some valid points. This thing should be graded on a scale. The guys should get a 20% bonus on comment length and a 35% bonus on comments due to difficulty finding things to say and ways to start conversations. That being said, I don't really have an excuse. When I'm on my game, I can start a conversation with almost anyone and there's a 67% chance we'll be good friends within 5 minutes. I'm also gearing up to be gone for a while. I have a call with a couple of friends and we can talk for hours on end. I might not even make it back on tonight if we really get cooking (no ribs though. too hard to do over the phone. although maybe the radiation from the phone would cook them slowly... like it's doing to me.)

hahaha natural as a statue ;)

I think you're right...we can talk a lot !

Now that I've been able to see how I measured up in comparison to you and everyone else, I have to say that what you're doing is pretty impressive. Congratulations on being at the top again. I'll need to step up my game big time just to crack the top 10 (since it appears I debuted at No. 26), let alone Top 5. That's a lot of comments and characters!

Thank you! And congratulations to you as well:) You made the list...hooray ;)

It's the fun and nonsense that carries on all day Sunday, and as you can clearly see, often into Monday and Tuesday as well! I'm so glad you joined:)

Looks like I'm going to be playing catchup on Monday since I take off Sundays (got to do it sometime). Some Saturdays end up being taken off for me, and some are just plain slow, like last week. I guess I didn't get the memo. Hope you all had a good weekend. Weather wasn't all that particularly nice in my neck of the woods so getting outside for me wasn't all that enticing.

Hey, 26th isn't bad for your first entry! Good job! And welcome to the party. This is where the fun happens. We normally have discussions going here throughout the week. It's good times for all. :)

Well thanks for the welcome. The main thing I took away from this first go is that I'm not doing as nearly as much in the commenting department as I thought I was, which was pretty eye opening. Another thing is, trying to make comments meaningful at the same time, so that I'm not just commenting to comment.

I suppose there's all kinds of comments I could make on people's posts that wouldn't amount to much, really. I'm not really good at coming up with small talk on a post that is specifically about a topic I know little about. Generally, I'll try to ask questions then, but anyway. The bottom line is this is an eye opening experience and I've got to do better if I want to move up. :)

Questions are my go to if I'm not too familiar with the topic, but also interested in it. People who write about something are always happy to tell you more!

It's good that you were able to get more data on where you're at. You're an information sort of guy, so this should be helpful, regardless of where you're at. You get to see where you're doing well and where you can improve. And as you compete against certain people week by week, it gets even more fun. :)

2 days ago somebody stole my smartphone and I had some dificult to read and choose what posts I will curate. Next week I will be back.

Sorry to hear about that, you still did really well in L1! :)

Nice back in the top 10! But got knocked out by @davemccoy out of the third spot hahaha.

I was a man driven this week and I finally got back. Nice to see the 0 self vote there and it does make a difference.

Just look at the character length of both @lynncoyles1 and @gillianpierce its as if they wrote a post on a comment field hahha.

See @lynncoyles I wasn't even nipping at your heels I was in a completely different solar system hahaha but good show!

Achieving 500 Unique votes is really hard unless I do an auto trail on a lot of curation trails like @surpassinggoogle or similar entity.

So it is possible to be both in the league of curation and league of engagement great work there @crypto-econom1st

Another great report Asher! The league were everyone wins especially the community.

@maverickinvictus, you are definitely still in the same solar system haha, but perhaps it was @davemccoy I felt the nips from ;)

Great work by you I'd say !! :)

I must admit... I can't keep up with you... I'm too old to hang with the farmgirl in Mexico! But we do have the young bucks coming to take your crown... @themanwithnoname and @maverickinvictus look like they are ready to get serious this week ;)

I scored approximately half of what I normally get, so I'm going to have to get back to old habits if I'm going to have a chance of getting back to the top. Like you said in your love/shove post though, there are only so many hours in the day. If I had another 12 hours per day just to devote to steemit, then I could probably do it. Although, if I had another 12 hours per day, I might try to do something like take up canoe building. Ron Swanson always made it look so cool. ;)

Yeah we need 37 hours to be able to beat the ladies!

hahaha @davemccoy, age is but a number...I'm in my 50's, so nice try with that one ;)

Hahha yeah it was definitely Dave but don't you worry we will be hatching something by next week hahahaha

Looks like the first 2 are having a private competition :D

First 10 is still excellent though!

@crypto-econom1st still up to his tricks, but i think maybe next week he'll do better in L2.

Thanks for your support dude!

It is a great league to be a part of as it increases Engagement to the platform.
Maybe the two ladies are having a conversation in a post that we all don't know about ahahhahaha.

Yeah he is awesome I want to know his tips on curation as well and seeing he has two to three top earners that he found maybe the key. I tried that before and front running the big votes coming in but saw I had less votes given out to those that needed it.

:D

Yeah lots of sub-conversations goin, I can't keep up!

I tried that before and front running the big votes coming in but saw I had less votes given out to those that needed it.

Exactly, it's hard to do both - I prefer the 2nd option :)

Indeed Asher the big earners do well on their own and it feels better if I give out the vote to some who needs it.

I just renewed my delegation and ready for another 90 days of upvoting and though the curation doesn't pay well enough I make do with my posts and the contests that I alwayds join haha
Guy needs to earn to pay for delegation lol.

@maverickinvictus, you did great. The top section is getting crowded. And @davemccoy is a fighter. If he misses the top slots one week, you have to expect he's coming back stronger than ever the next one. As far as the two ladies topping the chart, I don't know how to pass them. Good luck there! Ha! :)

Lol the same could have been said about you a couple of weeks ago and yet the ladies were able to do it!
Well we just have to up our game a bit more and the more people we comment and upvote for the more the community gets better engaged so it's a win-win!

Great to see you so high Mav! I think those cute minnows are really going to be chasing the sugar redfish now! haha... awesome job and I saw you all over the place this week (almost as much as the Queen @lynncoyle1) ... Btw, @themanwithnoname thinks we need a king up there again, do you think you can get that done?

Hey, I'm fine with Queen @lynncoyle1. I was just saying that if you all wanted to delegate your comments and votes to me, then I'd win and happily accept the role of king. Although, I think @maverickinvictus has a great shot at getting there on his own. :)

Nice back peddle buddy ;) And I Iike that you can be bought so easily @themanwithnoname!

I never said we needed a man to be king, I just said I was willing to be king. Who wouldn't want to get tax revenue while being physically distant enough that no one could assassinate you? ;)

Ok @themanwithnoname ...I'm going to give you that one ;)

I think I might need some help as well hahaha
That comment length is unbelievable!

haha @davemccoy, I'd forgotten about our sugar redfish @maverickinvictus!!

Bring in all the pretty minnows!! I wanna be their Sugar Red fish! Maybe some day I will have enough to call myself their Sugar Dolphin!

Let us get this talk to one of our backrooms in the keep haha. More plans to dethrone the ladies.

yes... we need to be smart.. we need to keep them distracted. Since you have the hot title of sugar redfish, you can keep @beeyou and @lynncoyle1 occupied. Meanwhile me and @themanwithnoname can start a new thread and get lots of people on it and we won't tag the ladies either. We will tag you though and you can come respond on the quiet.

Bwahaha I would do my sexy Sugar Red fish dance and hopefully either distract them or disgust them to make them sick and they lost a couple of days hahahhaa

hahahaha I'd pay to see that one @maverickinvictus!!

Ha! watch at your own risk!

Look at you conniving here @davemccoy!! And you always say it's the girls scheming behind your back haha

Well we got to have a king take back the throne! You ladies have been hogging it ever since you dethroned the @themanwithnoname

Sorry guys for winning again, while I said I stopped. ☺️

Last week I discovered that it was quite easy to keep scoring curation rewards with some authors I found earlier. I also thought the competition would become tuffer.

But if it stays like this it could be possible to stay in the list quite easy.since I only need like 2-3 topscores.

I think some people already understand what happened. Especially if you read my posts. Later this week I will probably write a post with all the details.

Btw nice to have set a record of winning the 1st league 3 weeks in a row 😀

:D

Well you are not using bots so its no problem to me. I think it will get tougher as you collect more SP, but still very possible to score well each week.

In some way I do use the bots. But since I only have 15SP it's not really worth to think about anything. But if I do think about it for a second, I could say I'm doing something good as I take away a very small portion of the curation rewards from the bots.
If I would do this same thing with lots of SP, then the question would be if it's appropriate to provide vote buyers a very high vote for free?
If they post shit, the way answer is no they don't deserve an upvote. Otherwise it doesn't have to be a problem.

anyways it might take months or even years for me to get a decent amount of SP. First I will concentrate on getting a top10 position in the 2nd league 😀

Oh you really have to share as I want to break into league 1 as well.

I was wondering why am missing in the League but

No programmed voting!

gets me out! I have to admit I am using programmed voting. The only human part is formula invention of mine and adjust variables to even vote better.
Totally approve Your decision. This challenge should be human only.. and mannequin also ;)
To others; my score for this week is ~10.44 SP/1000.
I will follow this League still, to compare my score with rest of competitors.

@abh12345 Is SteemSQL good database to estimate weekly curation reward for ALL accounts in the blockchain? I am aware this can be time consuming process, but still would be worth for my statistics purposes.
This is because I have spotted some users (bots?) who achieve score of over 35 SP/1000. I am interested in how many accounts are there using different curation techniques.

Hi @mys

Yes with a double-digit score, further investigations saw a nice piece of coding working well in the utopian-io category 😊

I've not done a full scan in a while, but yes the DB would return all weekly rewards.

Thanks for your understanding 😁

Another great performance by team #newbieresteemday, I think almost 70% in top 10 of curation league 2 are from that team!!!

Happy to see @lynncoyle1 and @davemccoy in top 3 and congratulations to all the winners and people who are figured in the list mentioned.

I am happy to be back in league 2.

Good day to all. :)

Thank you so much @coolguy123 and congratulations to you as well! It is nice seeing so many from @newbieresteemday making this list, isn't it?? :)

Have an awesome Sunday!

Thank you @lynncoyle1, yes, more and more of newbies and members of #newbieresteemday are getting inspired by people like you who are the starters from this wonderful team.

Nice week ahead my friend :)

Filling up the top 10 in style :)

Thanks @coolguy123, enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Yeah, I think this is a great opportunity for all the new joiners as this league doesn't care about the SP one has, but definitely as good exposure for all of them.

Great to have you back ! You have been so unselfish in giving out your votes and delegation!

Thank you @maverickinvictus, my contributions are very less compared to many great people, but yeah every little help counts. Happy to have discussion with you after a long time.

No matter who it comes from a nice comment and an upvote is always welcome!

Thanks a lot Asher... Super great project... I love it.
My new strategy wasn't that good... but I was checking a few posts of @crypto-econom1st about curation... he got some good strategies ;-)
So I'm testing another one, haha.
Plastic hug
Steemitri The Mannequin

Thank you @steemitri! :D

I like that you are testing out different strategies and using the league to gain insight. We'll see if plastic fantastic has found a good tactic soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43