What are the intention of PUBLIC SCHOOLS... they are destroying EVERYONE

in #education7 years ago (edited)

I am an educator, and here is what I have seen over 16 years.......

  • Diluting and simplifying of the content taught to the kids...... lowering of standards
  • More and more movement in letting the kids know their rights (which is fine). But almost to a point where they have no
    responsibilities.
  • The boundaries getting more and more loose on their basic social behaviours. Like the words 'FUCK'...'CUNT' are almost part
    normal language. 'SHIT' is not even an work of concern anymore.
  • Seems nowadays getting them to behave in a civilised and safe manner is a negotiation that has to be cleared on their terms.

From the newspapers and outside of schools it seems to be a distant problem. But to well meaning young people who get into the education profession to make a difference to young lives.... they are not warned of the real environment and they rarely stay for more than5 years. Then they leave as broken souls.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-02-04/why-do-teachers-leave/8234054

It is not just the behaviour of the kids......... The EDUCATIONAL EXECUTIVES of schools not real executives but EDUCATION EXECUTIVES are told to not suspend, expel, or have any records of kids misbehaving ane/or more severe behaviours. As they want to look good to their superiors. Less problems reported = less problems existing.... BULLSHIT!!!!

There is more bullying between students than ever... more drug use... more physical and mental abuse of staff by students.

This year alone I have had 4 female teachers call me (from other schools) or come to me in tears as they are tormented and intimidated by aggressive students.

Sometimes it is RACIAL...... Go back to where you come from!!!!! You Asian Cunt!!!!

Sometimes it is GENDER (Pretty young female teacher) ...... You're just a slut.... Fuck you, you're a loser and you don't even have
a boyfriend.

Sometimes it is Chauvinism.......... Fuck off bitch... I am going to slam your fucked up face into a kerb every time I see you
so shut the fuck up!!!

Sometimes it is based on looks....... Your fat, and you have a moustache and you have a fat ass and you are just a dumb
bitch.

I can carry on and on and even talk about colleagues that have had their glasses smashed from a student fist.... females knocked into the ground... old men punched in the chest.. I can go on and on.

Conclusion.. We are asked to report it and go through long processes and go back into the classroom. And in most cases we are asked to attend extra training as it is OUR FAULT..... and we are inadequate.....

Please give me your thoughts... anyone......

Sort:  

Sounds like my home towns school district. A student cut another students throat a few years back. The student survived, a couple of years later a student raped another student in the bathroom at that same school. It was reported and the school suspended the boy without calling the police. The girl who happened to be a ward of the state and lived in a group home told the group home as soon as they picked her up, they called the police and took her to the hospital to be treated. Some school districts are really bad. There were many reasons I home schooled my children and things like this encouraged me to keep going when it was tough.

A few years ago we moved and we are now in a different school district, sadly this one is just as bad. Meth has been found on the ground in the hallways of the elementary schools here.

My middle child really wanted to go to Public school for high school. So I told her if she could get accepted as a transfer into a good school district I would consider it. I did my research and we did find an excellent public school for her to attend. Even I enjoyed her going there. They still do Parent Teacher conferences in high school in that school district. ( I had never heard or seen that before) What does it translate to, high parental involvement, which helps children achieve their potential. They offered really great programs for her but being that she was home schooled before attending, her teachers always told me how different it was to teach her than the other students, they were just guiding her, not really having to teach. She could just be given the assignment and no instructions on it and do it and understand it. My children have a love for learning that was not killed by all the tests. The tests in high school are the ones we have always had, not like it is now in the lower grades. Scantron, ISTEP, CATs, NOVA and I know there is another one I am forgetting about. Those are the tests that my states uses every year to see where kids are at. IREAD is the other one I think.

OMFG..... can you do me a huge favour and do a post in the education section....

TItle it:

Response to: RE: What are the intention of PUBLIC SCHOOLS... they are destroying EVERYONE

And then put a link of my post first and then copy and paste your response to me as the content. People have to see this.. Please Please Please

This is a great post. The education system and fixing it is something that is close to my heart. Teaching is tough. I was a teacher for a year too, and it was tough. I got out because I wanted something else. My soul didn't break, but my heart did when a student I had committed suicide because he was bullied at school. I even spoke out about it and nothing happened. Our society pays teachers the amount that we value them. I hate it. If we value education with the tenacity we value professional sports or celebrities then we could transform the world. The problem is, Kim has a big ass and Lebron can dunk on people and that is a lot more appealing than a teacher staying after school to help a couple students learn the skills they will need in life. If we fix the education system it will only be because the focus of America shifts away from the unimportant.

Thank you for your heartfelt response. I am still in it and teach them to be as magnificent people as they can be.

I totally understand what you say. We are undervalued by society..... and looked down on by students themselves sometimes.

And I feel your hurt when you say you had a student commit suicide. This will inspire me to write an article about bullying and my personal experiences as a student and as a teacher.

IN the mean time you might like this..

https://steemit.com/education/@yoda1917/are-kids-now-less-intelligent-than-those-of-the-past and this

https://steemit.com/life/@yoda1917/powerful-images-of-what-s-wrong-with-this-world-with-my-interpretations-on-each-image

If you like these give me a like and a follow and lets keep in touch :)

Awesome! I will check them out. Heading to bed tonight, but I'll get into them in the morning. Thanks for all that you do as a teacher and I agree, let's keep in touch.

Hi !

There sure seem to be people who are bashing on education, I like it. But while I totally agree I try to focus on solutions.
In a sense learning is being decentralised much like cryptocurrency. Schools and university don't hold the monopoly on learning anymore:
https://steemit.com/travel/@the-traveller/ok-i-get-it-the-education-system-is-broken-what-are-you-doing-about-your-learning-though

Check out what Jordan Peterson is doing:
He can totally bypass the education system and make much more money and reach several orders of magnitude with his ideas than at the university:

I'll have a read in a moment shortly. I don't like to be seen as bashing the system. I work very hard and give my heart to my students.

Just the people in charge don't care and that trickles down to the puppets that make the job impossible.

Tonight I have 2 or 3 pieces to write about just things that happened today that is unacceptable to staff and students.... and school administrators let these things slide

I think it is great that you are passionate about teaching, but don't assume that schools are the only place where you can do that ...

Oh I am waking up.... I just shared your article on my Facebook.

This opens up my mind.... decentralizing of currency may free us from slavery of the reserve bank players.

Decentralizing learning may free our minds.... kids and educators

Any chance you can resteem this article for me?

Those students should learn how to respect their teachers. This is so sad to read on. It breaks my heart when I saw a discrimination thing. 😭

Thank you... they are set up to respect anyone.... the system teaches them that it is ok and that they will get away with it.....

Any chance you can resteem this for me so more educators get to see this?

My wife and I homeschool for the exact reasons you mentioned, but just wondering what kind of economic class your school fits in. I live right next to an assistant principal, and he sends his kids to private school. My aunt and uncle sent their kids to private catholic school. One is a bartender. The other wants to be an actress. So who knows what the solution is. We just know that we want to instill a desire to learn and excel in our kids.

It is a lower socioeconomic economic school. And you are right about one thing.... most staff members their.... even low earning teacher assistants will sacrifice everything to send their kids to a private school after seeing what they see....

The biggest solution I think is that the education execiutives put the focus back onto the kids and less on their own job comfort and security....

And not be caught up in political correctness and be willing to put themselves on he line when making a stand for the teachers and students.

Have a look at my other posts that you may find interesting. Follow if you like what you see :)

https://steemit.com/education/@yoda1917/are-kids-now-less-intelligent-than-those-of-the-past

Congratulations @yoda1917! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What does hat actually mean for me. I'm not understanding all of it yet

Since all your posts are recorded on the blockchain, Steemitboard is a site that pulls that information and gives you XBOX like rewards for hitting achievements. It doesn't really mean anything, but a cool way to track your progress. Hope that helps.

Thanks, how do I access that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66