YOU'RE A FUCKING CUNT, FUCK YOU SLUT, I'M GOING TO SMASH YOUR FACE IN... This is what a young female educator receives from a student and then told she is to blame by her Principal.

in #education7 years ago

Hi everyone

So far I have written on many topics. Some dig deep into my past. But the most passionate topic have found myself writing about are the ones based on education, the education system, what happens in public schools, and how it is devastating teachers, teacher assistants…and most of all the dear students….

I have met a few great people here on steemit like @walkingkeys and @the-traveller who are very kind hearted people that want to make this world a slightly better place. What inspired me to write this article is because of some of the comment exchanges with these great people on each others articles.

https://steemit.com/education/@yoda1917/what-are-the-intention-of-public-schools-they-are-destroying-the-kids

https://steemit.com/education/@yoda1917/are-kids-now-less-intelligent-than-those-of-the-past

https://steemit.com/travel/@the-traveller/ok-i-get-it-the-education-system-is-broken-what-are-you-doing-about-your-learning-though

https://steemit.com/life/@yoda1917/kids-aged-from-10-to-14-are-addicted-to-methamphetamine-what-is-happening-to-this-world

Note: not all of these are mine…. Please check these out. Upvotes would be nice but resteem would be much more appreciated so as many people can see these as possible. Our minnow accounts have limits of getting these out there.

I have learned some ideas that I would have never thought of in order to help where I can as an educator.

Today I witnessed a heart-breaking event that just made me feel lost in how I can help. While I myself have very few problems engaging students and going full speed in coaching them in academics, and ethics. I have the knowledge of NLP and the lifetime of philosophy from Martial Arts which over 16 years I dare say have made me an effective teacher. But what do I do for others? Most and I am not exaggerating most of my colleagues are great people with big hearts and golden intentions. Yet in a rough public school where students need the most love and understanding……. Recalcitrant students go out of their way to oppress the learning of others and lash out at educators.

Now I understand why they do this and have no hatred towards these students. Many come from troubled homes where Methamphetamine leads the way to hell in their households. And young minds would rather be recognised as lazy and act out to protect their sense of self worth when they underachieve.

Yesterday, a 14 year old boy entered his science class late. He was late for a test. His teacher (an attractive young female teacher) asked him to do his test. He refused and started to prevent others from proceeding. She asked him several more times and he disrupted his peers even more. At some point the young teacher gently said “If you avoid all tests and challenges where will life take you?” It was well intentioned… And the boy lashed out…..

FUCK YOU… YOU’RE A CUNT….. DON’T TELL ME WHAT TO DO… YOU’RE JUST A FUCKING SLUT….. YOU HAVE NO BOYFRIEND… YOU’RE A PIECE OF SHIT…… AND I’LL FUCKING SMASH YOU FACE IN…… He continued…...other students were disturbed and defended their teacher asking him to stop. A phone call had to be made (3 attempts) before a deputy principal can be reached to come and assist. Quite shaken up… the young teacher carried on teaching…..

At the end of the day she came and spoke to a few of us….. We asked her to report this and follow it up. Her line manager was in the rom at the time and said to her…. “Write me a report”..... “And did he look at you directly when he said this to you?” I myself spoke up and said…. “Does that really matter?” I got some explanation. But it is not worth repeating……

This young lady who received this abuse (numerous times in her short career) carried on teary eyed again. For 2 years I offered coaching and observation both ways which helped a little bit. It’s just that some of these kids already have the presence of hardened criminals and many find them intimidating.

The next day the young teacher was called into the office….. She was told that because she told him he will get nowhere in life (his version of the story), It was her fault…. She returned to the office devastated (again)..... This young lady had been contemplating finding another career for a few months now… and so have many young colleagues… Not just the graduate teachers… Many educators senior to me in age and experience often end up in tears (males and females) from the aggressive and soul destroying abuse they receive from students. I have many stories I have personally witnessed… Even to the extent that an educator is chased across a school yard by a student with a shovel…….But I will focus on today’s events.

Like I said I do not blame the students even though I feel mad at them during these events….. And I understand too why they keep doing these things… BECAUSE THEY GET AWAY WITH IT….. THERE ARE NO CONSEQUENCES….. They are taught their rights…. Laws prohibit discipline, even verbal to a large extent. In the past 3 decades a bunch of people got their doctorates in education with neo-philosophy in teaching kids. The ideas are great… yet most of them did their research in high socio private schools. And most of their research are about processes and systems in delivering content. Nothing in classroom ,management….nothing in engagement…. And without these two prerequisites… what chance is there of any teaching or learning taking place?

The educational executives either can do nothing, or choose to do nothing as facing these violent teens is unpleasant and they avoid it where they can. A principal demands that his staff resolve such issues in the classroom, and follow round and round and round again processes to alleviate these problems. They demand that the short term hiccups should be taken on the chin as we are professionals….

HICCUPS:
Punched in the face
Being everything profane, racist, chauvinistic, sexist
Belittled
Etc

This video is non violent happenings everyday happenings of a normal school day. It is as realistic as I see it everyday. This is when nothing bad happens.

The principal does not too many of these events on record as it is scored against his or her performance. That is why assistance from the admin team is held back. A problem not reported is a problem that does not exist. I believe that the district managers above principles suffer the same pressure from those above them. All the way up to the top. So the public know very little about what really happens in schools.

If I cannot solve this at least I would like to bring awareness to these issues. That way some of our collective concern may reach the eyes of someone wiser than me and inspire me to move toward a direction of resolution.

If you liked this article and the links articles here an upvote would be nice. But if you hold that back and resteem it I would appreciate it even more as I did not write this for money. I want more people to see this.

As I am a minnow with a small following at present, this post has about 20 seconds before it disappears into nothingness so please resteem this for me so as many people get to see it as possible. Exposure is my goal, not the upvotes.

Hope to hear from you and have meaningful discussions

Regards

Yoda

Sort:  

Good exposition. I am actually against any form of abuse irrespective of where it is coming from. While I sympathize with the female teacher, I will advise her to watch out again and capture such incidence on camera if possible. The doer never ceases to do!!! The boy will do it again.

And for a latest update on this real situation. The boy got away with it lol.

Thanks so much for the mention yoda!

You are most welcome... Can you do me a solid and resteem this if you like it? It has about a minute before it sink to the bottom of the ocean lol

done.
Digesting it.I think I understand on some level where this comes from. Kids are not stupid, they know very well that the reason why they are there has little to do with their benefit.

I think there is a building rage to being forced to participate in a system that demands obedience, drugs them if they fidget a bit (ADHD is an abomination as a concept and basically is an excuse to give meth to kids)

Teachers symbolise the system and kids acting up against that is not too surprising I think!

Sorry I did not see your entire comment before. You are spot on on a couple of things. ADHD and other labels are not for their benefit. It is for the profit of the pharmaceutical giants.... and in turn the tax they pay to the greedy governments....

Second and most important point is that educators represent the system and authority.... and few of us know that there are no good intentions of the system to the people.

That's right.... Kids are not stupid............

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yoda1917 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65