Powerful images of what's wrong with this world. With my interpretations on each image

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Artists that really move me are the ones that can stir up emotions when I see their work. Al Margen is a genius whom's work I really love. Please join me on being moved by some of these images and in the comments please share your interpretations of these images with me...

#1

I see this one as obvious. The education system takes away what intuition, spirit, and sense of freedom and adventure we have and try its best to churn out obedient law abiding citizens for the purpose of producing tax. I mean I am an educator and as much as I try to teach my students to be powerful thinkers and upstanding human beings.... the very thing that works against me is the system and the curriculum. So it is a balancing act. Most teachers just teach them to be robots blindly without considering the truth. But then most people are programmed to believe in the system without questioning the intentions behind it.

#2

What I see here is that the mainstream media especially free to air television is so full of brainwashing lies, subliminal messages that condition us to be subservient to the system. All this happens everyday...we want more.... and we even let our children be infected by this willingly. Frequencies in the sound, light, advertising, and propaganda, as well as hidden messages in entertainment are destroying us without our knowing or without our caring. Worse thing is falling asleep in front of the idiot box.... Then we become really vulnerable.....

#3

Many of us, especially those of us who feed on the compliments and attention of others like to tell and show everything there is to know about out lives. What many people especially young people do not know is that once they put something onto the internet or social media, it is passed along at such an exponential rate it will always be out there somewhere. That is just the danger... Some know and don't care. The damage is done to those individuals down the path, but the worse thing is that it fuels other to do this too. And that too is exponential.

#4

As families become more and more dysfunctional. And less and less kids get the love of extended families especially elderly people around them, and most of all as the stress and demands or work and money and debt keep getting worse..... Plus the morality of individuals getting lower and lower.... it is hard for younger parents to know how to restrain themselves when they are venting their frustrations in front of their kids. I grew up in a house hold like that... and boy it did me a lot of damage.

#5

Addictions that are damaging to us exist in many forms. From things we smoke, drink, snort, eat.... to the screen that we stare into way too much. We are smart enough to know that it is a time bomb waiting to destroy us.... yet we keep doing it.....

#6

It does not matter how many feel good messages, and healthy ideas about a healthy body image for women should be is put out there. Women still strive to be as thin as possible, and many men still chase the tiny girls. And these women seem to be the biggest spenders to make themselves look good so the fashion companies keep putting out more skinny clothes.... it makes the money.

#7

Many of us are way out of balance, we no longer work rest and play, we work, stress, collapse and recharge with the quickest way available... Red Bull, smoking, coffee, narcotics..... It is not sustainable, yet we create more and more reasons to make it ok.

#8
This one has been around for at least 2 decades. We think that the more we know the better chances we have over other people....... Well we never really get deep into one thing. And before we work we are already too busy learning instead of living. Many kids don;t even get a choice. But then what??????

#9
I don;t actually know what this one means... Can someone enlighten me on this one?

#10

I don't want to say too much, but how many women these days exploit themselves in one way or another for all sorts of entanglements to do with men and money. I really want to hear other people's perspective on this one.

Please comment and add your own spin on some of these images....... I would love to hear from you......

Sort:  

That's rather disturbing.
all the more so because there's a lot of truth init.

Pretty dead on how I see things myself. My answer for the first picture Home Schooling at least through middle school. (Only one of my three kids even wanted to do public school for high school the other two have or will graduate from home schooling)

The second picture made me think of my motto, television is an idiot machine. I didn't even have a TV till I married my ex husband. And though I do have a TV now we don't have cable because we don't watch anything on it but the occasional movie we stream.
And family is everything in my family. My father is one of 13 kids I am one of 6 kids, I have 46 first cousins. So much so that my daughter is spending time with extended family this summer before she goes off to Purdue, she knows she is gonna see me regularly as Freshmen can't have their cars on campus and she has another year left with her Braces on and I will have to go get her once a month to get them adjusted. I just realized this is getting long so I will end this here. Good post thought provoking.

Thank you :) If you like it resteem it for me so more people see it. My account is small and humble so things disappear quick without resteeming

Wow, they're uncanny.. but really powerful work indeed

If you liked it give me an upvote and come check out some of my outrageous posts on my profile and follow me :)

Done already ;)

Congratulations @yoda1917! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really like this kind of art. Actually, I already knew some of the illustrations. It seems, however, that pictures 8 and 9 aren't loading for me. Could you please post a link to them?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.75
ETH 2381.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57