Let's celebrate Māori Language Week! Part 1 - Māori greetings & why is culture important to you? Korero Mai (Speak to me)

in #education7 years ago

2000px-Maori-rafter28.svg.png

Te Reo ~ New Zealand's Native Language

Māori Language week is so important to Aotearoa, New Zealand. It is a reminder of a language that could have easily been lost completely. Many Māori children were punished for speaking Māori in school. Many of us are still trying to piece together our history & claim back our rightful knowledge of our Ataahua (beautiful) culture.
I wanted to celebrate & share with you some Māori traditions, and in turn, I would like to know more about your culture.

First I will greet you with a pepeha - A pepeha is a form of introduction that establishes identity and heritage This is a greeting in Māori that tells others where they are from, It opens up conversations & unites relatives. I was 27 the day I learned who my ancestors were, the next day I relayed my pepeha to a friend, and found out that we shared some ancestry. That was a beautiful moment.

maori-dream.png

So first we would say ...

Kia Ora

(Hello)

50fb74e371449c85a8ee78700d43443a.png

And then..

Kay's pepeha (1).jpg

This tells people what area of New Zealand my Iwi (or tribe) originate from. Pepeha's can be far more complex which is then called a Whakapapa

I have found one other Māori on Steemit so far :)

Culture is important to me because..

A rich sense of belonging is one of the greatest feelings. To know where you've come from & what makes up your DNA. Culture can also mean the customs & traditions we have created within our own lives & families.

Why is culture important to you?

Can you greet me in your native language? What are some of your traditions? history? Food?Something you love about it?

korero_mai_banner.jpg

I leave you with a Māori Waiata (song)

Ka kite ano (See you later)

And thanks for letting me share Māori Language week with you..

Sort:  

Nice work finding another Māori on Steemit and thank you for introducing us to your world! I found this from the recommendation by @fitinfun on upvotable 33 and am including your post in upvotable 34 along with voting for you here and sending you a tip! Would you please keep writing for us because we would love to hear more about your life?

I'm so happy you picked this post, Jerry. I was very happy to nominate it and look forward to more from New Zealand!

Thank you @fitinfun I had no idea. Very nice surprise :)

I was really happy to find your post and feed. Very interesting!

Thank you ^_^ It makes me think of all the people in NZ that have far more interesting things to say - I can't wait for them all to be here!!

Ah! A recruiter! We need more people for sure. Maybe you can get a lot of them started. This is a place you can have a voice- rare these days :)

woah woah woah!! This is awesome. Thank you so much & yes I would love to ^_^

he aha te ingoa o to whanau(Google translate =p Though I did grow up in a Kohanga when I was younger)?

I have whanau in Te Kuiti.

Aww Kohanga :) Are you still in NZ?

Nope I've been in Australia since I was 11 (25 now).

Do you know any Emerys from Maniapoto?

Nice, are you Maori? I have seen that name in my digging but not sure If I know any. We are Turners & I'm going to have to get my papers out for the other ones lol.

@kaykunoichi Masses of knowledge. Many thanks. Resteemed.

@kaykunoichi This is actually some incredible function!.

Can i chat you up on steemchat or Discord?i have a life changing decision to discuss with you please.

lol - sounds amazing just messaged you on Steemit Chat

Lovely post, @kaykunoichi. The artwork is beautiful and the ideas are important for a global platform like Steemit. My knowledge of African languages is starting to fade after about thirty years since I studied then, but I do remember that many had greetings which basically mean "I see you". When I first learned that, I felt it was a powerful way to say hello.

Thank you. I can imagine the beautiful & complex African languages. There must be so many!

There are hundreds, if not thousands. In southern Africa, there are a lot of variations on a few core languages. Too early in the day for me to cite any more detail! I really enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for sharing.

@kaykunoichi I like your submit. I have followed you.

@kaykunoichi Thank you for obtaining this out. Followed.

Before I read your post, the only thing I knew about the the Maori is the Haka. :P Now I know a little more and enriched my knowledge of others cultures so thank you so much. Malipayon nga adlaw sa imo ( "a joyous day to you" in Hiligaynon - a Philippine language). :]

What a beautiful language :) Thank you for sharing! It's interesting to see other languages written & see if there are similarities between them. To us Nga means "The" among other things. What does it mean in your language?

Oh it acts as a pointer for an object or receiver of an adjective's description much like the Japanese "-ga"

For example: "masanag nga adlaw" (masanag = sunny // adlaw = day)
masanag (adjective) Nga (points to -> ) adlaw (object).

I see in your Pepeha image the word "ko". In my language Ko means "my" , what does it mean in Maori?

Our Ko means pretty much the same as your Nga.
Taku or Toku mean my or referring to one thing :)

Cool! Looking forward to your next posts, followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67002.47
ETH 3459.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65