You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's celebrate Māori Language Week! Part 1 - Māori greetings & why is culture important to you? Korero Mai (Speak to me)

in #education7 years ago

Lovely post, @kaykunoichi. The artwork is beautiful and the ideas are important for a global platform like Steemit. My knowledge of African languages is starting to fade after about thirty years since I studied then, but I do remember that many had greetings which basically mean "I see you". When I first learned that, I felt it was a powerful way to say hello.

Sort:  

Thank you. I can imagine the beautiful & complex African languages. There must be so many!

There are hundreds, if not thousands. In southern Africa, there are a lot of variations on a few core languages. Too early in the day for me to cite any more detail! I really enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68