You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's celebrate Māori Language Week! Part 1 - Māori greetings & why is culture important to you? Korero Mai (Speak to me)

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Before I read your post, the only thing I knew about the the Maori is the Haka. :P Now I know a little more and enriched my knowledge of others cultures so thank you so much. Malipayon nga adlaw sa imo ( "a joyous day to you" in Hiligaynon - a Philippine language). :]

Sort:  

What a beautiful language :) Thank you for sharing! It's interesting to see other languages written & see if there are similarities between them. To us Nga means "The" among other things. What does it mean in your language?

Oh it acts as a pointer for an object or receiver of an adjective's description much like the Japanese "-ga"

For example: "masanag nga adlaw" (masanag = sunny // adlaw = day)
masanag (adjective) Nga (points to -> ) adlaw (object).

I see in your Pepeha image the word "ko". In my language Ko means "my" , what does it mean in Maori?

Our Ko means pretty much the same as your Nga.
Taku or Toku mean my or referring to one thing :)

Cool! Looking forward to your next posts, followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68