Helping a struggling disabled child grow -

in #education5 years ago

Thank you @ashtv for inspiring this post AND inspiring parental support.
Here's the post that has encouraged a big change for my Daughter: https://steemit.com/unschooling/@ashtv/he-s-a-natural-presenter-a-5-year-old


Parenting a child with invisible disabilities

Having a high needs child is far more difficult than I'd have imagined. Of course, I'm not daft to the struggles that a family hurdles when caring for a visibly disabled person but invisible do disabilities contrast.

I'm not saying that my child is worse off or even better off than a paraplegic- I'm saying that I had no idea that a seemingly healthy little person would be so life-changing.

As an observer who loves research and problem solving, I know my child well. Knowing a person and understanding their struggles isn't a magic potion to comprehension. Not a day goes by that I have to remind myself that an invisible disability is frequently undermined, even by loving, intelligent, insightful parents. Even by me.

Changes = potential

With changes in society it is often easy to be blind to the potential in what maybe considered useless, harmful, or a fad. YouTube, in my option, is basically filed with mindless junk. YouTube is the junk drawer of the video industry. Kids love it!

My Daughter has watched many hours of other people playing and commentating a video game that she's never played. I find the videos VERY annoying and pointless; no quality; no value; please... no more!!

The big craze I hear among the little humans is "I'm on YouTube", "we should make a video and post it on YouTube" etc etc. My girl LOVES to art with clay and is fascinated by claymation. In some forgotten distant past I had suggested that we learn and create how-to claymation videos for children. She loved the idea- she'd already been asking me to help her produce video content to upload.

We since created ZERO clips.

Education through modern technology

During my steem and discord wanderings today I am happy to have tripped over @ashtv's blog post. The post tells a story of a shy boy who morphs into an excited, inspired creature while producing YouTube videos! In an instant I reflected on the skills that he was learning and obstacles being overcome.

In school, we nervously engage in public speaking as an important learning activity. And... then you have YouTube; public speaking, presentation, preparation, script writing, editing, production, self critique and reflection, etc. Not only would creating online videos be educational but it far surpasses that which a two minute speech in grade five would offer.

IMG Source

THE GOAL

  • Create a financial production plan to purchase material for video
  • Source possible donations of hardware and inventive frugal options
  • Set my Daughter up with a YouTuber creator account
  • Watch my beautiful little creature grow! 🌻

#movies #life #lifestyle #palnet #inspiration #steemitmamas #education #unschooling #homeschooling #mentalhealth

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This is fantastic! So great you have discovered some value in YouTube.
We don’t mind it (as parents) - yes there is plenty of rubbish, but hidden under the surface are some gems that’s the kids really love, for whatever reason.
I found it took my boy a while to discover things he likes - and now he has, there’s no chance he’s give any of that other garbage another look. Which was valuable for me to understand - that he was just effectively exploring and window shopping!

You’re absolutely right about what skills making a video like this can enhance - all those things like presentation, building ideas, speaking your mind, multi-taking and being self aware (to some degree).

I’m so pleased you’ve found an avenue in this and do let me know if there’s anything you would choose to share :)

Thank you @ashtv, I appreciate this.

I feel that as I age, I've began to show symptoms by way of adversity 😂

I think this will be an exciting adventure for both my daughter and I. 🌻

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 14.13% upvote from us for your 1526 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

I had major hang ups and alarms bells going off when the kids wanted to start a YT channel and this is like 7 years ago.
And the amount of videos they consume on YT.... yes the gaming too.

Long story short.. they have taught me stuff along the way and I am not so hard on them anymore. The youngest is enjoying most because the older ones paved the way ...hehe

I think this idea of wanting to be a YT star has given them some sort of confidence because they are emulating their favourites right....
Having said that, I do check in to make sure they are not caught up with any sort of cult or weird stuff

But if it is fun.... hey I grew up with Tom and Jerry abusing each other, and I wouldn't even hurt a fly....ok, a fly yes...but you know what I mean.

By the way, all you need is a phone to record
There are tonnes of free video editors online
Give it a go first and get a feel for it without overthinking it
All the best :D

Thank you.

You make a very valid point regarding violence in older cartoons. We often forget about the overall progress that society has made.

💜

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations Mama! This post has been selected to be featured for the @steemitmamas Midweek Delights Curation Post.

To view your post along with other great selections please visit: MidWeek Delights || Of Wednesday Walks, Good Samaritans, YouTube Epiphanies & Managing Screen Time.

You will receive a 100% upvote from @steemitmamas for one week to show our appreciation for your quality post.

20180516_002249_0001.png

We can learn a lot from your experience to deal with this modern dilemma

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Congratulations @anaclark! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I don't know if I told you that my mom raised me and 3 siblings. Now, we may not have been disabled, depending on the definition of disabled. Some of us may have struggled with autism, Asbergers, etc. We were homeschooled for a while. Yeah, clay is a wonderful thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77