The ecoTrain Magazine: 2nd December 2018- Bringing you Amazing Content from the EcoTrain Passengers

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to another weekly Curation from the amazing Passengers of the EcoTrain. Yes things continue to be quiet and engagement is quiet low, but that does not stop all of us onboard from creating awesome content each week. Some folk may be feeling a little unsure about where the future of Steemit may lie, but I see it as an opportunity to really show our dedication to the Platform. Community is so important and that the message we need to be spreading.

So today I have picked one post from each of those passengers, who continue to write under the EcoTrain tag, within these great posts each writer is sharing their knowledge with you and also a little piece of who they are. This week we have something to suit everyone, including natural medicine, permaculture, travel, charity work and psychology. And of course the Launch Post for this weeks Question of the Week, which is something very close to my heart. A question that asks us to explore the reasons why some people direct so much hatred towards Vegans.

It is our goal within the EcoTrain to make the world a better place and we are all very passionate about doing just that, which is reflected in the content we create. So sit back, enjoy and remember to show your support by upvoting, following and resteeming the content that you enjoy and lets all work towards making the world a better place together!

WELCOME!

@stortebeker

Cascadia to Aztlan - On to New Adventures

After a couple of Thanksgiving dinners (the official one, and the subsequent turkey dinners, lunches, and breakfasts) that could not be beat, I got ready to complete my journey to the Mexican border. Not that I wanted to cross it, by any means. For one thing, I had a flight home from L.A. Also, I heard rumors that Trump wanted to close the border, giving reason to worry to my cycling friends on the way to Fireland. No, all I wanted to do was vist Rishi's property, and on the way stop by two interesting places: Garth's Boulder Garden in Rimrock, and the ecological disaster area of Salton Sea.

@hopehuggs



Choose Experiences Over Things (Day 23 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge)



Unfortunately, we live in a society where more value is put on owning things and there is an obsession about acquiring wealth in order to buy said things.

It’s a material world, where we want bigger houses, cars and then lots of stuff to fill these houses.

The belief that we can buy happiness with stuff is ingrained within the majority of us as we have been living this way in the Western world for a very long time, but if we look closely at it, is it really true?

@mountainjewel



Hanging With Fruit Legend Guy Ames | Empowering YOU to Grow Your Own Fruit<


This past weekend we paid a visit to Ames Nursery to pick up fruit trees.

The visit proved to be full of inspiration and connection. We had heard about a bioregional nursery near us that focused on hardy and adapted fruit trees. This past weekend we got to visit the place where so much growth happens…

Guy Ames has been growing fruit since the early 1970s with a main focus on organic production.

He and his family now grow fruit and fruit trees on a certified ecologically grown farm (think organic but not through the USDA) in Northern Arkansas outside Fayetteville.




@walkerland



I wanna spread more LOVE! Entry to @mountainjewel's SP Delegation Contest


@mountainjewel has a contest going right now that YOU should know about. They are offering three SP DELEGATIONS for the Month of December. They'll be away on a silent meditation retreat! I am going to miss them because 10 days without @mountainjewel seems like an ETERNITY! That said, I recognize what a profound opportunity for self discovery and growth this will be and I know they are going to share some of what they learn. You can learn more about this contest here.

I've decided to put my name in the hat because I LOVE upvoting, it's like spreading love.

@riverflows

Moong Dahl & Leafy Greens DTUBE RECIPE: Plus, the Link Between Anxiety and Low Iron Levels

My energy levels have dropped like crypto this week. I feel like I'm walking in treacle - I'm fatigued despite 'taking it easy' as people say, and getting a good 7 to 8 hours sleep. And I'm anxious, for the first time in months, despite taking my miracle pills of St Johns Wort, fish oil and valerian - a magic trio that seems to work for me. My heart beat is driving me crazy and I'm thinking in pea soup fog and I'm breathless, too - wait - hang on - it can't be iron deficiency, can it?

Breathlessness is a warning sign of low iron for me, but I've never really made the link between low iron and anxiety until now. Seems crazy when I'm always walking on the knife edge of anxiety and depression but one of the symptoms is a foggy head, so when I'm anxious I'm trying like hell to solve it as a problem, and when I'm not, I'm not really thinking about it, so it's no suprise I've missed a few things.

@celestialcow

Photos from the orgnic farm: promtoing decentralized food supply & sustainability in Lombok

In 'the garden' is what the locals call the area of land which they farm are plots of land allocated to each family. Channels of water flow down from the mountain (rinjani) that is often covered with cloud at some point in the day even during the dry season months, allowing a fresh supply of running water. Though rainfall has decreased somewhat due to deforestation, one reason that re-planting trees is so important there right now as well.

We were really keen to plant quite a few fruit trees on the farm, some of these trees will take 5 years or maybe more to grow. We saved the seeds from sweet orange mangoes and other types of local fruit that we were eating whilst we were there


@trucklife-family

What My Dreams Are Trying To Tell Me!

I just don't seem to have enough hours in the day.My brain, is literally overflowing with ideas on how to be more creative and make enough of an income for me and my girls. I write on here everyday, I try and pop onto Discord every now and then to connect with folk, whilst also trying to put time into the women's Co-Op that I have created. And on top of all that I am trying real hard to balance all that with being a single mum who home educates her girls. Did I say, that there are not enough hours in my day.

@senorcoconut

The Cards Couldn't Have Said it Better!

I had a weekend alone with my boy, Jess was having a girls weekend down in the city! Yeah... A Boys Weekend!!!

We did a bunch a fun things, it was still nice out so we played outside in the woods, also went to an indoor playground he has wanted to go to for a while. When we went in, that first night, as I was cooking us a little diner, I noticed the little homie had pulled out a deck of spirit animal tarot cards and spread them out upside down on the floor.

@porters

Celebrating Healing Plants - Issue # 7 - Northern Bedstraw (Galium boreale)

Walking down the trails and lanes in our forest home you are likely to see the billowy clouds of white flowers of the Northern Bedstraw

As the name suggest it had a use by the early settlers in their mattresses and pillow stuffing.
It would be combined with it's close relative the sweet scented bedstraw which, when dried, has a scent resembling vanilla.
This also made good bedding for the cattle.

@nainaztengra

Love is all that Matters 💖💖

Today completing 23 years of Marriage it makes me reflect on the days gone by that what a wonderful journey I have sailed through.

I will briefly write about my Journey in this institution of Marriage which has given me all sorts of lessons in life. First of all in India when you get married you do not get married to just one person, you get married to almost the entire family. It is not only managing your Husband but also managing his whole family who will come in all different characters. So has it been the case with me also.

@thegreens

EcoDesigns Upcycled Garment of the Week. EcoDress of the Week

EcoDesigns Upcycled Garment of the Week. EcoDress of the Week

This week, we bring you an old jeans that has been upcycled with africture textile offcuts.
The Jeans was a short jeans that was about to be thrown into the landfill which we saved and have repurposed to give it a new look.
We destroyed the front of the jeans a little more and then added some precious stones stones to make it classy and shiny. We also made the jeans a little bit longer with africture textile offcuts and then made a belt for the jeans with africture textile offcuts too.

@zen-art

The psychology of enclothed cognition (clothes DO make the man)

Humans have been wearing clothes for a long long time. Ever since we were in caves, there was a need to cover our bodies for protection from natural elements. Clothes still have that purpose, to keep us warm or to protect our bodies from the Sun but they have another one, the aesthetic style. That style varies across genders, age groups, professions, and even geographical regions but it is a way to express the unique personality of a person. We have all been told how clothes do not make the man. Actually, they do. They even influence our cognitive abilities.




@eco-alex

Join Us For the ecoTrain Question Of The Week - Why do you think there is so much hate and anger toward Vegans, and why are those who eat meat and dairy so threatened by the notion of giving it up?

This weeks question is one that is close to my heart. Sometimes the opinions of the majority perplex me and I am left wondering how and why people feel they way they do. The topic this week is Veganism, and in particular what I can only call Vegan Bashing, and the very prevalent criticisms against those that choose the vegan path. There are quite a few things that arise from this weeks question and I look forward to reading your responses and opinions about it! Personally speaking I cannot understand how people who do eat meat can ignore the mass torture of animals so that they can satisfy their tongue. I can not understand why people would not spend $1 more on free range eggs to allow chickens to live a vastly improved life. I cannot understand why people will refuse to eat a meal without some meat in it! So, i'd love to hear your thoughts on the matter!

@artemislives

Natural Medicine Beetroot Test - & What it Means for Bones, Bioavailability and Your Health

Herbs, supplements and superfoods are useless if they are not bioavailable. And bioavailablility is contingent on good mechanical digestion (chewing) combined with hydrochloric acid breaking the food down in the stomach.

I had NONE of the symptoms on the low-stomach-acid checklist. Not a one. My interest had simply been intellectually piqued last week when my naturopath friend had commented on the role low stomach acid plays in reduced vitamin absorption. Ears pricked! Partly as a mom, and partly as someone who is often asked about herbal remedies but later baffled why a given herbal treatment works stunningly well on some people, but not others.

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain

DRIVER
@eco-alex

VIP'S / CURATORS / DELEGATORS
@hopehuggs
@kennyskitchen
@likedeeler
@nainaztengra
@omdemian
@senorcoconut
@stortebeker
@tribesteemup

PASSENGERS
@aware007
@artemislives
@celestialcow
@holisticmom
@hopehuggs
@misslasvegas
@mountainjewel
@nainaztengra
@porters
@rainbowrachel
@riverflows
@senorcoconut
@sharoonyasir
@solarsupermama
@stortebeker
@thegreens
@thelaundrylady
@trucklife-family
@vegan.niinja
@walkerland
@zen-art


If you are new to Steemit, love to write, and would like to join the ecoTrain community as an official passenger please email me on [email protected]

** Click Here For More Information on the ecoTrain **

 

CLICK HERE TO JOIN US ON DISCORD AND MEET SOME GREAT AUTHENTIC PEOPLE

 

Sort:  

I think I caught nearly all of these this week! It might be quiet but I still see a lot of activity - hate to try to catch up when things are busy!

Thanks so much for putting these together, a really great job xxx

there still is lots of people writing just not so much engagement but That is a RC issue I think xx

Always a great place to find amazing and quality content. Much love to everyone! 💚

There is so much good stuff here, thank you for putting this together!

you are very welcome @walkerland xx

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57