Unschooling 101 Part III: Bodily Autonomy

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

We’ve been talking about the basic tenets of unschooling. If you’d like to catch up, here is Part I and Part II. In Part II we talked about the Freedom of Activity. I mentioned that freedom was such a big topic that we would have to divide it up. It’s not really a hard and fast line between activity and bodily autonomy, but I had to divide it up somehow.

Freedom of the body is huge, and at least for me, it is so much harder. It encompasses a number of things, including toys, food, and clothes. We can just look at a few examples, and you’ll get the gist of it.


I love cookies!

My personal biggest challenge is food. Letting kids decide what and when they eat goes totally contrary to the way almost all of us were raised. It begins at birth. For me this bit was pretty easy. All four babies ate as much as they wanted and when they wanted. No scheduled feedings. We didn’t do those well baby visits, so I never had pediatricians breathing fire down my neck about my baby being .023 lbs under or overweight. I didn’t have to listen to them babble about how nursing to sleep causes cavities and bad habits and blah blah. That helped.

image.jpeg
On demand nursing was demanding but the best way for us.

Then they start eating food, and it gets more complicated. Of course a lot of people solve the dilemma of letting their kids eat what they want by not having anything unhealthy in the house. Trouble is, I like cookies. And doughnuts. And these crazy fried things we get here that I don’t even know what they are, but nothing that salty can possibly be good for you. And sometimes I don’t want to cook lunch while I’m working, so I keep loaves of bread, jars of jelly, and ramen. Just the other day, my son brought me a new challenge. Like I said, this is my last bit to give up, so I have been telling him to not ask me about food anymore. He’s not used to it yet, though. My youngest daughter likes to just eat the raw ramen (I know. Gross.), so she often leaves those packets of msg flavoring in the basket of food. So, the boy came to me with a flavor packet and asked me to open it so he could eat it. Uggh. It was torment. I really wanted to tell him he was out of his damn mind, but I didn’t. I asked him to just try it first before committing to dumping all that down his throat. In the end, he ate half a spoonful a pinch at a time. He felt my resistance, so he had to prove he wouldn't instantly have a heart attack, but his body wouldn't let him eat much. Given the opportunity to choose, his body wouldn't let him eat much of something so gross. He also ate all his Easter candy in a day, all his Christmas candy in three days, and all his Halloween candy in two days only because he passed out while still eating candy.

They go to bed when they want. They eat what they want. They get up when they want. They wear what they want. Now, why would I do this? Essentially it’s the same reason I allow them to watch as much tv as they want or play as many video games as they want or play with whatever toys they want. They have to learn, like all of us, how to regulate themselves. They have to learn when to say when. My younger boy has a certain fashion sense that I have not totally figured out. Sometimes it will be 90 degrees F, and he wants to wear long sleeves. Why? No clue. I choose to trust that he will take the shirt off before he will allow himself to have a heat stroke. When we were in the states, and he didn’t want to wear a coat, I would take one for him but not make him wear it. Especially if there is no power struggle, children will put on a coat when they are cold. It is an incredibly wild assumption to think you know better how they are feeling in their own bodies.

Food, especially sugar, can be tricky. We have a pretty good idea of the addictive power of sugar. So, I talk to my kids when they’ve had a hefty amount and ask them how it feels in their bodies. I ask them to check in with themselves and their physical and mental states often, especially as it relates to food and sleep. I feel this is an incredibly useful habit. They overdo it sometimes. I also just ate 2.5 doughnuts while I was writing this. Time will tell if that was a wise move. I also point out the day after the candy is gone that it sure would be nice to have another piece. We also talk about food and what foods feel good in our bodies and what kinds of nutrients they provide. We are blessed with a lot of fresh fruit and vegetables here, so we also talk about healthy soil and how plants work.

image.jpeg
24 hours later, all this candy was gone.

Sleep can also be a tough one. Right now my youngest is up until 1 or 2 but sleeps until 11 or 12. It works for me because I am also up late. This brings me to my next point. Martyrdom motherhood. What if I was not a night owl. She’s only 4. Is it safe to leave her awake by herself in the house? Maybe. Maybe not. I don’t feel comfortable with it at this point. So, we’d have to come to some kind of agreement. I know there are those in the unschooling community that do whatever their kids want them to do, even to their own detriment. I can’t roll like that. We are like a very small community, and we have to make agreements that allow all of us to live together in harmony. I’m not sure what agreement we would come to, and I’m not saying she would have to bend to my will completely, but nor am I bending totally to hers. I also have a policy of only making one dinner. If anyone doesn’t want to eat it, they certainly don’t have to, but I’m not making another dinner. Starting at about three they learn to make their own sandwiches and then their own eggs and more. They are free to eat whatever they like, but especially with 4 kids, I simply can’t stop making all the multitude of things that one or the other doesn’t like. At this point, my oldest daughter cooks, but it’s the same rule. One of my biggest pieces of advice to new mothers is to avoid martyrdom. Take care of yourself. Take a spa or beach day. Neither dad nor kids will die in one day.

The key to all of this is trust. I have to trust they will learn to regulate themselves and do what’s best for their own bodies. I have to trust that my 6 yo will expand his tastes one day and not live on pb&j. I have to trust he’ll put on a coat when he’s cold and take off the flannel when he’s hot. I have to trust that my daughter will learn to spread her candy over a longer period. They learn to trust that I have their best interests in my heart. And we both learn to trust their bodies and their minds. They also learn to be honest - with themselves and with me.


Honestly, this is the kind of thing that tastes and feels best, and they know that.

We also talk about marketing and lies. They really don’t see a lot of commercials. We don’t have cable. We have internet, and they watch shows, but rarely do they have ads. It does happen, though. So, we talk about how sometimes someone will say something is full of nutrition or good for you or even natural, but they’re just trying to sell something. It’s good preparation for when they learn to read, and this barrage of information just gets more massive and overwhelming. They are learning to pay attention to the wisdom of their own bodies and also to listen critically to any kind of marketing or propaganda.

Finally we talk about spiritual truths. Here’s the disclaimer: I call them truths, but you may call them hogwash. Take what works for you, and leave the rest behind. I happen to believe you can eat whatever you want and still be healthy. I believe joy and believing you are healthy and strong are worth a lot more than pretty much anything else. When I left my ex, I started eating whatever I wanted. He was hard core about healthy food, so I went off the chain. Doughnuts and cookies all the time. Bacon for breakfast every day. I was eating all kinds of fatty foods, salty stuff, sugar, beer, wine, tequila, just whatever sounded good in any moment. I was also dancing and laughing and singing all the time. I lost 40 lbs in about 6 months, and I felt healthier than at probably any other time in my life. Even doctors have figured out that mental attitude is a key to health. Of course happy people get sick. I don’t want anyone to think I’m ever saying sick people were simply not happy enough. Life is complicated and certainly not one dimensional, and it’s always at least half mystery. In any case, whatever your spiritual beliefs are about your body, share them with your children. It’s good for them to share those conversations with you.

And it works. Already, at 6 and 4, they are learning to pay attention. They are starting to remember to bring a short sleeve shirt when it’s hot and decide to eat something hearty before going straight to the cookies. Not bad considering I’m 43 and not that far ahead. The 16 and 20 yo’s are very aware of taking good care of their bodies and living in balance. They are all learning to be responsible. And that is a key thing I’m shooting for as a parent. I want them to take responsibility for themselves. It seems to me the current education system is failing pretty miserably at helping young people learn this essential skill. That’s because the other side of that coin is trust. Trust requires believing someone to be competent, yet we live in a world that sees children as stupid and incapable, as needing to be managed and maneuvered. Thus it just becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.

Trust them enough to give them freedom and then watch them bloom. In our last post of the unschooling series, we will talk about kids having space, experiences, and address the issue most whined about by the mainstream, socialization.

Sort:  

you're so awesome.. and your kids are very lucky to know freedom. If you want your kids to have a mind of their own, and develop their character you must give them this gift!Now they will really understand why they choose to do the things they do~

I can't begin to tell you how much this comment means. What you said precisely is what underlies my philosophy. If we want thoughtful kids who can think for themselves, we have to trust them to think for themselves. It's hard, and they don't know how lucky they are until much, much later.

Wow! They sure can eat candy fast, huh? We definitely limit it in our house, but I also love candy, cookies, etc! It's hard. That's so wild that your daughter stays up so late and then sleeps so late. I am a in-bed-by-10 kind of person, so if my kids wanted to stay up that late, it would be crazy! :) Ha! "Sure, I'll lock you in your padded room." ;)

Indeed! They can put it down! I've always limited it in the past, but giving free reign on video games and tv worked so well that I thought I'd try it. It's crazy hard, but I'm seeing light at the end of the tunnel.
As for the late nights, my clock changes periodically. For a while I will go to bed early and get up early. Then I'll go to bed late and get up early still, sometimes for many months. Right now it's go to bed late and get up late, so that works with her for the moment. I just know I can't leave her and go to sleep because I occasionally have to convince her that midnight is not a good time to go pick flowers. She has that 4th child independence, so if I wasn't awake, she'd be out there for sure, and we have lots of wild animals here. Some nights I do wish we had the padded room, but if I need to sleep and turn the lights out and lie down, she will (sometimes begrudgingly) humor me.

Amazing how you do this with your children, very interesting and totally agains everything we are teached to belive. I feel that I want to trust more in my son, we do that with the food (but we skip the sugar and junk food though), and we have always been listening to his signals for pee and so on, so he already dont need diapers at all.

Some things, like you wrote, that children are beeing seen as incapable and stupid, is sometimes hard to encounter when we meet other people and parents. But we always encourage our boy to do what he likes.

There is so much to learn!

Thank you for sharing those wise words and inspiration.

I'm so glad you found it helpful! Hopefully someday children will be seen as the brilliant people they are. Parenting is never ending learning!

Very interesting! I totally jive with some of it, but having a daughter with allergies and sensory issues and more, the food part would definitely be tough for me. The sleeping part, would be totally fine for my girls, but my 5 yr old is the one who is constantly finding stuff of mine that he knows he's not to touch-just to get a reaction out of me. He knows where everything is-there's no hiding stuff. It's funny, but he absolutely could not be up past me-that would be dangerous! 🤣

The food part has been the absolute hardest for me. Of course allergies is another can of worms. I definitely couldn't leave my 4 yo up after me. She would wander off to play with the dogs or pick flowers. She's not afraid of much. Except sleeping, of course. It only works because I'm up late too. If I have to go to bed early, we have to negotiate.

Love these posts! Bodily autonomy is a huge deal for me, and it's the thing that I most want to jump in on when I see parents out in public. I don't, unless they're being abusive, because I don't have kids, and raising kids is hard, and people get defensive when they think you're judging them, but I hate how our society tells us all that children are dumb and incapable of regulating or controlling their own bodies, and that parents must force them to do things they don't want to do. It makes my heart hurt for those little kiddos.

Thanks for sharing this lovely series. I just came across an Emma Goldman quote I thought you might appreciate: "No one has realized the wealth of sympathy, the kindness and generosity hidden in the soul of a child. The effort of every true education should be to unlock that treasure."

Thank you so much! It bothers me too. Parenting really is hard, and none of us get it right all the time or probably even most of the time. That's exactly why I don't get why people don't pick their battles more efficiently. Why fight over a coat? I also feel angered by people assuming they know how someone else feels in their body. Used to really bug my ex when my son would wear his batman costume out to eat or whatever, and I just couldn't even fathom giving a shit.
Of course DSS is always hanging over every parent's head.
Thanks for that quote. That's really lovely and so true. Children are treasure troves of beauty.

I love this mama,

"I happen to believe you can eat whatever you want and still be healthy."

I believe this too c: I think that it's wonderful that you allow your children at such a young age about different choices and how it affects their bodies. Many people don't get to learn this until well into adulthood that overindulgence is probably not going to help your mental or physical health.

Many are used to "regulation". By this, I mean that most people only find it acceptable to sleep at a certain time, eat at a certain time, and live our lives in complete surrender to the clock.

I only eat when I feel hungry, and sleep when I'm tired—my biological clock is more important than a mechanical one. I feel that problems like obesity and insomnia can be prevented by learning how to manage our bodies better <3

Thank you! It's not easy, but I so agree! I feel it's so much easier to learn when you don't have other responsibilities. It's so important to listen to our bodies, and it's awesome you've figured that out. I think that and being happy are more important than anything else in terms of promoting good health.

HA! I feel bad for the blog I just wrote now that I'm reading this. I agree that happiness is where a person's health comes from... But I could be wrong about that too. My body doesn't always suggest the healthiest routes, but from what I've experienced, they are still enjoyable!

Totally. It's all about balance. Certainly rum isn't good for me, but it's ok in moderation, and if I'm having fun with it, that's very good for me.

Rum and Pine is my go-to beverage. My bf asked me if I wanted anything from the grocery tonight, I tried to give him the ingredients for a bloody mary. That's raw food right? c; Having fun is the most important thing a person can do, no matter the circumstance!

Bloody Mary is totally raw food!

Exactly c; 💖

Wow! This sounds amazing. I would have a hard time with a lot of these choices, but you're right that giving our children autonomy is very important. I do like how you talk to them about how their decisions make them feel though, it helps them make better decisions in the future. Great article. -Aimee

So glad you enjoyed it. It really is hard. It's always been the toughest bit for me, but I really love seeing them make good choices on their own. And also learning from poor choices.

You have a really good perspective; watching them make good choices would feel very rewarding. I often talk about giving our kids space to explore and make mistakes because when they learn consequences early, they make better decisions later. I guess I always thought about this tactic in the form of play and not with sleep or food. I may have to try this, though I admit it will be a huge shift in my way of thinking. Thanks again for sharing. -Aimee
Ps. Upvoting your comment to make up for missing the article upvoting window. 😊

It is a really big shift, but im mostly quite pleased. Ive always said good parenting is much harder. Children whipped into obedience may be "better behaved" at 3 or even 8, but i guarantee they pay the piper in the teenage years and probably well into adulthood. Loving, attaching, guiding, and trusting are so much harder and take so much more time and effort. Starting with play is a great place to start. Be gentle with yourself.
Thanks also for the comment upvote! I always wondered how that worked when the post had paid out already. Good to know!

Thank you. I have really enjoyed connecting with you and I look forward to reading more of your content. Cheers, Aimee

Likewise. I've got a cloth diapering post coming tomorrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16