Unschooling 101 Part 2: Freedom of Activity

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

The wisdom of letting kids decide what to do with their day

I wanted to share the basics of unschooling for those who don't know much about it. It's important for young parents to know what their options are, and it's really wonderful for everyone to have a basic understanding of different educational theories, so we can work together to support all families in helping children grow into loving and powerful adults in whichever ways work best for each family.

Editing to add: If you're new to the party, here's the link to Part I

Freedom. It's what's for breakfast.

Freedom is a cornerstone of unschooling. It's so important, in fact, we're going to have to split it into two posts. In this first part we will talk about children having the freedom to do whatever they choose. This is a tremendous mental block for almost everyone. It is helpful to look at it in a different way. This freedom is also a cornerstone of Sudbury schools. Way back in the day when I helped start and staff one in Asheville, NC, US, one of the most common questions was, "how in the world do they learn anything if you let them do what they want all day?" Under that question is the assumption that kids don't want to learn. In the modern school system, that assumption has some validity. If we take a look at young children, it's a little easier to see their real drive to learn. Watch them learn to talk or walk or ride a bike. Their drive is strong. When they resist in the modern classroom, they are resisting being told what to learn for hours on end and forced to sit still and be quiet for long periods of time. They are resisting being told that the things they love and are passionate about are worthless and unimportant. They are resisting being told that they are bad for simply acting like children.

It also helps to undo the ideas of what is and isn't useful or important. This idea that learning only happens when people sit and listen to another person teach is not only false, it is dangerous. Learning is happening almost all the time. Hold onto your hats. Learning is happening when children play pretend, run in the woods, climb a tree, stare into space, cook a meal, draw a picture, spend money at the store, play video games, and have conversations just for starters. Driven to learn, they will do so in the funnest and most interesting possible way for them. I know plenty of boys who learned to read playing video games. And sometimes they simply need time to think and integrate what they have already learned. A child sitting and staring into space is often doing important processing work. In fact, most of us adults could learn a thing or two from them about taking the time to do nothing.

Boredom is awesome! And other phrases to make your kids' eyes roll.

One of my favorite states of being for kids is boredom. Boredom is basically gold. It is in this place that a child can really realize what they actually want. They have a chance to reach deep inside and figure out which things in this world are actually interesting to them. This would actually also be true for adults, but I can't remember the last time I was bored. Will they choose to flip on the tv sometimes? Of course, but that also gets awfully boring. Unless a child has a powerful interest in acting or directing or perhaps writing, they will not be interested in endless tv watching. Mostly because it's not that interesting. Sometimes we all need to check out.

The power of those crazy inter webs.

It has always been possible to learn everything you need or want to know in this way. A child would simply seek out a book or a person with the knowledge they wanted and read or ask questions, perhaps become an apprentice. Of course now it is extraordinarily easy. The Internet, in my mind, makes the modern school system completely obsolete. Some of the best teachers in the world, for any subject you can imagine - and many you'd probably rather not imagine, are ready and waiting on the Internet. All of MIT's classes are available online. For free. I try not to laugh at people who tell me I can't possibly teach my children because I don't have a teaching degree. We all now have easy access to pursue every passion we can possibly squeeze in to the hours of the day. The Internet makes it easy, and let's face it, our kids are more adept at it than we are.

The 3 R's (except writing starts with a W and arithmetic with an A)

The question of the basics comes up often. The idea, of course, is that the ability to read is central to the ability to learn other things. That's not entirely true, but it definitely makes it a lot easier. And of course basic math certainly makes a host of things from cooking to shopping significantly easier. Right there is the answer. Every human whose curiousity is encouraged, particularly those who are surrounded by interesting and intelligent people, will discover the utility of reading and basic math. Many, of course, will also discover the sheer joy of one or both. At some point they will realize that this knowledge makes life easier and more fun. And this idea stretches further. For the child fascinated by physics or chemistry or a host of different engineering fields, they will discover that they will need to have a pretty deep understanding of some fairly complicated math, whether they are interested in it or not. The child whose drive for learning has not been thwarted will pursue, pursue, pursue through countless obstacles because they have been allowed the time to explore and pause and discover what they are passionate about.

image.jpeg

Your child is not a storm trooper

It is very important to understand that every child has their own timing. They will learn when they are ready, and it may not be your exact idea of a good time table. Almost certainly, they will not be learning on most of your bossy relatives and neighbors' time tables. My oldest taught himself to read at 4. He was excited about it. Mostly he wanted to read Batman comic books, and I told him I wouldn't read them because I just don't enjoy reading comic books. My older daughter, on the other hand, didn't learn to read until she was 9. In part she is the type of person to resist what other people tell her she should or needs to do. She's her own girl, and she's a powerhouse for sure. I never cared that she hadn't yet learned to read and knew she would eventually pick it up, but there were plenty of others harassing her. Her resistance was also a protection of this certain type of innocence. The whole world is available very suddenly once you learn to read. Nasty notes on bathroom walls, awful advertising slogans, hateful comments, all of it. It's an opening of the world. And for an incredibly sensitive girl like her, it was too much, and she intuitively knew it would be. She was also putting all her energy and focus into her art, and that gave her a really important channel for all her deep feelings and emotions. Once she started learning to read, she picked it up very quickly and was reading at college level by 14. That said, the comments of people, most of them well meaning, took a toll in those early years. It's important to educate your relatives as thoroughly as you can. Seek out articles and books about children who learned late and send these people links. Tell them that pressuring a child makes it take longer and can cause psychological harm. Do what you have to do to protect your child.

-b+/- the square root of b^2-4ac/2a

Beyond the basics lies a very important question. From the vast body of knowledge in the world, who has decided what each human should know by the age of 18? You always see those memes about how much more useful it would be to know how to file your taxes or how evil credit card companies are than the date of the Louisiana Purchase or the quadratic formula. It always sounds like people are half kidding in those quotes, but I'm posing a really for real serious question. Who decides? And why? I don't really want to go down a conspiracy theory rabbit hole, but I think it's fair to say that there's a reason the history books don't talk a lot about the history of resistance, of labor movements, of anarchy. Nor do they have a sufficient amount to say about the Trail of Tears, the wretchedness of colonialism or even slavery. The fact that Andrew Jackson is still on US money is just far beyond disgusting. Anyway. Lest I go off on a tirade, I'll leave you to draw your own conclusions about that. Without a doubt, though, there is an abundance of knowledge in the world about a host of different areas. It is not possible to learn it all. I believe it is also not possible to know which chunks are most important or most interesting for any other person. Both my older kids love comics and graphic novels. They're always trying to get me to read them. I'm just not interested. But I'm glad they love it, and I'm glad it brings them so much joy. If I see something cool about manga or art, I'll tell my daughter, in the same way I would a friend. No need to do the condescending "I think you should learn thus and such." If I see something about music or anarchy, I share it with my boy. What I know for sure is that I have helped them fine tune the skill of learning to listen to their own voice to discover their passions and interests and how to learn more about and follow their interests.

The stunning shock of imperfection

Except that won't always be the case. We all make "bad" choices. That's a part of living, and it's not an unimportant part. Like everyone else, kids need compassion when they've fucked up. They need to know that it's ok. They may need some guidance on moving forward. They also need to fail. It's not helpful for us to sweep in and rescue them each time. In fact, quite the opposite, I think it's helpful to teach them that every failure is a victory. They have tried and found a thing that didn't work or realized that they will have to try a new strategy. It's genuinely an important part of learning.

This freedom bit is genuinely one of the biggest obstacles for most people to unschooling and also to Sudbury schools. My intention here is to just provide an introductory type article, so I won't go on any further. However, I am happy to answer questions in the comments section and further clarify or help tame the "what if" monster. I also love comments from unschooling families, and I think positive stories give more confidence to people wanting to give it a go.

In the next part we will look at a different type of freedom. Some time in the next week or so. Keep a lookout!

I am a passenger on the @ecotrain! Check us out for more awesome posts from beautiful people doing their bit to make the world a better place.

I am also a part of @teamgirlpowa, a group dedicated to empowering women and other marginalized communities.

Finally, I am a @steemmama! If you're a mom looking to chat with other supportive moms, check us out on discord.

All pics are mine or pixabay!

Sort:  

I think the ever-expanding library of videos and practice questions at Khan Academy is a great example of how traditional k-12 educational institutions can be supplemented or even replaced by the internet. A lot of information is available just a quick search away now!

I like to remind myself, half-jokingly, that we are living in the future. If one watched Star Trek, we have so many devices that they foresaw, and sometimes more advanced—my iPad is loads better than the little pads they had for reading on Next Generation! We have bluetooth headsets, and our cars can talk to us. Technology has opened whole horizons, and the children growing up today have access to unprecedented amounts of information.

I also think that K-12 was a big source of problems I face today. I never felt the freedom to fail as a child, I think, and as a result, I suffer from terrible anxiety and depression, resulting from perfectionism. My mental health was definitely damaged by trying to fit the mold of a standardized education, of being told (as an undiagnosed autistic/ADHD child) that I am obviously smart but I don't apply myself hard enough. I internalized that shame, and I still struggle with it today.

I really appreciate this series of posts on unschooling—it's a very good and very important conversation you're stirring!

I like Khan too. My older kids didn't, but I haven't shown the younger ones yet. They might like it. I think the older ones didn't like it because they were introduced to it during their short stint in public schools. It's true. We have all kinds of crazy devices now. It's weird trying to write fiction based in the future because we can't really have a clue what we're gonna have even 5 years from now.
Just 2 years in public school did terrible things to my older daughter. Her self esteem got totally shot. She has told me that she is pretty sure she wouldn't have made it through if I had kept her in there. As an artist she just had very different priorities of what was most important in life, and as an unschooler she was totally unaccustomed to being told what to think and do all day. Not to mention the social train wreck. For me and my older son, I think it was more about associating our worth with our good grades.
I'm so glad you're enjoying these. These are the comments that keep me going.

Khan academy is great, our kids love it.

Can you include a link here to Khan Academy? It can help me & others go to it faster from here without the need to search for it.

Proud mama of three unschooled sons who are now happy motivated adults!

It was beautiful watching the three of them find their individual passions and "learn to fly". Each learned the basics in their own time and own way.

But most importantly they were free to learn about themselves.

I am excited to follow this series.

Learning who you are and what you love just simply can't be over valued. It's absolutely most critical. I'm so glad your boys came out so beautifully. I have one all grown and another one close. Then two more who are a long ways away. I hope you enjoy the series. I love writing about unschooling.

Beautiful! I wish I had known a little more about unschooling when I was raising my boys, but our version of homeschooling worked fine too. I think it was a little bit of structure and a lot of following their passions.

We didn't start with unschooling for sure. It was a long way to get there, and it's cool with the two young ones to get to do all the things I learned from the first two. Ultimately they turn out beautifully when you give them love and space whether it's structured or not.
I'm so glad you enjoyed the post. It's fun to write about things I'm so passionate about.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 76 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Great article! My oldest started reading at 3 and to this day is still a voracious reader. My 2nd daughter is 8 and is interested, but doesn't have the patience so I don't push and she is naturally progressing and sometimes surprises herself at how much she is passively learning!

As for the conspiracy rabbit hole, I feel like the term "conspiracy theorist" has such a negative connotation, but when I really think about the term itself, without the agenda attached to it, I love it! What do scientists do? Theorize! You come up with a theory and then you go to work studying it in or even trying to disprove it! I wish we approached more things this way. I often struggle with researching because I get so frustrated by the bias I see in both directions. This is no way directed at any one group since I'm so left I'm right or so right I'm left, depending on the topic at hand. Bottomline is I love that by unschooling, our kids are free to investigate whatever rabbitholes they wish and to the depths they desire.

Lastly, we unschool with a Waldorfish flair and very limited screentime because I do have one child with SPD and transitions of any kind are a challenge, but specifically those surrounding screens of any type, whether it's TV, video games, tablets, even Pandora on an ipad! Just wondering if anyone else out there has faced this issue. I end up having to limit screentime for the whole family in an attempt at fairness and any time we do have a family movie night, I feel like I'm walking on eggshells when it's over.

Thank you so much! They do learn in totally different ways and on totally different timelines. It's so good to hear you're letting her go at her own pace. It always makes my stomach turn to see kids pressured.
I feel you on the conspiracy theories. They're only referred to in that way by people who disagree with them, but you're right. Making a theory and then researching to determine the truth is always good. And it's true that bias and inaccurate information abound. This weekend has been a fine example of that - and like you said both left and right.
I wish I could help you on the screen time with the SPD. I have my suspicions that my 3rd child might have it, but we've never had it diagnosed, and it's probably a mild case. I don't think our situations are really similar, but I'll share my story in hopes that there will be at least something helpful. With my first two I used to limit screen time, and I slowly decided to let them decide. I was internally resisting it, though, so they sensed the unspoken power struggle. Their dad was also totally not on board. So their response, of course, was to spend a lot of time on screens. Eventually I let it go, and eventually they balanced out. With the younger two, I haven't had any restrictions or any internal conflict about it, and they naturally balance themselves. We live in Belize, so it's nice enough to go out almost all the time, and that's often so much more interesting. So, even my one who struggles with transitions and tantrums and anything out of his routine, chooses to walk from the screens after a little while. He does get crazy mad at his video games, but he'll even step away from those after a while. I feel for you. I hate the eggshells feeling. We deal with it any time we have to sleep away from home for the night. We have to make sure he's really comfortable and has loads of distractions. Anyway, I'm pretty sure your situation is different, but I hope there was a nugget in there for you.

When I think of the current educational system, homeschooling sounds like a better option for children. To be honest, all the home schooled kids that I have met really impressed me. They were far more knowledgeable than their peers.

Honestly there are just so many distractions in most schools. Disruptions, chaos, people on wildly different levels, an absolutely horrid ratio, separation of different ages from each other, forcing kids to be still and quiet. It's a wonder anyone learns anything.

Great post - thanks for taking the time to put it together. I also agree that modern education is outdated. My oldest son is 9 and still not really interested in reading, although he will read some video games as he plays them. ;) Ha. I have one son who regularly tells me that he's bored. Then he'll come to me with a dinosaur cut out covered in glitter. Wow, he found something to entertain himself with. :)

Glad you enjoyed it! So many boys learn to read with video games! I really like them much better than tv. Those kids that talk about boredom all the time are often super creative. Their brains are just going, going, and they can't stand the vacuum. Glitter to the rescue. You're brave to keep glitter in the house. That stuff is almost impossible to get rid of.

Lol - I know. I keep finding little pieces of glitter everywhere. Ha. I told them next time they have to do glitter outside. Today they found those little beads that you iron and they melt together in whatever shape you put them together in. Now those keep getting found all over the floor. ;)

Oh my. I'd be having to do some serious deep breathing. Glitter is basically an infectious disease. I super admire your patience. I had forgotten the iron on beads. We haven't had those since my older ones had them.

Boredom encourages innovation, and it is a powerful force early on in life like you said, my mother taught me at home and I was given freedom like you said. Children learn to live and to become independent and grow up as they are given choices and, haha, yes, they are not Star Wars Storm Clone Troopers and each kid is different in how they learn and in how fast they learn and in when and where they may learn best at. I'm Oatmeal. Grew up in Oregon. Thanks for sharing all of this.

I'm so glad you liked it, Oatmeal. That might be the best statement about boredom I have ever heard. Absolutely totally accurate.

Great, Mama. Love it. How are you?

Well, I'm pretty fabulous at the moment. The day has been touch and go, but we navigated successfully. Super intuitive of you to realize that Mama is the term of endearment. Guessing you have a similar type of mama. And how are you?

I do love reading your posts about education, I just nod along and you always reassure me that what I am doing is right, I feel it is but there is always so much interference from others who are convinced they know better. Looking forward to the others, seriously think you should write a book, in your own time but I really appreciate your wisdom, much love mama xx

I'm so glad they're helpful for you! I know it's hard when people are constantly harassing you for your choices. It's super satisfying when they turn out amazing, though people then pretend it's in spite of what you did rather than because of it. I may write a book at some point. I feel like there's already a lot out there, but I may have something unique to add. I am thinking I will turn the fiction I'm writing into a book.

Hi there @solarsupermama. It's a unique handle anyway! I ve got to know bout your post on unschooling 101 part 2 a little bit late I think. Its very interesting topic you have posted! I knew little about unschooling actually. However, with your post it gives more info for me to practice on my ASD daughter who now turn 9. To me, kids nowadays already have more says than previous days like my time - ie 80s. They are the millenial baby and all around them moves and changes very fast. So do the way of teaching them too!. Surely I would love to hear more from you in a future. Followed U! ;)

I'm so glad you enjoyed the post and that it was helpful for you. We're pretty sure our oldest daughter is also on the spectrum, though we've never had herr diagnosed. She's sixteen now and such a beautiful and amazing person. She's the one painting in the photo. There will definitely be more posts on this topic coming soon!! The fact that things change so quickly is a really important one because we can't possibly know what they will need to know when they move out on their own because we can't even imagine what the world will be like. What they need to know is how to teach themselves. Thanks for the follow. Following you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16