"More Choice Or Less Choice?" @EcoTrain QOTW

in #ecotrain5 years ago

"Less Choices"


Too much of a Choice is always confusing for me.
Back home in India, for my daily grocery and utility stuff we had a very small supermarket near our place where I used to visit and get my stuff and it was always very simple for me. I used to pick up my stuff and also not spend much time there goofing around. I knew exactly what I wanted and there would be some options to select from which would be easy and time saving for me.

When I shifted to Muscat, here we have larger then life supermarkets. For the first few times I used to be running around in the whole of market totally in a state of confusion. If I needed something as small as a packet of Salt, there would be some 50 variety of Salts and then I would be drooling over which one should I pick up. And there is so much that I would realize that I ended up buying some unnecessary stuff.

For me personally more choices means more confusion and then in the bargain sometimes I also end up picking up wrong things. So I any day prefer Less choices. Big Malls, Big Supermarkets all of them confuse me, I really cannot decided what should I pick up.

These days online shopping is also there which spoil us with end number of choices. Sometime back I wanted to buy a Crystal Lotus and I was looking for it on Amazon, as I started searching I could find some 100s of them and then I was in a total state of confusion as to which one to buy, I ended up picking one after almost a week going back and forth 100s of times on the selection. Amazon definitely confuses me a lot, anything I look for there are so many options that it takes me days to decided on the selection and many a times I also end up with a wrong selection 😥


Source

"More Choices"


But there is one thing in which I need More choices and that's when I want to buy my Clothes. This is the only thing where I want a big selection to choose from. If I have to buy one dress also, I will go around the town, look at all the options in the brands that I prefer and then pick up, I guess that's a typical female behavior. My husband gets very irritated and I also prefer not to take him for shopping as he would expect that we go to one shop and just pick up whatever is there which is not my cup of tea...hehehe...typical male behavior :-) Specially when I have to buy Clothes, yes I like to select from a big collection and by any chance if I have picked up something without much of choice and then if I come across a dress which would appeal me a lot I would feel miserable 🤣🤣

When I go out for my Clothes shopping what is important for me is to buy something good and also not very heavily priced, My husband never sees that he will just pick up without seeing the price tag, where as I will first see the price tag and then pick it up for trial. So in the hunt of getting something best at a economical price I always end up visiting 10 different shops and then buy worth the price offer.


Source

Generally I feel it is good to have choices but not that many that will leave in a state of confusion. The more choices you also end up buying some wrong stuff or also some unnecessary stuff. Less choices is always good. Sometimes more choices also gives you a view to a lot of new items and variety in the market. It is all individual preference, you cannot have one standard theory for all your needs so for certain things Less and certain things More.

Another classic e.g. is the TV Shows. I remember when we were kids there were only 3 to 4 TV channels for the shows, and it was easy, we knew day wise what we had to watch but nowadays we sit with the remote and keep switching the Channels not knowing exactly what to watch. Even if there is a movie on one, we would keep flipping to see which other movies are running along and then it is like now which one should I watch. Some times it gets complicated with more choices.

So overall in general I prefer less choices. Life gets much simpler with Less choices.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

bloggif_5c17c7088f8ae.gif

My other blogs of Interest


What inspires Me the Most in Life - TSU Biweekly Question
A surprise Family reunion
My 2 Years Anniversary on Steemit 🎂🥂💃💖🌹
"Importance of Parent's mindfulness while planning a Baby"
My Daily Detox Smoothie

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

Sort:  

Yeah, there are pros and cons to each of them. Sometimes too many Choices (as you say in your post ) can make being productive very difficult !

True, at times choices are better and at times confusing so there can be no one definition or conclusion to this. It all depends on individual preferences over their priorities.

Choosing smth is always torturing:)
This or that or maybe this and that together?;)
I like choosing only when it is about fruits and vegetables. I need much of them, different ones and their variety is my paradise:)

When it comes to grocery shopping I am more specific about my stuff so it does not much of a deal for me, but when it comes to clothing variety is all I need..hehehe :-)

You got a 21.17% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nainaztengra! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I think that the clothes shopping always has more choice because it's about self expression, rather than simple utility like dish soap or salt. I agree that life is so very much simpler with less choice, and we have so much more time for creating and simply Being, when we don't have to spend endless hours shopping.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85