Who Are Our Elders? Respect Is Earned

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

This week I'm really excited to write about the Ecotrain Question of the Week:

Does the saying "You should respect your elders" still hold true today?

Now my approach to this will be unconventional (what's new?!)... here goes!

future-2372183_960_720.jpg


I do believe that this saying holds true, but not in the traditional way.
I believe we should respect our elders, but this comes with a caveat of defining who our elders are.

Frankly, I don't believe many of the people in our cultures who have reached a certain age are truly elders.

I think many older people are upholding existing paradigms and old traditions bent on destruction of the earth- these are not my elders.

source


My elders are the humans who are living the change. The ones who have reached deep inside of themselves, who have done the work of making the world a better place. Sadly I think many older people are simply selfish and live with their heads in the sand.


I do not believe Respect your elders is a blanket statement. The older people who are destroying our planet are not my elders and not deserving of my respect.

A good example of an elder of mine is Joe Hollis who established and runs Mountain Gardens in North Carolina. He has one of the most beautiful and practical self-serve apothecaries! He is literally bringing healing and herbal education to thousands!

Herbal Apothecary


Screen Shot 2018-05-04 at 10.14.33 AM.png


Others in this vein are Rosemary Gladstar (left) and Susun Weed (below), both women have revolutionized the herbal realm into what it is today. These are women who have changed the face of herbalism for our generation. They did their work, went on their journeys and stepped out of the norm to actually shift culture.


Depending on what you value in life, you will find your elders.

They will reach right into you and inspire you. Maya Angelou is an elder to us all. Take a look at her actions here:

I remember reading an interview she did with Dr. Cornel West where she told the story of being on the set of the film Poetic Justice. A fight ensued between two men and threatened to become violent. People on the set backed off wanting to protect themselves. I believe one man pulled out a gun. She stepped in, put her hands on one of the men, and said, “Let me speak to you. Let me talk to you. Do you know you’re the best we have? Do you know we don’t have anybody better than you? Do you know everybody has paid for you, and they’re all dead?” The man started to cry and she walked him away from others so he would not be ashamed of his tears. She didn’t know at the time that the man was Tupac Shakur. When asked in an interview years later why she did that, Dr. Angelou said sometimes we have to put our hands on another person and remind them how precious they are; to remind them that they are the best we have.

This is true eldership. To truly step into the lives of a younger generation and speak to their hearts, to live by example. Dr Angelou did this untiringly through her writing and lived example.

People working for social justice, raising good families, creating alternative life-giving systems... people who are innovators in their field, even simple people who no one knows how many lives they have touched, these are our elders.

Elders are not those who are simply old- they are people whose lives have been worth something, who have taken a stand, reached out and touched others, lived for values much larger than themselves. To these people, I give my full respect and open ears. I open my heart and mind and revere them.

Buckminster_Fuller-BE043654.jpg
Buckminster Fuller

Another elder is Buckminster Fuller who revolunized human thought and scientific understanding as an American architect, systems theorist, author, designer, and inventor:

Since the initial publication of the chart of the electromagnetic spectrum, humans have learned that what they can touch, smell, see, and hear is less than one-millionth of reality.

Now you don't have to do unusual or huge things like the people I listed above to be an elder. You can live a quiet life standing for your values, caring for your family and friends, gently making change in your community.

But to those people over 55 party to business as usual including most of the United States government:

not elders

The Senate has 54 Republicans, 44 Democrats, and 2 Independents, who both caucus with the Democrats. The average age of Members of the House at the beginning of the 114th Congress was 57.0 years; of Senators, 61.0 years.

I do not give you my respect.
Eldership is earned and you are not my elders.

ecotrain.png

Check the #ecotrain tag often for more inspiring articles!

mountainjewelbanner.jpg

banner by @radicalunicorn

Sort:  

nice angle!
luckily I´m just 54, so narrowly I dodged your bullet 😘

Hahah lucky you 😉 although you will probably pass next year when you come of age 🍀

I think you hit it right on the head when you wrote,

My elders are the humans who are living the change. The ones who have reached deep inside of themselves, who have done the work of making the world a better place.

True eldership is really true leadership in positive change, deserving on the role of honor of our elders. Joe Hollis, Rosemary Gladstar, Susun Weed, Dr Angelou and Buckminster Fuller all truly set an example to honor with our following in some way. After all, isn't honoring looking up to and following their lead?

Then when you said those people over 55 it hit home. I'm 56 and now I ask myself what honor have I earned in life. I certainly don't see myself as an elder - that's for sure. But damn, now you got me thinking. It's a bit of a challenge how it seems so few seem to respect anyone these days, not necessarily any elder or even me per se, but anyone who gives it their best to make a positive difference in life. Then again, I guess a wise elder wouldn't do it for the recognition, but just press on with doing their best to follow their convictions and life passions. That's all anyone can expect.

Thanks for sharing this post, which sparked an interesting journey within myself, @mountainjewel.

thank you! super delighted to hear how this sparked you on an internal quest. what more could i ask for as a writer? xo

wow your new golden banner is just stunnnnnniiiinnnnngggggggg!!!! I love it!!!

And love your post. Some inspiring folk there. I totally agree. I've been reading about some Australian poets who tirelessly advocated for change through their words - Oodgeroo Noonuccal and Judith Wright. It's funny I've been thinking about them all week. I always love your responess tothese questions but I shouldn't read them before I write my own response, as you intimidate me with your brilliance - both you and @trucklifefamily wrote gorgeous pieces on this this week. Ah I need to find my big voice. xxx

you're amazing and you intimidate me with your brilliance so there! lol i'm gonna look into these australian poets you mention. i like that we live on opposite corners of the world! xo will be looking forward to your piece!! xx

Aw... this mutual appreciation thing is awesome!! xxx

Thinking back on how I have heard the word "elder" used, I can think of two contexts.

  1. age
  2. someone who "shepherds" other people (implying a leadership quality and qualification)

I agree that just because you are older does not make you elder. There are a lot of people who desire positions of leadership (and currently hold those positions) that do not deserve the title of leader or elder. Each community must define what a true leader is and then appointment people to fill those roles.

Just my opinion. Thanks for the thought provoking article.

Thanks for writing in. I like your definition that for each community, they will choose elders specific to their needs/desires.

We have a group that feeds the homeless every month, but last Sunday, we had a lot of regular helpers that just could not attend. I put out a call for help, because we feed about 300, and we need hands to help serve. One person I asked is an Elder from the church. He is an Elder in his heart, not by calendar, and he left a youth summer camp, two hours away, to come help. What makes him an Elder in my estimation, even though he is only in his 40's; is that not only did he respond, but he brought his children to help, to teach them how to serve others! I think that any true elder has a servant's heart!

I would love to sit and talk with the herbalists you listed, it has been my passion for many years! You are spot on that there is little in DC worth following, and even less that earns respect!

definitely agree with you; it's not about age, but about orientation. thanks for your comment! sounds like a beautiful person <3

@mountainjewel this my take home message and we will share it with everyone everywhere we go to
"I think many older people are upholding existing paradigms and old traditions bent on destruction of the earth- these are not my elders. My elders are the humans who are living the change. The ones who have reached deep inside of themselves, who have done the work of making the world a better place. Sadly I think many older people are simply selfish and live with their heads in the sand."
It's a great piece!

thank you friends! appreciating you!! <3

I think defining respect is so crucial because in terms of who do i honor, follow, emulate, learn from, i think you are absolutely right. Then i feel like there's a basic respect of honoring someones humanity and having compassion for their suffering, basic dignity kind of stuff thhat everyone deserves. A lot of people have done both good and bad, and we never know how they got to be like that. Basically i think respect should maybe be split into two words.

yeah! i felt like making a caveat like this at the end. i mean in real life, i'm super respectful in that second way you mention to everyone and for the reasons you mention~ we're all humans here doing our best. on the other hand, there is a special honoring for these individuals. great point and i agree.

Exactly. So, what shall the new word be? I think the new one should be for the elder heroes.

hmmmm..... good question!! they're definitely my inspirations and the ones i look up to most! i'm not sure what the alt respect verb is, but i'll still call these my Tribe elders! <3

I think tribe elders is perfect because it means we align with them as our tribe.

Awesome post I can agree with 100%.

Respect is reciprocal, thanks for sharing.

I feel old sometime but I am only 50 whew. I think of elders as those who have gone before you. That means they have gone down the path you are following (or would like to follow) in life and have some wisdom and experiences to share with you. That is kind of the same as what you are saying those that are going down different paths in life are not worthy of your respect if you don't believe in what they are doing with their lives.

Anyone that is your elder will never tell you what to believe or do, they will share their experience and let you (if want you) to make your own decision.

I guess what I'm saying is anyone who claims they deserve respect simply because of their age - doesn't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12