You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who Are Our Elders? Respect Is Earned

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Thinking back on how I have heard the word "elder" used, I can think of two contexts.

  1. age
  2. someone who "shepherds" other people (implying a leadership quality and qualification)

I agree that just because you are older does not make you elder. There are a lot of people who desire positions of leadership (and currently hold those positions) that do not deserve the title of leader or elder. Each community must define what a true leader is and then appointment people to fill those roles.

Just my opinion. Thanks for the thought provoking article.

Sort:  

Thanks for writing in. I like your definition that for each community, they will choose elders specific to their needs/desires.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16