You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who Are Our Elders? Respect Is Earned

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

I think you hit it right on the head when you wrote,

My elders are the humans who are living the change. The ones who have reached deep inside of themselves, who have done the work of making the world a better place.

True eldership is really true leadership in positive change, deserving on the role of honor of our elders. Joe Hollis, Rosemary Gladstar, Susun Weed, Dr Angelou and Buckminster Fuller all truly set an example to honor with our following in some way. After all, isn't honoring looking up to and following their lead?

Then when you said those people over 55 it hit home. I'm 56 and now I ask myself what honor have I earned in life. I certainly don't see myself as an elder - that's for sure. But damn, now you got me thinking. It's a bit of a challenge how it seems so few seem to respect anyone these days, not necessarily any elder or even me per se, but anyone who gives it their best to make a positive difference in life. Then again, I guess a wise elder wouldn't do it for the recognition, but just press on with doing their best to follow their convictions and life passions. That's all anyone can expect.

Thanks for sharing this post, which sparked an interesting journey within myself, @mountainjewel.

Sort:  

thank you! super delighted to hear how this sparked you on an internal quest. what more could i ask for as a writer? xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63