A Lesson From My Son

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Home education, unschooling or learning all the time. Whatever you want to call it, children learn when they are ready to. My 5 year old son has given me many reminders of this and today was no exception.

20180803_201332.jpg

From the discovery of my pregnancy with my 3rd child (pictured above), my partner and I decided that we wanted to home educate our children.
After a disastrous attempt at traditional homeschooling my daughter when we moved to Mexico, I was determined to learn from my mistakes and not try to recreate school at home.
When I returned to the UK later that year, I began collecting books from thrift stores and second hand bookstores. Books that I thought may inspire my children's imagination and spark their inquisitive minds.
In the last 4 years I scoured the internet to discover about the many different ways to home educate, found many an idea on Pinterest of activities to do and read books covering topics from parents own journeys to the famous John Holt's Learning All The Time.

Despite all this preparation, there was one thing I hadn't taken into consideration: Children learn and absorb what they have learned when they are ready to. Not when it is forced upon them. I believe that my children are free to make their own decisions. I can guide them and give them advice but it's up to them to take that leap of faith, to trust themselves enough to try new things.

That's the problem with the school system. It assumes that children have to reach certain milestones at a specific age, not taking into account that each child develops at their own pace. They are taught to copy and repeat and then tested on their ability to commit this drone style brainwashing to memory.

Both my girls went through the school system. They did fairly well until they reached 6th Grade / Year 7. They both were advanced readers before age 6 and my younger daughter excelled in most subjects. (Even after 6 months of lousy home education). But then I noticed something strange happen. All during their elementary years, they were constantly praised by teachers and me for being smart. They seemed to breeze through it and that was that.
Now unfortunately, this is a huge mistake I made. By constantly telling them they were smart and clever for doing well on the things they found easy, set them up for a fixed mindset. The problem with that is that as they were met with more difficult tasks, they suddenly started disliking school. They struggled with work and they gave up when it was hard. They developed a fixed mindset.
Not helped by my own struggles with perfectionism and my own fixed mindset.

I accept that and have opened my mind to learn new ways, adopt a growth mindset too. Not only to set an example to my kids but also for my own mental health. Having a fixed mindset creates unnecessary worry and anxiety. It eliminates the ability to problem solve. Not just with academia, but also in everyday life too. It holds us back and stops us from growing.

What I am learning from observing my children's learning journey.

I live in a place where my children are the only ones who don't attend the school. Although it's legal to educate children at home and this is a small island where everyone knows everything about each other I am often asked how my son and daughter are progressing. They ask what I've been doing to 'teach' them and I've even been subject to a home inspection.
When I say that I observe and encourage , I feel that they are judging me. I begin to question whether I'm doing the right thing by having them learn at home. I become filled with self doubt about my ability to guide them.
But then it's in moments like today that I am reminded that my children are on the right track and my fears are subdued.
Today my son took it upon himself to spend some time forming words, asking me how to spell the names of family members and writing his own creations, asking me to read them out loud after. We laughed and giggled until our stomachs hurt . It was joyous and formed a beautiful connection between us. He then proceeded to write out some basic addition. He was trying hard and enjoying every moment. He was interested and now that interest was turning into well formed letters and words.
Just like when he learned to ride his bike without training wheels or when he taught himself to swing without someone pushing him. I am reminded today that he can and he will learn to be literate and numerate, on his terms and in his own time when he feels confident to do so. These milestones just click into place when it feels right for him.

My children continue to teach me valuable lessons on how to trust and let go.

I'm so grateful for living this journey with them and am learning to embrace what the future holds for us, rather than worry about it.

I'd love to hear from other home educating / unschooling parents. Have you experienced self doubt on your journey? What do you do to ease those fears you have? Let me know in the comments below. I'd love to connect with other parents sharing similar journeys.

~ONE LOVE~

HolisticMoM.jpg


My_Post_1-1.jpg

The 8 Pillars Of @tribesteemup

Asapers.gif

Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I loved reading this. I completely agree; the contemporary school system is atrocious. They force kids into a terrible mold that destroys creativity and just creates someone who repeats lots but doesn’t comprehend much. (I know this it’s by design, need to have the serfs stay serfs)

Wow, what growth and development, and what a gift you are giving your children 😀💚☮

Thank you beautiful ❤❤

Beautiful article. What a gift you are giving your children. It takes courage to row against the stream. I don't have children yet, but this is exactly how I'd want my children to grow up. Ofcourse you will make mistakes. We are only human. And that's fine. But in the end your children will thank you for the loving parental support and for you doing what you think is in their best interest. Even if this is different from 'standard'.

Thank you for your words of encouragement. Children are certainly a blessing and yes making mistakes is part of being human. Being able to learn from our mistakes is a really important skill to have. ❤

As a teacher myself, can I just say that the best thing you can do is instil the idea that a challenge has it's own joy, and that we only learn and grow when things are tough, NOT when it comes easily. This is something I wish I'd known when I was growing up - I was always told I was clever, which meant I was upset and frustrated when I couldn't do things (to this day, it's something I feel - it's in my very body). It's far better to say "What a fantastic effort you made to learn that!" or "I really like how you struggled with that problem, and found a way forward" or "what did you learn from this mistake" are all kinds of phrases you can use to promote a growth mindset. I admire you for homeschooling and you are a very smart woman who doing an amazing job of raising those boys. I feel admiration for you all the time, especially as you stick to your guns because you KNOW what's right, despite what 'authorities' might say. xx

Yes I totally agree with you. Thats something I certainly do now. By reinforcing the effort definitely helps with the growth mindset.

I think that was the problem I had growing up too. The struggle is certainly real.

Thank you, you brought a tear to my eye with that last part of the comment ❤❤ big love to you xxx

You are doing amazing mama! So inspiring. I'm having difficulty with my 6.5yr old son. Where we live he has been taught in a Montessori school which is child led and he hasn't shown any interest in learning to read or write and in September he starts steiner and they also don't force a child to learn such things until they are ready. When I sit down with him to do workbooks he does a little but gets very frustrated when he goes wrong and things have to be perfect in his eyes. He says it's hard and I encourage him lots but don't want to make it a chore for him. I can tell he's ready but we are kind of stuck. Any tips would be amazing! Xx

Thank you for your lovely comment @startreat.
My 5 year old has done the same when I've tried to encourage him to read and write. For me, just letting go and waiting for him to show an interest is enough. Because when they do show that interest they will focus and remember through their own choosing. It also helps to let them see you reading and writing. I like to read out loud to my children. For T, it was seeing his sister write that encouraged him to do the same. I also leave a pen and paper lying around so if he wants to write he can do so of his own accord.
Also don't worry too much I know people who went to Steiner schools, one of them is a writer by profession now and the other an artist. Both doing well.
Hang in There, xx
Hope that helps xoxox

Thanks, I know I am worrying too much and need to just follow his lead. It's great to have some reassurance. I love reading out loud to him and he also listens to audio books too.

You're welcome and it's perfectly natural to worry. I do too, just don't allow that worry to distract you too much. Big love to you ❤❤

Worrying is in our blood as mums hey? But yes will def take a step back and try and let him do his thing when he's good and ready xx

wow..you are great, @holisticmom! I learn much from your experience in this writing. I am also a mom of two children. Sometimes I never know that I make mistake when I teach them, but the good thing is, when I realized that was wrong, soon I'll try to fix it.
It's nice to know you. I am @city29. I am following you now.

Thank you @city29. Yes being aware is the best way to grow. Thank you for the follow. ❤


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Thank you for your support of my post. Once I reach over 500sp, I'll certainly consider delegating some to support your cause. For now happily upvoted and resteemed the latest post from @steemiteducation to show my appreciation for you support. 😊


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

I find unschooling will always present challenges just like parenting presents challenges. I love unschooling my kids. My son resists being ‘taught’ anything! He will be shown, helped (occasionally), and partnered but not taught. I strew and answer his questions but the second he feels I’m going beyond what he’s asked for, he stops me. He is the master of his own learning. He is strong and capable and I trust him.
Thank you for your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71