You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Lesson From My Son

in #ecotrain6 years ago

You are doing amazing mama! So inspiring. I'm having difficulty with my 6.5yr old son. Where we live he has been taught in a Montessori school which is child led and he hasn't shown any interest in learning to read or write and in September he starts steiner and they also don't force a child to learn such things until they are ready. When I sit down with him to do workbooks he does a little but gets very frustrated when he goes wrong and things have to be perfect in his eyes. He says it's hard and I encourage him lots but don't want to make it a chore for him. I can tell he's ready but we are kind of stuck. Any tips would be amazing! Xx

Sort:  

Thank you for your lovely comment @startreat.
My 5 year old has done the same when I've tried to encourage him to read and write. For me, just letting go and waiting for him to show an interest is enough. Because when they do show that interest they will focus and remember through their own choosing. It also helps to let them see you reading and writing. I like to read out loud to my children. For T, it was seeing his sister write that encouraged him to do the same. I also leave a pen and paper lying around so if he wants to write he can do so of his own accord.
Also don't worry too much I know people who went to Steiner schools, one of them is a writer by profession now and the other an artist. Both doing well.
Hang in There, xx
Hope that helps xoxox

Thanks, I know I am worrying too much and need to just follow his lead. It's great to have some reassurance. I love reading out loud to him and he also listens to audio books too.

You're welcome and it's perfectly natural to worry. I do too, just don't allow that worry to distract you too much. Big love to you ❤❤

Worrying is in our blood as mums hey? But yes will def take a step back and try and let him do his thing when he's good and ready xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60930.84
ETH 2666.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44