You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Lesson From My Son

in #ecotrain6 years ago

As a teacher myself, can I just say that the best thing you can do is instil the idea that a challenge has it's own joy, and that we only learn and grow when things are tough, NOT when it comes easily. This is something I wish I'd known when I was growing up - I was always told I was clever, which meant I was upset and frustrated when I couldn't do things (to this day, it's something I feel - it's in my very body). It's far better to say "What a fantastic effort you made to learn that!" or "I really like how you struggled with that problem, and found a way forward" or "what did you learn from this mistake" are all kinds of phrases you can use to promote a growth mindset. I admire you for homeschooling and you are a very smart woman who doing an amazing job of raising those boys. I feel admiration for you all the time, especially as you stick to your guns because you KNOW what's right, despite what 'authorities' might say. xx

Sort:  

Yes I totally agree with you. Thats something I certainly do now. By reinforcing the effort definitely helps with the growth mindset.

I think that was the problem I had growing up too. The struggle is certainly real.

Thank you, you brought a tear to my eye with that last part of the comment ❤❤ big love to you xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66779.99
ETH 3503.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70