Week 9 Update | #ShopSmallLiveBig

in #economy6 years ago

The most productive financial decision I made this week was the one to pay my rent by all means necessary. This month the necessary means included selling my truck. I'm not upset about it because it hasn't moved since I bought it and I don't have the time or money to work on it. It's also nice to continue having a place to live.

[Image from pexels.com - CC0 Public Domain]

Other than that, I have been pretty financially stagnant. I have eaten local food and such but not much because I haven't had the money. I have had to be pretty frugal and that breeds culinary creativity. I wish I could accurately paint a picture for you of my supervisor's face as I was at work making ramen noodles. One packet of chicken ramen noodles, a packet of mustard, and a tablespoon of peanut butter will make a pretty decent meal. In other news, I also made pork fried rice featuring "real" bacon bits and frozen green beans.

I often find that this is the hardest time to shop local. When I'm hungry and I have $1.32 in my bank account, I can't get a $5 plate lunch at my favorite pub but I could get a dollar cheeseburger from McDonalds.

[Image from pexels.com - CC0 Public Domain]

Now that I am once again without a vehicle, I really want to try to take the time to save up my money and make the good, conscious decision to get a reliable vehicle. In coming days I will be doing much more traveling to a neighboring county several times a week and if you think getting to a grocery store is hard without a car, try getting someone to drive you 45min one way out of town. The ability to come and go as I please from anywhere that I choose to be at any given time is a rich privilege that I can't wait to have again.

I am getting pallets for the raised beds today.

Sort:  

Congratulations @perceivingalife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60248.53
ETH 3368.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51