You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Eclipse - For Real This Time

in #eclipse7 years ago

Wow! How did you get such great pictures? We were not far from you in McMinnville, TN and experience totality - just posted pics & videos of our experience. But I couldn't get such detailed photos like you - I was just using a camera phone.

Sort:  

Hey @fivepoints! Do share a link to your pics here so anyone can go check them out. I'd love to see them!

I wouldn't call these great considering some of the work done by real photographers. But for me, the trick was finding the right focal length for the filter.

We started out with one of the eclipse glasses frames taped to the phone. But the lens was working to hard at just focusing on the lens right in front of it. So that didn't work.

I think we figured out that holding the lens an inch or two away from the filter was working by accident. Probably my ten year olds doing. But once we figured that out, it was just a matter of dialing in the right focal length to get the best images.

Thanks for the kind words about my amateur photography. Haha I'll be looking for your post to check out!

Ha! I love that it was probably your kid who figured it out...they're so much better at tech 😏

Thanks and here's my post, I hope you like it!
https://steemit.com/life/@fivepoints/our-total-eclipse-experience-pictures-and-videos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59269.62
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41