A good shake up in New ZealandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #earthquake7 years ago (edited)

We have just had a 7.8 earthquake in New Zealand

That was a good shake up - longest one I’ve ever felt.

Earlier in the evening I’d been taking some photos of the unusual moon.

Here is a photo of the huge and extra bright moon over the neighbours roof that I took about half an hour before the earthquake struck:

I haven’t been following any possible connections between the moon and the earthquake, but some people are speculating that there is one.

It mostly wasn't as bad as in the news reports - no big Tsunamis, and no large buildings collapsed. Two deaths.

We hope everyone else in NZ is OK – that was all pretty scary!

Here is a short news story about it:

Here are a few local news links:

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/86416304/live-north-canterbury-quake

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11747414

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/nz-earthquake/86420416/earthquake-people-urged-to-stay-way-from-wellington-cbd-following-75-quake


@sift666 is my Steemit alias. As 666 is the number following 665 and preceding 667, and I’m using the number here on my Steemit account, it might mean I’m a worshipper of Satan. Or it might indicate that I have troll tendencies I need to work out with myself.

My real name is Ian Gregson, aka wheels007. I’m a professional sifter from Wellington New Zealand. My interests include photography, conspiracies , web design , writing, nutrition, art, design, philosophy, technology, anarchy, health, computers, humour (humor), gratuitous arse shots, and anything that makes my eyes bulge while I make squeaking sounds (except torture).

Back in the glory days of Steemit (August 2016), I once made $404 for a post and went on a three month bender. I’m still trying to work off the hangover and am attempting to understand how that ever happened.

I’m currently developing a new website portal to rival Steemit called www.frot.co.nz where I’m testing out a new feature called “frottage” that may revolutionise blogging and create a global paradigm shift.

Photos and pictures labeled @sift666, www.sift.co.nz or www.frot.co.nz are my own creations, while pictures with no credits are usually ones I found in my image collection and have no idea where they originally came from. Otherwise, due to pressure to conform, I’m having a crack at including an image credit beneath each picture I copy off the internet. I do have opinions on this subject, but am practicing putting a sock in it.

To tell the truth I often have no idea what I’m going to post next, but I will be sure to include pictures. If you are a person who prefers mainstream opinion, my posts may not be entirely your cup of tea. But if you like to dwell on the wild fringes of conspiracy theory , or you are a whale with a massive blowhole, you might like to follow me on Steemit. It would be great to have you on board.


Sort:  

Bro - that shake was worth more than $1 right?! LOL!

Another Kiwi! - I guess you noticed that shake too...

Your comment got me thinking...

To all the new Steemers us old timers must seem like we know stuff.

But yesterday everything changed and we are gobsmacked - my full strength voting power just jumped from 12 cents to $3.80, and the payouts on my posts have jumped from about $1 to about $20

Back when the earthquake happened $1 was pretty standard.

And until now I didn't know we could comment on posts older than 30 days - I guess that changed too!

Here is a post I did about Kiwis on Steemit back in the old days (3 weeks ago) -

https://steemit.com/steemit/@sift666/how-many-kiwis-are-here-on-steemit

Very scary. Stay safe everyone

I am so grateful for never having an earthquake experience!
Touch Wood!!

happy to hear you made it through. here is a bit on the prediction of earthquakes using the sun, the solar wind, magnetics, and the planetary and lunar alignments. the site is under construction, but the suspicious0bservers youtube channel does overview for quake watches when relevant. http://quakewatch.net/ is the new site and

https://www.youtube.com/user/Suspicious0bservers/videos
is the daily space weather with the links to sources and resources.

That is a pretty good shake! I am glad you are well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85