HOW MANY KIWIS ARE HERE ON STEEMIT?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

New Zealand is a small country with a reputation for being early adopters

new-zealand-high-definition4b.jpg

I’m curious to see how many other Kiwis there are on Steemit. Nine months ago @kiwideb asked a similar question, but she didn’t find very many. To be fair, nine months ago Steemit was like an obscure cult, and there wasn’t very many of anyone.

https://steemit.com/new-zealand/@kiwideb/are-there-kiwis-in-the-house

636x460design_01-610x441b.jpg

Now could be a better time to find all the Kiwi Steemers. We could be a new sub-cult on Steemit, and could share helpful information – like where is the best place to get deals on sheep drench.

2017-06-01_101609b.jpg

To get things rolling, here is a list of the Kiwis we have found so far (in order of when they first joined Steemit). Hopefully there are lots more we haven’t discovered yet.

Kiwi Steemers

Jun 16 - @business
Jul 16 - @cryptoiskey (Kiwi living in US)
Jul 16 - @senseiteekay ( Kiwi living in Australia)
Jul 16 - @biglipsmama
Jul 16 - @kaykunoichi
Jul 16 - @kiwi (not currently active)
Aug 16 - @goradyne (not currently active)
Aug 16 - @rainmnz (not currently active)
Aug 16 - @sift666
Aug 16 - @kiwideb
Aug 16 - @kiwiscanfly
Aug 16 - @benjamin.still
Aug 16 - @edges
Oct 16 - @trevor.george
Oct 16 - @skymaiden
Dec 16 - @bronnynz (not currently active)
Dec 16 - @blockchain-nz
Jan 17 - @len.george
Mar 17 - @betelzeus
Apr 17 - @thereceptionist
May 17 - @samuel-earp-art
May 17 - @nitromad
May 17 - @carlnz
May 17 - @youvegotquail
May 17 - @teepee
May 17 - @ecentrally
May 17 - @devi1714 (Kiwi living in Seoul)
May 17 - @forykw
May 17 - @fredpeissert (visitor at university in NZ)
May 17 - @zoelee
May 17 - @mazar (visitor on holiday in NZ posting photos)

If we missed you out, please mention yourself in the comments. Along with your name and a photo of yourself in your gumboots, it would be really useful if you could also include how many sheep you own, which beer you drink (Lion or DB), and which town your farm is in.

8544137.jpg

Some interesting stuff about New Zealand

The human population of NZ is 4.6 million (NZ is similar in land size to Japan or the UK)
Auckland-Cityb.jpg

NZ has more helicopters per capita than any other country

Flying_over_the_glaciers_1b.jpg

NZ is considered one of the more liberal nations in the world with same-sex marriage and prostitution being legal, the driving age is 16, the consensual age for sex is 16, and the drinking age is 18

1467358197421b.jpg

No place in NZ is more than 140 km (87 miles) from the sea. (NZ is quite long and narrow)

West-Coast-Beachb.jpg

NZ has won more Olympic gold medals, per capita, than any other country (rowing, athletics, and sailing are where Kiwis kick arse)

14430454b.jpg

Only 5% of NZ's population is human - the rest are animals

sea-lions-1600b.jpg

NZ has the highest density of sheep of any country

Flock-Sheepb.jpg

30% of NZ’s land area is National Parks (which have no sheep or people)

p-14437-nsilb.jpg

Pizza Hut doesn’t get its mozzarella cheese from Italy - it buys it all from Taranaki and uses NZ cheese globally

1456196260736b.jpg

NZ has the highest number of golf courses per capita in the world

course3b.jpg

Rugby player Wayne Shelford got his scrotum ripped open mid-game in a bad tackle. He was taken off the field with one testicle literally hanging out, got stitched up on the bench and continued the game. (Being staunch is a very desirable attribute in NZ)

1485479933035b.jpg

New Zealand has more Scottish pipe bands per capita than any other country in the world. (We have no idea why)

hero-43260b.jpg

The most popular car in NZ is a Toyota Corolla 2003 hatchback (20% of all cars in NZ are Toyota, 70% of NZ cars are silver, white, grey, or black because most Kiwis have a fear of colours, and the average NZ vehicle age is 14 years)

576435684b.jpg

NZ is home to more species of penguins than any other country

1200114FiordlandCrestedPenguin4b.jpg

What is a Kiwi?

Kiwi-bird-pageb.jpg

In NZ a Kiwi refers either to a New Zealander, or the bird. In NZ the fruit is never called a Kiwi – it is always called Kiwifruit.
There are two types of Kiwifruit, the original green ones, and the much nicer golden ones (Zespri) And no, we don't eat the skins!

ImageGen.ashx.jpg


MY MINIMALIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

For more info, see MY WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Sort:  

Kia ora kiwizzz !!!
I'm not kiwi but I spent one whole year in New Zealand and I reckon I been pretty much everywhere in Aotearoa. And I can easilly say that is one of the most beautiful country in the world !

I just started a series of photographic posts about NZ.
Go have a look on https://busy.org/@mazar
Follow to stay tuned if you like

New Zealand I love ya !!

Great photos

I already am following you!

Just saw this post. Great to see a list of fellow Kiwi's!!! will be following you all. There's also @silvernova he's just done a great post of going bush to his fav place. I'm at work so don't have my gummies. We got beefies not sheep (oh and they actually belong to the neighbor...was being cheeky) My sister has a farm if that counts? Anyway nice to see everyone on here, even my home town Tauranga!!

Yup just to let you know I am kiwi as well. It is great t see some of the other kiwi members listed here as well. Steem on fellow kiwis we may not be able to fly but we can sure as hell steemit with the best of them!

Nice to know everyone. Is there something like THIS already? I realised that we more than I though. Cheers

We are everywhere!

Bruce Brown – @kiwibruce 8000 sheep, DB, Southland

Another one here :) Late to the game but catching up @amexperts

And looking to go bigtime!

Here is hoping.

Congratulations @sift666! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @steemitboard! You have commented on this post and have been rewarded with another NZ image :

Well , I live here but wasn't born here , does that still count? :)

Definitely - I wasn't actually born in NZ either, but I have lived here all my life.

I think anyone who considers themself a Kiwi is one. I've added you to the list now so post some sheep pics :)

That's a pretty cool thought :) .... but as for sheep pics , hmm not sure I have any hahah , well maybe somewhere . But , I do have a story.

Right , so a while back now , I was helping my now late father-in-law at his farm. A couple of sheep went into the creek and wouldn't come out. So , I was trying to help him get these sheep out , and I don't know what the heck I'm doing , I grew up in the 'burbs man! Which at one point I had stated out of frustration , to which I got a reply of 'I'm gonna make a farmer out of you yet!' (or something similar :) )

So finally we actually get one out of the creek. The smaller one btw , and then it's starts running away , so he tells me to get after it to get it to go in the right direction back to the rest of the sheep. So .... what does it do???! .... Runs right back into the #$% creek!! .... Ya gotta be kidding me! ...

And what did I get from all of this .... So ... sheep ... ok so I don't really mind them I guess ... they're alright in the end. But ... and this is a big but ... If you don't have basic survival on the top or near the top of your priorities ... hmmm ... well I'm not so sure how well that works out.

(In the end we did get both the sheep out)

Sheep are not the sharpest tools in the shed!

Nice good info to know - following you :)

You really are into sheep aren't you? :)

Yep i love the little buggers - i wish i could save the million odd that die at work but they taste so good - NZ Lamb is world class

@sift666 Another one joined the crew. Still finding my way around and so far, I'm finding it fun. Add me to the list.

Will do - I was just checking out your dogs arse...

Where do you live?

@sift666 Strathmore. You?

Kilbirnie - we are the eastern suburbs Steemers then!

There will be another one soon. Got a friend who signed up yesterday. He is in Kilbirnie too.

Great - we are taking over!

Great article, you have a new follower!
Up and resteemed of course!

Cheers - I'll bet NZ is a bit different to Hungary!

Hi @kalemandra following you as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32