Earth Deeds Volume 5- Clean Yourself and Your Home Naturally

in #earthdeeds6 years ago (edited)

I have to give a say a huge thank you to @elamental for putting together this competition and for constantly reminding us that we need to be making a conscious effort to be of more service to the earth. To look at how we are living our lives and to make the necessary changes so that we are living in harmony with nature. Everything we need to survive, comes from nature and our number one priority needs to be protecting that which sustains us.

We all need to start taking responsibility for how we live our lives, we need to start reflecting on the choices that we make on a day to day basis. What can we do differently that would benefit the earth, benefit us all? How can we expect anything to change if we do not change, it starts with us, with you and I.

I have lived off grid for 9 years now, first in my bus and now in my truck, I have relied on solar energy and my energy bank has grown within that time, just as my life and needs have. This is something we could all do and yes it is a huge change but the benefits are enormous. But this is not the earth deed I wish to share with you today, today I want to talk about the small changes you can make within your life. I am a big believer in starting out small, but always aiming to achieve big.

IMG_1691.JPG

What do you use to clean yourself and your home. There are so many different cloths, sponges and brushes on the market today, all with their numerous selling points. All but one, at the end of the day all of these products have to be thrown away, but where do they go, into landfill and what exactly will they be adding to the soil?

IMG_1688.JPG

This is what I use to clean my dishes, my work tops and also myself. It is very efficent at keeping both me and my house clean. The cleaning products I use, well that is for another time. It is made from Esparto grass which grows all over the mountains that surround my housetruck. The grass is cut and left to dry and viola it is good to go. It is 100% natural and 100% biodegradable. It is just one example of how nature provides everything we need, in ways that we may not have thought of.

IMG_1690.JPG

Another example, is the mishak natural tooth brush. I have been using these for over 2 years now. The brush is actually a twig of the Salvadora persica tree. You need to chew the twig and then need to peel back the bark and underneath you will find that little bristles form, just like a brush. This one twig will last about 3 weeks and again anything that remains is 100% natural and biodegradable. As well as being a wonderful gift from nature, it also has many medicinal benefits.

Over the years, dental researchers and medical publications have studied the natural antibacterial properties found in the miswak, which is extracted from the roots and branches of a very particular tree called the Salvadora Persica, or Arak tree. Several of these studies reveal that when used correctly, the miswak can have a positive impact on your oral hygiene through:
• Plaque reduction
• Teeth whitening
• Fighting bad odor
• Killing bacteria
• Increasing salivation
• Helping with nicotine addiction
http://www.thisisatoothbrush.com/miswak/#miswak2

Remember every little step we make towards reducing our carbon footprint is a step in the right direction. I really encourage everyone to get involved in this great contest. @elamental will be running it most weeks, so make sure to keep an eye out on his blog for further contests.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Wow the information you give about Salvadora Persica is so intriguing. I am always looking for ways to improve my dental hygiene, and it seems you have found a way that is harmonious with the Earth - not to mention your biodegradable sponge! Great #EarthDeeds @TruckLife-Family!!

thank you @elamental, it is always great to be able to share knowledge especially when it is harmonious with the earth. xxx

I totally agree, much love sista.

I totally agree with you, I am not perfect but I am trying to always better my self and swap products out for another as i learn more, recycle as much as i can, buy second hand as much as i can etc. Every job i've had, generate SO MUCH WASTE, that could be recycled but they can't be bothered, or food waste being thrown in the regular waste instead of put out as food waste because it was cheaper to get rid of garbage that would get tipped into the earth than to have the food waste collected and utilised. It makes my heart ache :(

As long as we all do our bit that is what is important, every positive action you make is so beneficial for you and the planet and you are sending out little ripples of change, don't be disheartened, stay committed xxx

oh wow, I'd like to find this twig to make a toothbrush.... bamboo brushes are very popular now but the bristles in many cases are still plastic. I don't like the feel of synthetic tooth brushes.... so i'm going to look out for this!

they are easy to get around where I am, as they are very popular in North Africa as the tree comes from there, come visit and you can stock up xxx

aw yea i'd love to come.... i'm thinking more like in the spring time :) what your star sign btw?

Great information @trucklife-family! I wish those plants grew in our area. I'll have to do some research to see if there is an alternative that can do the job and I can harvest here. I had heard of the twig toothbrush being one of the most effective ways to clean your teeth so I though of using it but wasn't sure how to go about it. Now I know the method, I just have to find a tree in my area. Thanks for sharing!

there are a few different trees that you can use, I know you can use hazel and willow which I think you should find near you, they are great and the grass is amazing, it works so well. It really gives you a great scrub and is excellent for cleaning dishes, it's all I use xxx

Thanks for the info! We have lots of hazel and willow growing right close by our house so I'll have to give it a try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44