Battleborn D&D game - Vote on how payouts will be done!

in #dungeonsanddragons7 years ago (edited)

If you caught my last post on the subject,

you'll know that I'm prepping up to run a Dungeons & Dragons game via Steemit posts! I want to give away almost all of the liquid earnings for the posts, saving a small portion to commission original artwork for the game through the SteemGigs network.

One of the things I need to iron out for such a venture is how and when to divide that sweet, sweet loot..

images.jpg
Source

  • I could hand out rewards after each post pays out, giving everyone smaller payouts more often, and offering a more precise reward to participation.

  • I could give out rewards when a party clears a new room in the dungeon. Rewards for multiple posts would stack, giving players a bigger sense of accomplishment when they receive a payout for their hard work.

  • Rewards could be pooled together until the party completes the contract. A small portion of the rewards would be given to players as loot from battles and chests, but most of it would be considered the party's payment for completing the contract for the guild, and would be split when each dungeon is cleared.

I'll make a comment below for each option. Please vote and/or comment on your favorite, and help me decide when to pay the players!

100% of the liquid reward will go toward the game fund!

Sort:  

Rewards should be on a "per post" basis.
Rewards will be split equally among anyone who participates in a given post, each time a post pays out.

Rewards should be on a "per dungeon" basis.
Rewards will pool until the party completes an entire dungeon. Rewards will be split among everyone who particpates in said dungeon.

This seems the easiest and simulates how I usually give XP. Per floor or dungeon or mission we tally all the XP up and give it out instead of managing that each small encounter.

The experience I will divvy out after each encounter. I've always let players level up between battles so they can see and feel their progression a bit quicker.

The STEEM that gets generated, however, I'd hold until the party completed the dungeon, and the guild payed them out of the "contract price". That's how I'd roleplay it anyway 😉

not sure, but I think this one would probably be easier so you dont have to send as often.... but whatever you think is easiest I am cool with...

the best for multiple reasons. less work for you, bigger motivation to stick to the game, more logical way to do so from the persepctive of DnD, etc...:P

I kinda feel the same way. Though if it's on a per dungeon basis, I will probably build a scoring system so if a player drops out or dies, they are rewarded based on time spent playing.

This seems to be the best option for me as well - much like gaining the XP in between adventures. I've been thinking: any chance to upgrade me from benchwarmer to player? Feel like participating, it's just too good an opportunity to let it pass :) (although I'm still stuck in 2nd edition rules & mentality ;)

I haven't done an "official" sign up yet, so you're still in the clear. I've got everyone who has shown interest so far written down, and you will all get first dibs on joining in. Should be starting in a week or two. Gotta get a few more rules worked out, then do sign-ups, and get everything started.

The Official Rule Post is up. Be sure to read it if you wish to participate.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Rewards should be on a "per room" basis.
Money that is "found" (via post rewards) in a given room should be split among those who participate.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by thatsweeneyguy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

how can one join this venture

This game will take place on the new @battleborn account. Can't wait to get started!

The Official Rule Post is up. Be sure to read it if you wish to participate.

"official" sign ups will start soon, but I can add you to the list I've got going. You'd make the sixth I believe, so our first run of adventurers would be ready.

The next post I make about this will be a full explanation of how the game will be run, then I'll make a post for official sign ups. Those who have already shown interest will be given priority.

You rolled 3D20
Screenshot_2017-09-17-07-17-46.png
Modifier: +1

Result: 23

Oooh, what D&D campaign will you be running?

It will be a custom dungeon crawl. I don't want to use an official campaign, because it would be easy to look up reference material and spoil the fun. Also, a dungeon crawl brings a bit of simplicity and order that will make it easier to conduct in post form.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37