Urban Exploration - The Doll's House

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)



We are Urban Explorers, we are not vandals. We take nothing besides photographs and leave nothing but footprints.

It’s been a month since we did a full day Urbex, covering The Latvian Consulate and Camelot Theme Park with the final one being ‘The Doll’s House’.

The name I made up as previous reports have made it clear there’s some creepy looking dolls within the house. There is an accompanying video to watch with this one. I will try and do more of these in the future.

IMG_5840.jpg

The location of this venue is not so well documented and so it will remain off @steemitworldmap this time.

A previous report had mentioned some security equipment had been installed with loudspeaker warnings and if you watch the accompanying video you will see me voice some concerns about this.

It all turned out to be utter crap though, the installed equipment being covered in cobwebs and obviously inactive.

IMG_5841.jpg

Still, we decided to check out the grounds first in case ‘secca’ decided to take a visit. An old garage was the first thing we encountered, and it was crammed with old junk.

IMG_5844.jpg

IMG_5845.jpg

IMG_5852.jpg

Besides the usual junk found in garages we came across a 1988 diary, but it was disappointingly unused.

IMG_5857.jpg

IMG_5853.jpg

IMG_5854.jpg

Passing a horde of old tyres, we entered another building that was crammed with newspapers, catalogues and old books. Whoever lived here was a real hoarder. Some of the literature was from the 1970’s.

IMG_5869.jpg

IMG_5861.jpg

IMG_5873.jpg

The grounds for this detached property were enormous and next was a caravan that was under cover and in decent condition.

There was nothing inside of interest, but it was quite intact and could have made a home for several of the many homeless that roam our streets.

IMG_5875.jpg

We found a couple of old vehicles, the first being what I guessed to be an Austin Humber. I have vague memories of seeing these being driven in the UK when I was a boy. My memory holds up sometimes.

IMG_5877.jpg

I would think it had been left for many years and nature had intervened in a large way.

IMG_5879.jpg

The other car was a Vauxhall that I did not recognise. Maybe @stav could let me know as he is a car enthusiast?

IMG_5864.jpg

IMG_5883.jpg

We passed several more buildings, all full to the brim with junk including this smashed TV.

@mender1 had brought his girlfriend’s son along and at 12 years old has probably never seen a CRT TV. Its all educational I say!

IMG_5858.jpg

IMG_5885.jpg

Moving closer the house I was trying to edge my way forward just in case those cameras were in fact live and real.

IMG_5888.jpg

@mender1 noticed the cobwebs and apparent age of the gear allowing me to relax a little.

IMG_5889.jpg

I always try my best to avoid people, especially security when doing Urban Exploration.

The house looked sealed from the front, so I walked around the side which was very overgrown and tried to avoid the large weeds which seemed largely unimpressed with me trampling them down.

IMG_5886.jpg

I will not go into too much detail about access to the property, suffice to say we didn’t go in as it could have entailed some injuries to us. We are not young blokes anymore and not as skinny as we used to be.

Saying this, I’m writing this a month later after our visit, and kicking myself for not being such a pussy. Yes, I could have gained access and opened the door for the rest of us.

What I will say is the more of these I do, the more daring I seem to be getting. I just hope it all doesn’t end in tears.

IMG_5862.jpg

We left ‘The Doll’s House’ semi-satisfied. The grounds and junk had proven interesting, but the main course was still not devoured. I could say, ‘we might go back and try again’, but as its some distance to travel, that will be unlikely.


All photographs were taken by myself.


g9pv4ubd1t.png



Other articles in the ‘Urban Exploration’ series:

Camelot Theme Park // Albion Street Day Nursery
Allsprings House // The Latvian Consolute
Rose Bank Mill // Horncliffe Mansion Part One: The Car Graveyard
Horncliffe Mansion Part Two: The Mansion // Stand Athletic Football Club
A Trilogy of Failures II // Brodock Ltd, The Old Paper Mill (Failed)
Workhouse Farm // Hellifield Abandoned Train
Extwistle Hall // Huncoat Power Station (Demolished)
A Trilogy of Failures // Holdings Country Pottery

References:
https://www.theurbanexplorer.co.uk/
https://www.28dayslater.co.uk/
https://www.whateversleft.co.uk/
https://www.britainsdecays.com/
http://www.urbanxphotography.co.uk/urbex-faqs


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I love this kind of stuff. A professional maniac indeed!

I love this kind of stuff. A professional maniac indeed!

I only wish others were doing these. I must indeed be insane at my age to be climbing on walls, up buildings, over fences just to get some photography shots that many people never see.

I tell you though, it gets your pulse racing and makes you feel younger than you have any right to be.

One recent one I did, I met some crack freaks in a warehouse shooting up. They thought I was the law.. and shit themselves haha... but that story will be told soon in another post.

Certainly abandoned for a while I would say. Kind of creepy, how do you find these places? This house definitely has good bones and the architecture has character. I would think someone would want to gut it and turn it into a wonderful home. Such a waste.

Findng them can be challenging sometimes. I get a lot of info from 28dayslater.co.uk but the people on there dont exactly give you directions. You need to track them down.

I love these urbex posts of yours a shame to see places run down like this but makes for such interesting photos

Thanks @tattoodjay, there are more to come, I did a big session last weeked in a city so these are a little different.

Cool, I see some abandoned buildings on the train every day in Bridgeport that I would love to explore, but they are watched closely, POlice turned up within minutes the one time I tried getting in to see them

Ah, they dont give a crap here. If it derelict then it's simply civil trespass. They worst the cops will do is just tell you to leave but they are mostly disinterested.

for some reason they are very serious about access tor this place, makes me wonder why, what the heck was oin there

Very interesting! I would have sent the kid, he could have gotten through the window right? :) I am just kidding. It is usually better to be safe than sorry. Chance are you would have just found more of the similar mess that you found in the garage(s). Very nice post!

He might have got through but who's inside? I met some 'interesting' people yesterday on yet another Urbex trip. You never know what your going to get!

Did you get the impression that people might have been in there? Just curious. See, this is why you need a drone. Fly it in through the window and scope things out...

There had been people in there, and they may have locked the door to stop others gaining access when they left. I always play it safe..

Now that place is a garbage dump. Still, pretty interesting to see all of the stuff. I really love all the photos you display.

Don't you wonder how it became such a trash heap? Great photos!

LOL, this one was particularly messy, Hoarders not doubt. Bad for the team who need to eventually clear it out.

I can't imagine! A front end loader and a dump truck?

I love the moss growing on the car. I really like the look of the house. Almost seems like someone could make a go of it, if the price was very low...although God knows what the inside might be like. Is it for sale?

I do agree I think safe is still the best policy!

It didn't appear to be for sale and was boarded up securely, at last on the front sides. I should have gone in, my daring is increasing on every trip.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

By the lack of graf I guess it's out in the sticks somewhere.

That'd make a great renno project by the looks of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll never tell where it is ;).. though some rudimentary searching on the Urbex sites combined with using maps will reveal where it is. Part of the fun is finding these places.

I do love the way that nature reclaims cars. It's like they sink into the ground. A 1988 diary too! If only it had this us how our ancestors lived!! ;0)

Yes, they do sink.. and the engines rot before anything else.

Which I find quite bizarre too

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 404 (02/18/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76