2019 - Goals - And Stuff

in #dtube5 years ago

Twas a cold and blustery day, this first day of 2019. The ground was blanketed with a few inches of fresh snow, so pristine and bright. And as I stood at the window with my morning cup of coffee looking out, my first thoughts were "Damn! Now I have to go shovel this . . . stuff!". :O

Yes, the New Year is off and running! Gone are the trials and tribulations of 2018, leaving only the year-end inventory, tax requirements, and other associated aspects of being in business lingering on! Not an altogether 'bad' thing, at least I am still in business this year!

As I was lounging about mulling over what 2019 might bring, and procrastinating profusely about shoveling the snow, @jongolson reminded me that today was Tuesday. What is so special about that, you may ask? Today is when we do our weekly Noob Cryptocast for SteemSavvy!

https://steemit.com/dtube/@jongolson/zwqq26pz

So I jumped up, shoveled the walkway, hit the shower, and rushed over to the office for the broadcast!

Ok, ok . . . so maybe I didn't 'exactly' jump up with exuberance and enthusiasm over the manning the shovel, but I did get all that done!

I do look forward to our weekly discussions though. Once in a while we actually have a plan for what we are doing, but generally, we make it up as we go. And today was no exception!

I have to add that Jon did show up with a list of things to discuss. And, as usual, we totally ignored them for the opening! LOL

His list was about setting goals. No, not the infamous New Years Resolutions we all make to break, but actual, sustainable, goals to achieve over 2019. Something I was thinking about but hadn't nailed down yet.

Well, this left me in somewhat of a quandary as (if you watch the video) I agreed to post MY STEEM goals here, on Steemit, TODAY! Holy guano, Batman - yeah, no pressure there bro!

Well . . . my mouth overloaded my procrastinating posterior this time, for sure! BUT, I did it! You can find them, as promised, in the comment section of today's post about the Cryptocast. However, just to make sure I am 'held accountable' (part of the deal, you know) here they are:


  1. Post more (considering my prior record, this should be simple!).
  2. Increase my SP to allow higher voting power for authors/commenters that I interact with (which I did prior to coming here to allow for it to take effect).
  3. Find new people and encourage them to utilize STEEM more.

Maybe not revolutionary, but a starting point upon which to build. (and with this post, it has started!)

I want to encourage EVERYONE to take a few minutes and set up your own goals for this year. It isn't rocket surgery, just keep it simple. You may be amazed at where you find yourself going once you begin to follow up - daily - on them.

Let me know what your goals are in the comments below as well as thoughts about 'where' 2019 may lead.

And, just to be REALLY different today, I'm NOT writing 2000 words about all this! It may NEVER happen again so call it my New Years Present to you! :)

My sincere thanks for you taking the time to interact here today!

Rich Taylor

Sort:  

Dang Richard here I went and made tea and a sub expected a 4000 word post. Got one sip of tea and one bite of sub and your done.

You are going to have to work on that. 😇

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh trust me, this is the exception, not the rule, on length! Suprised myself even.

That was funny, Eric.

perfect :)

now it’s official official!!!! lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Umm . . . sure? LOL Of course, NOW I have to keep doing it!

Good one... and like you I set myself some really simple goals - ones I know I will hit... I may push myself further as the year unfolds but hey... it's a start and just as you said something to build on. Wishing you Huge Success in 2019.

My goals

  1. Use this platform more than I did last year.
  2. Learn something new every day.
  3. Inspire or help at least one person every day.

qualityupvotedshared620x125.png

Yep, good stuff @paulnulty! Start simple, and build. Try and do too much and you can easily get overwhelmed.

2019 will be a good year for everyone!

You have a way of writing, Rich. That was awesome to read!

Congratulations @richardtaylor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @richardtaylor! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97