Start the New Year Strong and Join me for Red January | Exercise Every Day this Month in Support of Mental Health

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Happy New Year everyone!!!!

Hope you're feeling great on this first day of the year, and hope you managed to do your reflections and gratitude for 2018!

Know that 2019 can be as great as you want it to be :)


I wanted to tell you about this challenge I found out about last night.

RED January awesome name ;)

https://redtogether.co.uk/


The name caught my eye, but I loved it more when I read what it was about!

A challenge to exercise every day this month, in support of Mental Health!

I signed up straight away! I also shared it on Facebook and got my awesome friend @teodora to join in! She's even done a post already, how awesome is that?!

I logged onto Steemit earlier this morning and caught @camuel's honest vlog about his mental health, and so recommended that he join us too! Because it always helps to know someone's doing it with you :)

Then I thought, why not extend it to more of you? Maybe some of you really need this or need someone to do something like this with?

Well join me, and let me be your Red Buddy! I'm going to start a tag called #redjanuary, use it so I can check posts in the tag and follow you on your progress.

I myself plan on doing weekly updates on this, to hold myself accountable and make sure I'm motivating myself to exercise ;)

If it could help, I'll also happily keep in touch with you on a regular basis to see how you're doing, cheer you on, or even just send you funny memes to cheer you up.

Do let me know by commenting or message me privately on Discord if you prefer!

If there are a few of you who want this, maybe we can start a group chat going, we'll see!!


Let's start the year with positive energies, healthy habits and the knowing that we are in control!

Thanks for watching! Happy 2019!

Lots of Love from Red


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Let's go wild this month and exercise every day. My plan is variation, otherwise I will not be able to do it. So first day was all about running along beach side, tomorrow it will be rope jumping. I intend to have fun all along :))

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely! I'll need the variation to keep it exciting and keep myself motivating.. Most of the time, I just pick an exercise video on YouTube to follow at home with the girls. But I definitely want to do some running again :)

Next time we meet up, we should go climbing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy New Year @redrica

Happy New Year to you too :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I saw someone with a red Jan T shirt at this ams park run as was wondering what it was all about.

That vlog by camuel was excellent... very honest. The more people are honest about being miserable sometimes the better if you ask me... it's just part of the humam condition.

I think getting into Buddhism as a teenager has helped me avoid mental health problems.. it gives you a different take on yer psychological make up.

The mind's a tricky, fickle thing that needs a tight leash IMO. The problem is it takes constant effort.

Of course our stupid society with its unrealistic demands doesn't help either, thankfully sociology's helped me see just how ludicrous so many of our social norms are... again this helps keep your mind healthy!

I'll join in, I already excercise everyday anyway, big believer in physicality!

Happy New Year.

Posted using Partiko Android

I totally agree, the more we talk honestly about mental health, the more we can really get to the root of the cause.

It's amazing you got into Buddhism as a teen, meditation/mindfulness is such a powerful tool, that can be so helpful with understanding yourself and your thoughts, and overcoming mental health issues. It's what's helped me most personally.

I really hope to see more families and schools incorporate meditation/mindfulness sessions with their children/students. As you said, there are enough unrealistic demands in our society, so why not finally give us and especially the younger generation, tools that could help us navigate life in a healthier and more mindful way. It can only lead to the greater good of society.

Glad to hear you're joining in, feel free to post in #redjanuary to give it more exposure, maybe others will be inspired to join us too! Happy New Year :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I have the doll to thank for finding Buddhism... two years unemployed between A levels and uni... very educational!

I'm sort of back there again now but with wealth this time!

Having seen it in schools I am very concerned about 'mindfulness', which is stripped of all its deeper philosophy.

Having an education system which induces stress and then patching it up with mindfulness lessons is painful to watch.

There is one group who definitely benefits... the pyschs who manipulate their way into designing the mindfulness programmes... they're really on the gravy train, it's a trend that's going nowhere!

I have a real problem with amateurs teaching mindfulness. It's like Gandhi not giving up sugar before advising that woman to stop giving her son sugar (I'm sure you know the story).

So mindfulness is excellent, but I have real concerns over the way it's being rolled out/ watered down.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are very well spoken, how have I not seen a dtube video from you yet. Very important message. Mental health seems like an accelerating issue in today's medicated society. Subscribed. My branding has red, so I'm with it. Happy new year.

Haha every now and then, I do sound pretty coherent, so I'll take that compliment ;)

I'm glad to see lots more people opening up and talking about mental health nowadays. The more we do, the more we can tackle the issues together. Awesome to hear you're for it too, Red is good ;) Happy New Year to you!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a very healthy
Challenge ! I need to take part and do a bit of workout everyday!

Posted using Partiko iOS

A challenge that's good for the mind, body and soul! Definitely join us, and post about it too if you want to :)

Posted using Partiko Android

That sounds like a great cause. I am not sure what I am doing for this year, but fitness is definitely going to be a part of it, and why not raise awareness for a great cause at the same time?

That's exactly what I think about it, it's a win win situation :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Those are the best situations. Win win for everyone.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey happy new year! I know I'm going to fail miserably so will pass. Good luck!!!

Happy New Year lovely! Consistency has always been the hardest part for me, so having friends do it with me will hopefully help me here! No worries if you can't join us this time, just have it in mind to get active when you can :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy new year let's go!

Happy New Year! Let's start it strong :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @redrica!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.877 which ranks you at #1232 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1234).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 235 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @redrica! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49