You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Childhood Days in the Home Counties of England, 1964-65 (part 2)

in #dtube7 years ago

Nothing stopped us back then from having a good time. Who needs a helmet? I see a lot of things that would not be acceptable in today's society. These videos are a perfect reflection of those particular times.

Sort:  

It has more than once occurred to me that kids from now can look at those and be horrified and amazed that any of us survived - not only did some cars not have seatbelts but kids would argue about who got to sit in the front(suicide) seat! I once asked my grandmother about something they used to do back in her day and she replied "That's just the way it was then." It was something that was so foreign that we just couldn't conceive of the logic of doing it that way.

It's a little crazy how differing education of 1 or 2 generations can so completely change the details of how we live that it changes the normal into the wildly insane.

That reminded me of my dad's old works van.

It had two seats at the front for my mum and dad, and then us three children were just rolling around in the back - there were no seats or seatbelts. Just a few old sacks if we were lucky!

I vividly remember having my folks in the front of the stationwagon, my grandparents in the back seat with a couple kids and the rest of us having to ride in the back. We never would have fit if we had to wear seatbelts.

We lived through those days ... and we survived !

We not only survived...we thrived!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49