What's in a Name? // Here is the Meaning of my Username... What's Yours?

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

74034A12-F86E-44E4-AAA9-B7B4376DDBF7.jpeg

Hello Friends!

Lately I have been getting a lot of inquiries about my username and what it means… so I thought I’d share that with you! Ps… My name is not Cate (common misconception).

I would also LOVE to hear the story of your username! Did you decide to use your real name, or come up with something different? There are many schools of thought on choosing a username, but there are clear trends.

Trend #1

Some people use their real name. For example - @wadepatterson, @paolajane, @steemmatt, and @brian.rrr.

Trend # 2

Some people include a description of what their blog is about! For example - @allasyummyfood, @surfermarly, @polebird, @melbookermusic, and @goldmatters. (This seems to be the most popular trend because SO many examples came to mind!)

Trend # 3

Finally, some come up with interesting words or phrases that are significant to them in some way. I went this route because I didn’t want to use option number one, and I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to blog about when I signed up. Some examples of others using this method would be - @firepower, @luczypher, and @raised2b.

Does Picking a Good Username Really Matter?

Yes and no.

Producing good content and engaging with the community in a meaningful way has WAY more to do with your success on the platform. That being said, picking something that is easy to read, easy to say, and memorable in some way can help you out.

If your username is super long and hard to understand, people are less likely to remember it or take the time to type it out and tag you in things. Long usernames are okay if they are clear words strung together to form a phrase, but if it is a bunch of letters and numbers jumbled together – no one is going to know how to say it and thus will have a hard time remembering it.

What Does Coruscate Mean?

Coruscate is honestly just a word that I really like! It means, “To reflect brilliantly, to sparkle”. I think this really encapsulates me and the energy I try to bring into the world. We will save the “Building your brand” conversation for another day…but I hope you guys can feel that energy through my posts here.

Did I do a good job picking my username? Yes and no. I did a good job because I really like it (most important factor), and because it is pretty short and easy to say. The only problem, is that no one knows what that word means! Well, maybe a few of you will now after reading this post. It has also created some confusion over what my real name is, and so from a branding perspective – I made it a bit too vague. Like I said above though, I think your reputation on the platform is determined by your content and engagement – having a good user name is just icing on the cake!

So what is my real name? Lea :) ps… I disclose a fun fact about my name in the Dtube video!

B8FCA9D3-CF8D-47D2-9116-1C2C737157C8.jpeg

Respecting Anonymity

Some people prefer to stay anonymous, which is why they chose a username that does not disclose their personal information. I am totally fine either being called Lea or Coruscate – but not everyone feels the same way. As you get to know people better on the platform and you learn their names, maybe check with them to see their preference. Please be respectful if they would prefer to not have that information posted publicly.

What About You?

I hope you guys enjoyed learning a bit more about me and my username. Now it’s YOUR turn to share! How did you come up with your username? Now that you’ve been using it for a while… do you still like it?

Xo, Lea



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great post! I went with trend #2 :)

Voted and followed. Check out my page if you get a chance, would love the support back!

Great to meet you!! I see we both have a love of wine and travel, so of course we should be friends! Hehe

Love it! And, I learned a new word!! Had no idea what it meant.

My husband and I are using our real names, sort of. My name is Amy Honey, his is Jamie Honey, and most of our friends (and even parents), just call us The Honeys. ;)

I found you through the steem conference that is coming up in Vegas. I am also one of the speakers! Can't wait to meet you in person!!!

That’s so fun! What a great last name!

How cool that we will get to meet in Vegas!!! This is going to be so fun.

My username is telling people where I'm from.
Tim Dutch means I'm a Dutch guy who's name is Tim :)

And yeah engagement. Probably I still need to learn a lot about Steemit and how it all works.

That’s awesome! I totally noticed that when I was watched your vlog the other day. Pretty brilliant username!

I am not Dutch at all, but I went to high school in a predominantly Dutch town! I actually dated a guy for a few years that was 100% Dutch. I still make boerenkool from time to time! haha

That is a great word... I need to incorporate it into my vocabulary.

My username factism is a nickname i have been given and using right from high school. It expresses my personality of always gigging up and giving out facts about things that are unknown.

Do you mean lea is your real name?

Oh that’s awesome! I bet you are a great person to bring to trivia night. 😉. Yes, my name is Lea.

Definitely, i wont mind. Thank you for the compliment. Lea is a beautiful name, i have a neighbor of the same name, no wonder she's beautiful like you.

Wow your username has a beautiful meaning. Mine is just my name (Valerie), only spelled differently. I have been using this username for almost any accounts so I definitely love my username ☺️

Oh that’s cool! Fun that you took your name and switched it up a little. For some reason vaelriey looks a little more badass.😉

My name is Samson,if u spell it backwards it's nosmas,very easy username

Oh that’s brilliant!! I never thought of doing something like that!

my name is quite different, hope it will get the meaning out of it, fingers crossed 🤞

You might have to help me out here. 😜

my username is what my name is, @muhasib 😊

mine's a username i've used for almost everything since about 1996 or so...except in places like IG where it was already taken!


Recent posts:
Evanna’s Story, Part 1

Evanna’s Story, Part 2

Why I've Committed to Steemit...

Upcoming New Podcast: Go Rogue!

Actually name is not real factor to earn popularity. To be success in life you have to remain great quality. All will know you seeing Your quality. So I think name doesn't matter. My knicknane is tasmi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85