YouTubers Rapidly Making the Move to Dtube!?

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Are YouTube's Days Really Numbered?

Over the last 24 hours we've seen numerous complaints from small (and big) YouTube content creators who are upset with the newest updates to the YouTube Partnership Program (YPP). The newest TOS requires a channel to have 4,000 hours of watchtime within the past 12 months and 1,000 subscribers in order to be eligible for monetization. Meanwhile on dtube, content creators are allowed to earn revenue from their videos from day one without meeting any requirements at all. This has forced content creators to make a big decision: Stay with YouTube or join the dtube movement?


If you're interested in tutorials and how-tos, I encourage you to follow my channel and leave me replies of things you would like to learn about. If I don't know the answer, we'll learn together! :)


- Daily Comment Reward -

  1. Upvote this post
  2. Leave a unique comment (not just a "great video!" or "follow me")
  3. And you could win $20 USD worth of SBD!

That's it! It's also a great idea to go ahead and follow my channel so that you don't miss any upcoming posts. You can do that here: https://steemit.com/@brandonfrye

contest-winner.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Dtube.jpg

Dude!! @grantcardone (the man!) Can't believe you dropped by my channel! I knew you were on Steemit and Dtube already but to see you this active is very cool. Love your stuff man! Keep inspiring entrepreneurs worldwide and doing your thing. Appreciate the love. :)

💪🏼🙌🏼💯

I really like the idea of Dtube and I really hope that more creatures start to use the platform. I could still be a while until more non cryptocurrency related creators make the transition.

Yeah, that's true. I think this recent TOS change my speed things along.

It's changing a lot these days. Love it (:

I was also thinking about finally putting a YouTube content strategy in place but these moves really make me think twice. Maybe the best bet would be to make content native for dtube and use YouTube as a secondary portal (with no expectation of revenue). Thanks for the great video once again Brandon 🤙🏼

That's really a good plan. I remember when I first started that Vlog Channel on YouTube. I had to work up to a certain amount of views and subs before I got approved. And now they're upping those numbers... so there's nothing to say they can't do it again. So I would recommend using your YT channel for more exposure and (like you said) not expecting a direct revenue source from it.

I've been thinking about starting up a YouTube channel that's specific for my website, but the new TOS really are making me reconsider that. I'm imagining that YouTube's reason is that they want to discourage spam, but they really are killing the Golden Goose here. All the better for DTube and decentralized media.

Yeah, not sure why they keeping driving nails in the coffin (so to speak) but I don't believe they're doing themselves any favors.

Yes, just wonder if YT will rethink this because many future YTers will not even attempt at making any videos because of these recent strict changes. This could impact them terribly, no ?? I think so

Yup, I think it will happen in droves with this new update to the TOS. I've seen creators all day totally in flames about it (and I would be too)! I hope that if there is a mass exodus of some sort over here to Steemit and Dtube that there isn't a mindless replication of channels at first. I'd love to see original, Steemit-exclusive content (note: not necessarily "Steemit-related").

Agreed. My DTube content is pretty Steemit-related right now, but once I figure out how to speed up the upload time (maybe it's a compression issue?), I'll be able to expand to other content as well.

I agree completely and I believe that's what we'll see happen with this new movement of content creators coming into the platform. They'll not only bring more original and creative content but also their following which are more interested in a variety of topics. And I look forward to it! :)

yes i am a youtuber and now i am move all my videos to DTube

I really don't believe that big Youtubers will join and use Dtube. While the monetisation it is just a 7 days limit I don't think that exchange will happen soon... not with the mainstream popular Youtubers that live from all the "free" advertisement they get from their following all over the social networks.

I can agree with that. At least I don't think that they'll only use dtube for their content. At least not for now as many of these guys are still making a killing on YouTube, even with a few of their videos getting demonitized. But I have noticed some big channels joining dtube as a secondary stream of revenue such as @grantcardone, Altcoin Buzz, @boxmining, and many others. And if YouTube's problems persist (or get worse) they might just rely solely on dtube. But you're right, for now it doesn't make sense for them to completely move to dtube.

Im actually one of the youtubers who is testing the system. I have a gaming channel and i have started reuploading some of my videos here but i don't really think my channel will take off since my content is in Bulgarian. Still i like the idea that when some one asks me "Do you get paid for likes" i will be able to say YES.

The only issue I have is there is no hd upload option.

I can get round it by watching videos by changing the setting from 480p to Source.

However sometimes when you do that, there is really bad buffering and sometimes the videos will take up to a minute to load and sometimes an error gets thrown up and won't play at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13