Old mate 8 foot lache

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


I just could not get this lache during the Parcours class... I was exhausted in the first 15 minutes of the class, and the remaining 45 minutes was just pure grind. I'd love to get to a point where I can do an 8 foot lache when I'm wreaked... but I'm not there just yet.

As soon as the class was finished and we were all mucking around, I got it first try.
The secret with these guys is to get the distance, you have to get the height. Once I got in my head that I had to get the destination bar to about chest-height it was way easier.

I have 6 foot lache bars in my home ninja gym and I made it so it was adjustable... and now I think it's time to move them to 8 feet so I can get practicing on the regular.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Any reason why you were able to complete it at the end of the class? Other than the fatigue?
Probably you were a lot mentally relaxed then after the mucking around, and not as uptight as you would have been earlier..

I think there might be 3 reasons honestly...

1.) Not only are you totally fatigued during the class, but the big moves require that extra something special energy-wise... and I just didn't have enough in the tank to rally each time.

2.) If you catch the bars incorrectly (arms extended instead of that t-rex position) it absolutely rips your arms out of their shoulder sockets... so while I wasn't scared of the move per se, I was scared of injuring myself and ruining the rest of the class.

3.) The guy taking the video is super supportive and basically stood by my side with advice and encouragement... this is hugely motivating... no one is watching you in the class because everyone else is in their own world of pain, but when someone is watching, then you feel like you have to totally step up.

You're totally right... I had attempted this after our ab workout and warm-down exercises, so I was totally ready to completely throw myself into getting one move right.

you know what.. it looked like a cakewalk in that video. You made it look really easy.. (easy for you i mean).

Haha, thanks!

It is amazing how the right technique and headspace makes it all flow so easily.

Extremely triggering andrenalin.

Haha, that's what I'm here for man!

Nice work dude! Lache training has to be one of the best for Ninja!

It really, really, really, really, really is!
It's amazing how many people attempt the show without basic lache skillage. I mean, it's actually fair enough, what other sport are you doing laches? However, if I was going on TV I'd try and learn everything I need to try and avoid that water.

Haha I know, it never ceases to amaze me how many people get on the show and are still totally unprepared! Basic grip strength and lace skills are basic stuff!

I've had a few people ask me on social media how to best prepare for the course... then I'll give them some ideas... like, I'll spend ages on it... and then they'll reply with "nah, I want to see how well I go with no training". Kills me.

omg that was totally awesome! monkey style!!! :P ah so that totally makes sense you need the momentum that the added height gives in order to make it just a little bit further. Do you often film your practice? I know pole is different, but it upped my game by a lot when I started filming and playing back, because then you can see what you actually did rather than what you thought you did or little corrections that could be made.

I honestly don't.
But.... I really, really need to get into the habit. It's tricky because you're moving around the room so much, and other people are running all over the place so you have to constantly set up your filming stuff and make sure it's not in anyone's way.... or grab someone to film you, which most people are really happy to do, but it takes them away from their own training.

As I get more adventurous in the home-gym I'll film more and more. I used to do 9 foot laches without too much drama, but fell out of the practice... so having someone tell me what I was doing wrong really helped get my mental game back, which is exactly the same experience of playing back on video. It makes such a huge difference. I've bought a little snake tripod thing that I can wrap around other obstacles to film... so expect more monkey!!

ahhhh yeah since you are moving around the course! hehe yah your home gym looked awesome, I'm definitely looking forward to more monkey business!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57027.00
ETH 2353.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38