Morning Light (Album version) and "Thank you" post as winner of OPEN MIC WEEK 78

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


This is the "album version" of my original song "Morning light". It is a song I wrote in my childhood, suffering sleep paralysis, I spent nights trying to keep my fear at bay, waiting for the light of dawn to come. The song is very old but it has been re-recorded several times. This is the version that was included in my second illustrated music album The Underliving in 2011. A live recording of **it has won STEEMIT OPEN MIC week 78**, but this recording features more instruments and harmonies. © Priscilla Hernandez. The cover was also drawn by myself.

► Listen on DSound

This version of the song is included in my second album The Underliving featuring also my drawings.

the_underliving_-__digipack_3.jpg

My first Dsound entry

This is the "album version" of my original song "Morning light". I shared some days ago an unedited live version to enter the Open Mic contest but this is the recording that released in my album . You will find the Lyrics and background info in my open mic entry. This is a Thank you post! :) and I also take the chance to try Dsound for the first time! This version is also very simple but feature some harmonies and other instruments and is slightly different than the one I entered to the contest (though scrolling down you have also the video of the live unedited version)

A pleasant surprise: Winning OPEN MIC week 78

And I woke up today to a lovely and pleasant surprise... My song "Morning Light" has been chosen as the Open Mic week 78 Winner! This is a contest that brings all the musicians community together so I felt encouraged and "welcome". I chose an old melancholic childhood lullaby of mine and initially I thought It might have been not a wise choice. It had not much feedback at the beginning and I want to say thanks to the fellow steemian friends who wrapped me on those first moments. It was yesterday when I realized it was getting mentions on the judges top picks and actually was standing for a chance, though I was still unsure about how the winner is elected and I went to bed happy of the lovely feedback.
I have only been around on Steemit for two months and this was my first entry... so you can imagine how encouraging and thrilling it's been to find out this morning. I first heard on discord through some friends, and I had not a strong internet signal to hurry and check it... but then back home I connected and found this:


Here you can see the list of the 78 WEEK OPEN MIC WINNERS. Congratulations to all the winners and also all contestants.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-78-winners-see-who-won-open-mic-and-join-us-this-week

This is a "Thank you Post" so thanks to:

First of all thanks everyone and to all the Open Mic team in open mic for the opportunity. To @luzcypher and @pfunk for making the contest possible.
Also thanks to all the judges for providing feedback. To @meno @krystle @verbal-d and @soundlegion for picking me in their selection and the feedback, and to @passion-ground for keeping me in the "on the radar shout out". I am fairly new on steem and since I joined the contest has helped me to connect with fellow musicians, :) I had intended to join before but I guess I struggle with the "record" button :). But the beauty of the contest is precisely that these are "one takes", a real live performance captured on digital media. Watching other's I understood the spirit of the contest was precisely that "closeness".

Thanks also to @meno (for the encouragement and the feature on his songwriter talk show with @krystle) and to my @helpie family, mostly fellow musicians and artists that have encouraged me all the way and have not let me leave whenever I doubted ;-) And also to some followers that have been encouraging me since day 1. All of you know who you are: :)

Thanks to long time friend Serena @paintingangels who was actually the first person commenting on my entry. Always supportive and kind. She said You are an angel in a sea of devils, slowly casting your light out into the hollows. That's always what your music conveys to me. So poetic and beautiful, thanks for your lovely feedback (and the cookies).

Thanks also to @Isaria and Minnow Support for the times she's also encouraged me by featuring my work as newcomer on Steemit.

And overall thanks to my partner @hedac who is not only the one who kidnapped me into Steemit but also the person who is helping me to do my dlive concerts and also assisted me so I could record this video. He has helped me to set up the studio also in a way it's easier for me to record this kind of performances now on.

Below attached again my video entry for OPEN MIC (unedited acoustic cover)


If you like it you can still drop your feedback in the original post

The most beautiful compliment, when you inspire other artists

I also want to make a special mention to fellow artist @soulturtle envisioning by song as a protective bubble, a glimmer of hope amidst the terrors.
He was one of the first person stopping by my original post entry to share his feedback and shared he also has suffered sleep paralysis and night horrors as a child. Also @verbal-d joined in the conversation about sleep paralysis, and you realize many people have undergone this and understand the undertones of it. It is quite inspiring and also relieving to share it and also receive impressions in the works of others that have experienced this. My third album will be entitled "Fear no More" for a reason. I am writing myself about this sleep disorder in more depth and I will share more about it soon, but here @soulturtle drawing inspired on my song and portraying the first "impressions" upon listening to it as if experiencing synesthesia (seeing colours or feeling smells and other perceptions besides the sound of the music). Check his review of my song and the whole process to create the artwork.
https://steemit.com/art/@soulturtle/synesthesia-sunday-or-morning-light
But the most beautiful out come is that the artist is encouraged now to "paint" the music of other fellow musicians and reinterpret them through art. Such a positive concept and idea.

IMG_20180402_003038_01.jpg
Above: Illustration by @soulturtle inspired in my song "Morning Light". So lovely to see how others interpret your work. Grateful.

Above: @sourturtle illustration portraying my song as a protection against the monsters... such a huge compliment.

You can listen to me singing this song live in the following events. Let's celebrate on my next DLIVE mini-concert!

Wednesday 4th April I'll sing "Morning Light" in the Music Curation Radio Show "The Needle on your record" organized by SMA and host by @d-vine For more info to tune this show, read here:
https://steemit.com/smaradio/@seveaux/send-in-your-music-to-get-curated-in-the-needle-on-your-record-better-quality-by-stream

Live from Studio for dlive24.jpg

Thu 5th of April on DLIVE at 20:00 CEST and you can request this song if you wish. You can check my previous Dlive shows on replay on my feed.

UPDATE: You can watch the LIVE CONCERT NOW HERE:
https://steemit.com/dlive/@yidneth/ca87195a-38fb-11e8-91c8-0242ac110002

CLICK HERE TO PLAY THE CONCERT
Thanks very much to my partner @hedac for making these little concerts technically possible. He is also a talented musician and I'm doing my best to encourage him to do his own open mic entry (and dlive shows).

And my personal favourite this week was...

So I wanted to pick MY personal favourite of the week and make a little shout out to @zipporah who by the way was also awarded an honourable mention. I did cry with her emotive honest performance... so frail, vulnerable and achingly beautiful. Please check her entry here:
https://steemit.com/openmic/@zipporah/steemit-open-mic-week-78-anchor-original-song

Final thoughts

As a contestant I've also stumbled upon so many talented fellow musicians... there so much talent. It is quite humbling to see musicians from diverse places and different background stories. Newcomers, veterans... trained, polished, raw, honest... all sharing an honest moment in this virtual stage. I have been in music for two decades, so I would not say I am a newcomer but I'm still learning. I've had so many ups and downs in my journey... There were moments I could live from it, some I have not been... there were moments I felt discouraged, and others where I wouldn't be able to hold my enthusiasm. There have been moments of struggle, moments of doubt, moments of joy, moments of connection, being this one precisely another example of one.

I can say I have always enjoyed creating music and to have stood so long standing with a dream to follow for me is "success"

Be sure there will be more and I'm grateful for all the encouragement and kind words. It was a personal one for me and I'm really happy it reached you! Blessings everyone and congratulations to all the winners and honourable mentions. I will participate again for sure! :)

Dream of mine
Push me forward
Where you go
I will follow

From my song "Dream of mine"

 - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

I know the Sun will rise... oh Morning Light, Don't delay

Thank you, and also to all the new followers, feel free to say hi and tell me who you are! Best regards. Whatever I make on this community will support the release of my third album "Fear no More".
With gratitude, and until next!


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Sort:  

This is such an awesome song, I love it. I suffered sleep paralysis not long ago so I can definitely relate to it.

I have some songs ard drawings inspired in sleep paralysis, I will share an article soon. I would love to share experiences. Many artists have had it.

Lovely song and voice!

I'm so happy you have found us on Steemit. I just wanted to say congratulations once again and thanks for sharing your music with the community. Look forward to hearing more soon.

Thank you :) I'm skipping this week because I need to finish some recordings and I'm doing a mini-concert tomorrow on dlive :) but already plotting next weeks entry. Thanks once more to everyone on open mic :)

no words but <3 <3 .

Thank you :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 88 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yidneth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

too good!!! (and awesome live on sma!!!!)

Thank you very much, there is a DLIVE schedule for tomorrow 18:00 UTC (20:00 CEST) so you can actually request it and there is image as well :) I will also play my harp and other instruments :) thanks for the encouraging!

Beautiful. That cello is haunting. The lyrics are really clear here too.

Thank you, I play all instruments and vocals in the recording except for the cello. My friends Sveta and Biel recorded my cello parts but I would also made their arrangement in score. Thanks for listening.

amazing song! so touching and emotional...I've had my episodes of sleep paralysis...it can be frightening...I hope yours stopped long ago <3. Thank you for sharing this lovely song!

Thank you, I had a really severe case as a child, volunteered twice for reserach, I have it as an adult too, once a week or so (used to be "every night") when I was a child. I learned to convey it into art.

sending you good vibes and happy thoughts <3

I will write a special sleep paralysis blog post, I have lots of songs and drawings about it, some are really scary but it's part of me too! :)

Congrats on winning! Upvoted :) Remember me when you are famous :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58