Steemit Open Mic Week 78 – 'Anchor' (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

anchor-thumb(z).jpg

fade-line.png

Every now and then, a song will write its own story – breathing itself into being in the space of just a few hours.

'Anchor' came through in such a way in 2011. It's a melancholic reflection on the similarities between inner and outer space – an ode to the loneliness we all feel at times – a heartfelt reminder of the invisible connections we share with those we love.

Though I didn't know it at the time, it was written for Karen – my best friend since age 17. She'd recently lost her mother to cancer after losing her father, in similar fashion, many years earlier. Her response both times was to recede inward – to shut the world, and me, out.

'Anchor' was my gentle appeal – my assurance that she could take as long as she needed...that I'd still be there whenever she felt ready to come back out/down.

fade-line.png

Two weeks ago, not long after midnight on the 14th of March, I found myself singing this song into the ear of my partner's father. It calmed him during a moment when little else did. He passed away later that day.

Today, as I've grappled with yet another loss – this time of a magnitude far too great to comprehend – I felt this song fluttering against my tender heart, softly requesting that I give voice to it.

Though I did try to record subsequent takes, I've chosen to share my first attempt as I believe the greatest way I can honor those I've lost is through grief – I couldn't make it all the way through without crying. I've clipped about 10 seconds between my intro and the song's first note in the interest of trimming a lengthy video, but the rest remains 'as shot'.

It is raw – honest – imperfect. As it should be.

In loving memory of John Koster and The Hart Tribe: Jen, Sarah, Markis, Hannah, Devonte, Jeremiah, Abbi & Sierra.

With all my heart,
xo • Zippy

fade-line.png

fade-line.png

sometimes, gravity fails you,
and down seems like so far to fall
you fear that you might drift away
and nobody would notice you were gone

the stars are drawing you near
space is cold and deep around you, dear

it's a big sky, big sky, little one
you're a bit high, bit higher than the sun
but there's a thin line inside everyone
to guide our flight while we glide high above

darkness is pullin' you in
your body feels starved of oxygen
way beyond the earth's atmosphere
so far now, you might just...disappear

the stars are drawing you near
space is cold and deep around you, dear

it's a big sky, big sky, little one
you're a bit high, bit higher than the sun
but there's a thin line inside you, my love
to guide your flight while you glide high above
So fly, my love

I will anchor you
I will be the thread you tie your kite to
I'll weave the strands of you into my own
and keep you safely grounded in my soul

my heart is drawing you near
a place so warm and sweet awaits you here

it's a big sky, big sky, little one
so go on, fly so high beyond the sun
because that thin line inside you, my love
it is tied to mine – we are one

fade-line.png

Heartfelt thanks to @luzcypher, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground,
@verbal-d, @meno & @pfunk for all you do.

Sort:  

You got me crying already in the intro. Sorry for all the loss. Bittersweet and emotive. Sometimes I feel like drifting myself like an invisible ghost so for me the song has a different meaning. I saw you were some moments at the end holding your emotion but it shone through.

We brought each other to tears this week – there's something wonderfully poetic about that.

Though this was a difficult thing to wrestle my way through, I'm glad I did it. I sincerely felt better after posting. So grateful for the medicine that is music.

I am happy you did, yours is positively my favorite entry of this week and winner for me. It moved me.

You're so sweet to me, miss Priscilla. A gift, you are.

Zippy, this is just SO beautiful. I cried all the way through. I can't think of a single clever or comforting thing to say, but please know that your song and your raw performance has touched my soul and I am sending you love and strength down my own 'thin line', sweet lady <3

Much gratitude for the kindness you always bring. I appreciate you, miss @jaytaylor. <3

Erm, I think you've mad a mistake here, @the-resistance - the comment above was made by @zipporah, the OP...

Oh, radiant woman @zipporah!
I had to listen a few times because it was so touching. Felt deeply. I love your style and way with songwriting and sharing.
Thank you for this sharing!
🙏🏽

Grateful to have you in my corner @nathankaye – inspiring me from across the globe – always generous with kind, supportive reflections. Thank you for being you.

@zipporah Just bloody amazing my friend!! I can feel the pain in your heart and soul! I'm so so sorry for your losses! Life is just so unfair! I'm so thankful we have music as a form of escapism...stay strong you beautiful soul.
Massive Daz hugs!

'my heart is drawing you near
a place so warm and sweet awaits you here'

Yes....what would I do without music?? However painful it was to press record, then share the tender truth of my grieving – it was precisely what I needed in that moment. Thanks for the hugs.

That was a bitter sweet performance, and I love it for its unapologetic honesty. Sure that is a big big song. My heart goes out to you and your friends for the losses. I hope it'll all make sense someday.

Thank you @misterakpan. This was a really difficult entry to make, but it felt necessary. Grateful to know you it touched you.

So sorry for your losses @zipporah. This was a most tender and precious way to channel such sorrow. Beautiful composition and performance!

Much gratitude @passion-ground. It was really the only way I could soothe myself in that moment. Recording it was hard, but it felt important to share the raw truth of my experience.

You really channel your emotions honestly, that is beautiful and powerful. I'm at a loss for words, you on the other hand, bring the words and put them to song.... It's a pleasure too see and hear.

I try, at least. Often, when I feel words fail me, voice is the only channel by which I can express – sometimes wordlessly – sometimes poetically – always emotionally.

A song that speaks to the heart @zipporah
Beautiful and lamenting creation, true to a mourning soul
May they rest in peace

I have added you to my Judge's Top list of Week 78
Please click here to read the full review

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-78-original-blog

Thank you so much @verbal-d – grateful to be included.

You are so welcome @zipporah

I'm sorry for your losses. This was a beautiful song sang in a beautiful manner, perfectly imperfect, warm and heartfelt.

-Rob

I appreciate you giving it a listen @hyperfundit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67233.96
ETH 3486.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15