Original Music: Surrender to the Fire

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


This is one of those epic songs that captured a turning point in my life. I wrote it on my birthday twelve years ago, during a time when I was living on the beach in Baja, Mexico, outside of Todos Santos, doing a month-long yoga teacher training. I slept in a tent to the sound of the ocean.

I haven't played it for a long while, but figured I'd bring it out, dust it off, and record it. In a way, this song is something of a lullaby, sweet and peaceful. That one summer, when I wrote this, I played this song over, and over, and over again, walking on the sand by the sea.

I did actually get down on my knees in the middle of a dirt road to scrawl in my notebook when the lyrics were downloading themselves. It was an all-consuming creation. I even ditched yoga class. ;)

This is about unconditional love—about a love that is free, without expectation—and about self-transformation.


Surrender to the Fire


This poem has been pulled from my Steem blog for use in publication. Thank you for your interest in my writing! Please visit me on Twitter for current content: https://twitter.com/KatrinaAriel

“I would offer you my pulse, I would give you my breath.” — Ani DiFranco

Listen on Choon


Would you believe this is the edited version, minus a few verses? Epic song. The epicest.

And the last part, the "I would offer you my pulse," bit? That's from an Ani DiFranco song. Makes me melt every single time.

Thanks for listening!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


alliance banner


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 349 (12/23/18)

Thank you! Your support is truly appreciated.

I don't have a chance to listen to the music right now as I'm sitting on the floor of the toddler's room hoping she will drop off soon... sometime in the next few hours would be nice....

... but I was just writing to say how interesting the juxtaposition of the photo (water) and the fire lyrics was!

Yes, I thought about that... But the water is about to engulf me in the photo, not unlike the fire in the song, and it was written on a beach, so... ;) It's the best picture I had to represent surrender. I hope your little one took a nap and you got some down time yourself.

I hope the after shot isn't of you washed overboard off the rock!

When I went to Greece 10 years ago, we lived on the beach for a while, my body transformed from the activity, the sun and waves. It was an amazing experience, I always think of redoing with the kids once :)
I don't have the right words to express what I feel about your song, it reminds me of Kate Bush, I love the modulation (the change of key, it feels like it changed).
I am curious, did you re-record it?

I recorded this tonight. It's my first attempt of getting a multi-take song going, and it's definitely not perfect. Might re-record it one day. For now, this is what I've got. lol!

That trip to Greece sounds amazing. Yes, that would be fun with kids, lots more work, but definitely fun. :)

I think it sounds perfect, and your audio is clean !
Well done :)
Yeah I've always dreamed of going on an adventure with the little ones, camping, learning about the plants and animals... Lot's of work indeed, but totally worth it. It's safe to say that we're both not the type to go to Ibiza for vacation....( though why not without the kids and a bunch of friends)

Totally worth it. We spent a week in our tent trailer on a lake with our boys this summer. I love sharing time in nature with them.

And thank you! I'm so glad you think it sounds good! Yay!

We spent a week in our tent trailer on a lake with our boys this summer

Sounds perfect!!! I would obviously wanna document/blog about it with multiple cameras angles and drone video shooting :P

I'm so glad you think it sounds good! Yay!

Sounds even more perfect than you think it does!!!

multiple cameras angles and drone video shooting :P

You're making this way too complicated. ;)

Sounds even more perfect than you think it does!!!

God, I hope so. I hear every little imperfection. lol!

Sounds like a song would hear in an interlude when a Story teller tells a story.
Listened on Choon

Oooooh! I'm a bard now, eh? ;) It is a story, this song... There's a lot to it. I can imagine myself there when I sing it.

Awesome, both the song and the story of how you wrote it on a beach while doing Yoga. I’m not sure about sleeping near the sea though, I’d always worry about crabs nipping me!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol! The tent was zipped up. ;) I don't remember seeing crabs there, actually, but we were warned about scorpions... that probably doesn't make you feel better. Glad you enjoyed the song. ;)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for being awesome. :)

I love this piece, @katrina-ariel. It's breathtaking! It must have been amazing living on Cabo for a while. I love that place. It has probably gotten overpopulated since I was there many years ago with a student group.

Thank you! I really appreciate you taking time to listen. :)

I like the way this song changes keys with each verse to keep it versatile and great voice/harmonies going on throughout. Beautiful work and powerful words too :)

Thank you! It's a fun one to sing. I appreciate the listen and kind comment! :)

...during a time when I was living on the beach in Baja, Mexico, outside of Todos Santos, doing a month-long yoga teacher training. I slept in a tent to the sound of the ocean.

You have certainly had some unique experiences in your life! Wow! This song is lovely, and I agree that "epic" is a good word to describe it! You sing of unconditional love and lack of expectations, and that is how my late-husband and I lived, with no expectations of the other, accepting each other as we were. If more people could do that, whether in relationships or just everyday life with friends and acquaintances, I think this world would be sweeter. Bright blessings to you, my sister! 💖

that is how my late-husband and I lived, with no expectations of the other, accepting each other as we were. If more people could do that, whether in relationships or just everyday life with friends and acquaintances, I think this world would be sweeter.

I love this. So much. Thank you for sharing it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77