Electron recalibration

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Electron Recalibration

original electronic music


precious_by_symmetrybox-d6gky7t.jpg


precious_by_symmetrybox-d6gky7t (2).jpg

↓ Click on these links to hear the beat ↓

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


precious_by_symmetrybox-d6gky7t (1).jpg


Notes on creating electronic music


To explain the reason I titled this short beat "Electron Recalibration" requires me to share a bit of background about myself. Feel free to skip this to get right to the sounds if you want! I started making electronic music in FL Studio (Fruity Loops) when I was 14 or so. It was one of my favorite musical pastimes as a teen; I definitely enjoyed it more than playing any instrument as it seemed more free of limitations. When I went off to college I got a Macbook Pro, and FL Studio didn't run on a Mac operating system back then, so I fell off doing it. I was more focused on trying to become a decent pianist since that was my major. For years I've wanted to dive back in, but there's a major intimidation factor, because it runs deep. You can pour 10+ hours into a project and end up with something that doesn't even sound that good!
.
Anyway, it's worth it, but that's the story. This is the first real fully beatlike thing I've made in a long time. The interesting thing is, my approach to making music with a DAW (digital audio workstation) is so much more organic now. I don't use quantization or, really much looping. I prefer to perform the parts as close to "perfect" as I can get them with little editing. Ever since I focused on learning beatboxing, it's the backbone of everything I create. For me a beatboxing idea can expand in infinite ways and at the same time provide a very grounding aspect. I'm still using Garageband at the moment, but intend to strike out into the wilderness of some other programs soon. I hope to keep a similar attitude as I have while practicing writing poetry on Steemit in the past seven months:

It's less about the end result being "good" and more about expressing, connecting with others, and learning through experience.

I also plan on keeping them short snippets instead of "full-length songs" for the most part. Many people don't even have a long enough attention span to listen to a 4 minute long song! :-D

Notes on process for this song


Get a quick beatbox idea that comes to mind, open Garageband, find the correct tempo. Record the basic idea, with slight variation. Then double it in another track. Improvise a "B" section for the song. In the process of that, find another section that changes things quite a bit. Record all those sections in two tracks.

Next, find the tuning on my Yamaha Montage: seemed to be around A=427 hz (although I later found I was mistaken!) I recorded a bass part on the keyboard doubling my lip bass part. I then recorded with a kick drum and snare patch doubling the hits from the beatbox. Then I thought of a second interlocking bass part and recorded it. After that it was two "rhythm synth" parts. Then I wrote a melody and recorded that using a different synth. I ended up having to adjust the pitch of the beatboxing to the keyboard, because there were some discrepancies. I shifted it downward by 72 cents.

Okay, after that part is where my confidence begins to fade. After all, I was trained in composing/arranging, not audio engineering! But anyway, I attempt to balance the parts out in volume and do some basic automation. Hopefully, I'll be able to glean some of the knowledge of good friends that know a lot more than I do in that area and improve. To be honest, when I listen to my final products, I think they sound... well, just ok. In comparison to tracks mixed and engineered by pros, there's just no competition. If you have any pointers for me in that area, be my guest!

Specs on the beat


Tuning: A = 427 hz
Temperament: Equal
Tempo: 113 bpm
Key: B minor


precious_by_symmetrybox-d6gky7t (2).jpg

↓ Click on these links to hear the beat ↓

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


precious_by_symmetrybox-d6gky7t (1).jpg


infinity_by_symmetrybox-d6ilxer.jpg


the_flat_rainforest_by_symmetrybox-d5cuytq (1).jpgthe_flat_rainforest_by_symmetrybox-d5cuytq (2).jpg

Music and writing
By @d-pend
1/23/18
.
Art by
SymmetryBox

1 - "Precious"
2 - "Infinity"
3 - "The Flat Rainforest"

infinity_by_symmetrybox-d6ilxer (2).jpginfinity_by_symmetrybox-d6ilxer (1).jpg


the_flat_rainforest_by_symmetrybox-d5cuytq.jpg


Sort:  

This is great!

I’m no sound engineer, just used to do some stuff for fun back when 4 tracks were in and you had to futz around with the mic positioning a lot more, but I think the whole thing is a really great starting point.

If I can be a contrarian, you might get a lot of people that might suggest you start doing a lot of tinkering around with the low-end by, like, using a low shelf filter and boosting the frequencies underneath there, to make the bass sound “fatter.”

But, like you said, you’re a composer/arranger, not an audio engineer, so unlike a lot of people who have most of their background in EDM, you can (I think) appreciate (1) that pretty much the most important and wonky stuff happens at the mid-range which is where most of the important mixing is going to happen, and (2) you can cut out a lot of mixing work by arranging the piece properly, with the right amount of tracks for separate instruments/sounds.

It seems pretty popular to just throw down tracks and then fix them during mixing (“just fix it in post” kind of attitude) which definitely works for a lot of people.

But I like formally trained musicians who start working with music edm type music because you guys know how to arrange a song that’s already, in a sense, pre-mixed by virtue of your planning.

If you keep putting out music like this, I’d say that in about a years time you’ll be making songs that could legitimately “take-off” and get a fan base.

Thanks for the good tunes!

This was an awesome and very helpful comment. Thank you @hauntology. I definitely think if I sit down seriously with some tutorials and start to apply techniques hands on I could get some decent mixes goes. Right now, I really do nothing but compress (no EQ'ing to speak of) so it's super rudimentary. Just using my ears. I appreciate the suggestion on the low end and definitely agree the midrange is what gets super cluttered and muddy. Thanks again for checking out my stuff and adding your insight! Cheers

very tender but mysterious at the same time!

when we listen to some music, we rarely think of the process of its producing, but it seems to be not so easy! the easier music the easier to make it as people are used to think, but here you show it doesn't work)

there're some eastern moods here, and I have a bright assicoation during listening - this one)

Well the Great Artist Mr. Daniel!

This is so energetic and electrifying music which gives goose bumps to shake the legs. I am listening it and reading a few verses of Poetry--- Amazing Combination indeed.

Sugesstion

Put some semi-classical nodes in it as well, that will enrich the melody for sure <3

This is so true my Great Friend, So true

It's less about the end result being "good" and more about expressing, connecting with others, and learning through experience.

To me- life is not to earn money but it is to give Effection & Kindness
because money is temporary while deeds are permanent :)

You are on the right track and inspiring so many with your blessed Talent

I have a huge Respect and Love for you My Spiritual Brother <3

Keep Rocking the Steemit

Stay Blessed, Steem On!

Trust me or not, but 7 years ago I tried to play with Fruity Loops because all my friends(girls&boys) was in that trend But be honest with you...at that time I didn't understand all operation.

Now about your beat/song.

I gotta say that I listened to the whole song. The beginning was pretty exciting, since the first few seconds I was ready to be inserted into a combination of strange elements. With every second that passed felt as they are worn me through the air towards exit of the Cosmos. My apologies because I try to change the title of the song, but in my head I could rename "Trapped between the stars". Why that name? Because I feel bright, background song I'm high but at the same time I feel trapped and suffer among the stars.

Irina V

@d-pend congratulations for such a clean recording, uplifting music and brilliant idea. I am not laughing out loud this time but I'm thinking, "Wow... You are seriously getting into the groove brother."

Your poetry is your music and your music is your poetry. They both have a trans-hypnotic effect. I can hear this music even when the song stops.

This all came out of your head or the piano and the beatbox first? I heard of people rap to a set beat but making your own accompaniment and beatbox is radical.


I will play this one again and again. It lifts me up from all my doubts and worries and allows me to enjoy the moment. I've been troubled about a few things but after listening to this I've calmed down a lot. I came to see that this kind of music is really good for my kids. We will invest in learning and making music together. The younger one, "Mo" likes it a lot. I just got to get some equipment for him. The greatest inspiration you gave me today is to see that we don't have to be stuck in a rut but we can try new things and have fun doing it. Thanks for the inspiration and the relaxation you gave us all from this song.

You definitely have taken electronic music up a notch now that you are older and very nice touch on adding some beat boxing! I love the bass part, it had my extra speakers on my computer come alive. This song makes me want to get up and move! This one would be perfect to make a longer song with! Excellent!

Your beatboxing abilities are just getting better, it's amazing that you're doing poetry these days to keep up with old times, this is amazing again my friend.
Moving way up buddy, awesome skills with the instrumentals

Oriental melody with western rhythm. This is wonderful for raising energy in relaxation. Your talents are numerous, you really leave me in wonder my honest friend @d-pend

you made me remember a song I have for my daughter, it goes like this:

DJ Katty, PRRR PRRR PRRRRRRR

XD she is a little baby with too much gas sometimes :P

I like the beat on this one. I like that you are experimenting out of your confort zone. I used fruity loops a long ago too, but it was a trial which ended so soon :(

Outstanding music contribution by you @d-pend.
Yeah..Your post giving me very cool and motivation and I bet anyone see your blogging they'll be same my feelings.
Music wanna be real interesting thing it can be change our mind very immediately. If we be sad mood (negative mind) now please listen @d-pend created dsound. I confirmly tell sure...Anyone can meditate maximum level.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42