Interviews Theme - Extended (DSound Exclusive Original Music)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


I was approached to create music for a series of video interviews, to play under the title credits and as background during interviews. This collaboration may not be going anywhere as the person who approached me has since dropped off the radar - hopefully they will pop back up, but in any case I wanted to share the music that I created. This is very different from my normal compositions. I wanted a simple theme that would repeat with variations, with some dissonance and odd phrasings that would resolve into an uplifting conclusion. I composed the main theme on keyboard and had several TV theme songs in mind as loose inspiration. I intentionally kept the arrangement very sparse, as one of my goals was for this to work well as background music with people talking over the top; I didn't want a heavy rhythm or too busy of an arrangement. I have created a few variations of this, including one that is more guitar focused with an acoustic guitar rhythm and lead part taking the place of the main piano theme, but this extended keyboard version here is my favorite.

Cover image: Original digital art by moi, never before published :) "Sunset on the Willamette River" @carlgnash 2018



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Well, damn, that was impressive!! I just spent about six minutes relaxing, working my eyes around a brilliant juxtaposition of color and light enhanced by a wonderfully relaxing little tune. Don't want to lose the level of calm it provoked, I'm going to bed now. Thanks @carlgnash for a great experience :)

Hope it gave you sweet dreams! This is such a great compliment of a comment :) Thanks man!

And I did! Much refreshed this morning, thanks :)

Hello Carl, yes I actually listened

to the entire song :) Great for its intended purpose! I love the art piece! I would pay money to have a bit of animation in it.

Really lovely as is!

Thanks! You are totally right, that image would work very well for animation :) I haven't gotten into that yet (animation) but it is on my kinda sorta short term list of things to dive into. Glad you enjoyed the music!

A lovely piece of music, Carl. I am rather fond of the digital art piece too:)

Thanks! I was pleased with how it turned out, I hope the project does end up going somewhere but I felt like I should get the music out into the world in any case. Happy it found your ears :) Much love - Carl

Both the music and the artwork are delightful! You are an amazing true talent, @carlgnash. It occurred to me while listening to the music that it would make a really nice prompt for a writing project— like a screenplay, for instance.

I grew up near the Willamette River. You’ve captured its essence beautifully.

Aw thanks @jayna! This art is part of a new series that you should enjoy if you grew up near the Willamette River. More on that to come :) You are welcome to use this as a writing prompt in a post if you want, that sounds like a great idea :) There are some interesting things going on from a music theory perspective even though it is a relatively simple melody and theme. I wanted it to be optimistic in the end but still admitting of life's trials during the journey (as represented by the dissonant and minor mode portions of the initial melody).

Thank you. That’s such a nice offer! I will think about that. I have not done any screenwriting yet, myself, but it definitely made me think about movie soundtracks. I look forward to seeing the rest of the upcoming art series.

Wow. I didn't even know you were a musician. Great music, I love it!

I'd like to know more about your music.

Yeah I would probably describe myself as a musician first and foremost and then an artist and writer. I am singing or whistling most of my waking moments :) I have posted a fair amount of music here, but mostly acoustic guitar and vocals (sometimes with multi-tracked harmonies). I do a lot of vocal looping as well. This song was quite a bit outside of my normal comfort zone as far as composition and instrumentation, but I was pleased with the end result.

This is great. When I got to Steemit I was saturated with information, I started follow people, including you, but I didn't know who they were. It's now that I began to really meet all of them (including you, again).

So, now I can say: "Nice to meet you Carl!". :-D

I'll be reading older posts to know more about your job.

P.S. I like your digital art too!

Thanks! You should check out the Gnash Song Challenge posting :) Here is a funny one: https://steemit.com/music/@carlgnash/orsc63u4

And the Episode One introduction post (submissions are now closed, still working on the last few of these): https://steemit.com/music/@carlgnash/gnash-song-challenge-episode-1-hear-your-words-set-to-music-marvel-at-your-ideas-taking-sonic-flight-wonder-at-the-sheer-beauty

Hey @carlgnash, you're really great and amazing. I fully enjoyed each one of your songs. They are all so original and funny. I really like your work.

I'll be following you (very close)!!! ;-)

Congratulations!

i listened too. very mellow ..

Good :) I wanted it to be mellow and easy to listen to in the background, and relaxing if you focused on it

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

A master piece to join the lonely mode in the midnight :) You got tons of skill man.

From what you describe this hits that mark perfectly. I didn't know you played keys bro!! I've just acquired aHammond organ, so hoping to learn
myself. I'm fortunate enough to be good friends with an exceptional hammond player. He's played with so many big names and had grammy awards etc. So pleased when he said he'd come over and give me excercises to work on. I want to get that John Lee Hooker Hammond sound going.

Your piece here reminds me a little of Satie's trois Gymnopédies, my favourite contemporary classical piece of music. Ithink this piece of yours here would work really well slowed down further still and with enough sustain to carry, a little like Satie's piece does. What do you think bro? I'd love to here it again f you do a slower version.

Just dandy as is though man. Big Love ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46