You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMA Feedback Contest Round 8 - A DSound Community Initiative

Had to listen via musicoin

I have heard many good tracks from you but I absolutely dig this collaboration, as I already wrote and said in SMA radio. You complement each other so so well, this could easily warrant an album. Even before starting to listen anew I still have the "because of you" in mind from that last listen.

So what can I even add then? Let's see.

Arrangement and sound crafting is awesome, so is the mix. That said, the sidesticks' low frequencies hit me a bit hard on headphones, maybe it's my headphones - their low frequencies were almost forceful but maybe I have listened too much on phones already today and my ears are tired - probably disreagrd that comment. The kick is freakin awesome and the bassline as well, well mixed and working together.

I like how junkfeathers is a little bit back in the mix, if he were "too" up front it would maybe mess with the melancholic vibe of his vocal style - but he is still WELL audible. great job!

The - dare I say - PSYCHEDELIC lead sound you bring in at 1:40 is freakin amazing. Ahahah, send me that template. Flanger on a 32th cut wood sample?

The flute works well, less is more in terms of notes and you managed to walk the line perfectly to put on touches but not to make it sound tiring.

The bring-down at 2:39 comes at a perfect time. Now I am getting aware of the intricacies of the percussion sounds next to the shaker. The track continues and plays out well til the end.

Second listen-through made the initial percussion harshness much easier as I knew it was coming, and the track remains solid and well presented. Love how you twirled his voice through the moving filters and the panning. START THE BEAT AGAIN ALREADY! ahahaha, it's great when the listener anticipates the next dance part and it works magically well, especially with the voice coming back in.

Third listen-through underscores it. Can't get over the flanger hits, they are SUCH a good idea that I shall put them in my psy toolbox - THANKS ;)

And now I will have that track in my head again for another week ahaha. but it's a good earworm to have for SURE.

Collaborate more, you two are a brilliant team for ... dare I say melancholic dnb.

If you are looking for suggestions I'm afraid I am out of my league. Very well done.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your kind words @paradigmprospect!!!

I too am in love with this collaboration, so much that whenever I hear the song without vocals it sounds incomplete!! @junkfeathers is a pro through & though, I had such fun working with him & YES, I am thinking about a further collaboration with him <3

This style you call Liquid Drum&Bass, check out some of my favorite artist Calibre, Spectrasoul, Lenzman, D-Bridge, A-sides ( I could name many more lol ), good stuff & with @junkfeathers on my track we fit right in, yaaayyy!!

The vocals are always embedded into the songs not set on top. You use the voice like a complimentary instrument, weave it in & how awesome that worked with @junkfeathers voice, he is filling the frequencies that were not in my song! So blown away by him really, this was his first D&B song, can you believe it?

The sound you are talking about setting in at 1:40 is from the Arturia Analog Lab 2 Soundbank, with filters, delay & panning on it.

I gotta check that out on my headphones, I didn't on them, only checked the sound on 3 different pair of Studio Speakers, my IMac & IPhone ;P
I have to admit, I do not like using headphones, it's just me, even in the club, as soon as the record is in, headphones off.

Thank you for taking the time to listen to the song over & over so you can give such in depth feedback, it's really much appreciated!

Much love, respect & huggins coming you way M. <3 <3

I love to work on tracks at night and I got thin walls, so I use headphones a lot. Duirng the day is testing phase with the speakers hehe.
Cool tips thnaks, will definetely check out those artists.
love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39