LOVE: A Drop In The Ocean Topic

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

LOVE



I think I had a strange upbringing - it didn't seem strange at the time obviously because it was just how our house was.

There wasn't any affection, no hugs or kisses for us kids.

I don't ever remember either of my parents telling us that they loved us??

Our parents didn't back each other up.

It was rather combative in our house, almost like divide and conquer.

Church and religious groups were our only social activity.

I think this has given me a different view on love and what it means.

As a young person I think I looked for love and acceptance at an early age due to the lack of it at home.
It meant failed relationships and heartaches.

I married the wrong person because I didn't have much self worth and I think I 'settled' for who came along and showed an interest.

I stuck at that for 18 years! Then someone came along that showed me I was worth more.

Again Failed


I don't know if there is real love but finding someone that I can have a real laugh with and who has my back regardless if I'm right or wrong is all that I could want.

Life is strange and LOVE is stranger!!!

BUT.....


I guess there's always hope!!!


This was written for the Drop in the Ocean Topic - LOVE

Divider by @scuzzy

Image Thanks to Clipart Library

Thanks for dropping by...


Sort:  

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Right!!!

I understand perfectly where you are coming from, Andy.
Most children were not cherished when I was growing up like they are today. It was “spare the rod and spoil the child” at home and at school.
Being shown little affection as a child and not told you were special makes for less confidence and one tends to not set the bar high enough when it comes to relationships.
I don’t think we ever get over our childhood but our parents only knew what they were taught. Most had their own demons to deal with being in unhealthy relationships themselves.
You are a wonderful caring person, Andy. Rejoice in knowing you are a special lady. ❤️ ❤️ ❤️

Aww thanks @redheadpei - I think I'm 'special' lol just no one else see it like I do :D You're right and I don't blame them - I probably aren't the best parent either. I guess I'm just reflecting :)

I'm so glad I saw this in my newsfeed for two reasons! First, you are one of my favorite people on Steemit...I love getting to know you better. I also meant to DM you 14 times over the past few days...but I've been dropping the ball lately. And second, I want to write a drop in the ocean post, and you reminded me!

I can relate to this to a certain extent as my parents were busy working most of the time. Because I lacked the affection, I tried not to do the same mistake with my kid.

i love you Andygirl :)

that's the good love right there hehehehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95