A musical selection for @dreemsteem

in #dreemsteem6 years ago (edited)

1280px-Palmerlonelytower.jpg

Wikimedia Commons

This is a post for my dear Discord and Steemit friend, @dreemsteem. Normally, one of the most cheery people that I know, for some reason, both of us are feeling a little down today. My problems are a work related annoyance, so easy enough to get over.

@dreemsteem made a request for a piece that would make her cry, and seeing as I'm on a train at the moment, it isn't really too easy to get hold of stuff that I might have posted online. (This is also a reminder to myself to get off my arse, and tidy up that backlog of recordings that I have sitting on a hard drive... I know there is something there that would be perfect, but I'm not sure I can release into the wild without checking it first!). Anyway, I have made a little selection of three pieces that I was able to get access to at short notice, that might fit the bill and hopefully cheer you up a little. Some of it was already posted on Steemit, but long before we met!

If I get a chance to find the piece I was thinking about, I will put it up later in the week.

I'm afraid no video, though... All the videos that I know of (that aren't filmed by some random person in the audience with a phone) weren't music that would fit the bill. Some of these, I've posted before in seperate posts, but this collection is for @dreemsteem.

Loneliness

This is an excerpt for a recently recorded (not released otherwise!) piece of Bach for solo Violin. The sheer emptiness reminds me of being alone, at the bottom. Time and harmony moves slowly, there is nothing but sheer space ahead and behind, all around...

I'm afraid on a technical note, I hadn't fixed the volume of this track, so it might be on the quiet side compared to the following ones...

Sadness mixed with joy, it is finished

Sorry, this piece is in German. However, I can lay out the general gist of the piece. In the Markus Passion, where it comes from, it is the moment immediately after the death of Jesus. So, a very sad, despairing moment... yet this is in a major key, which is something that is normally associated with happiness.

My reading of this (I'm not religious), is that it is the moment when you let everything go. All the sadness, and tension and despair... and it is a release. It isn't happiness, just a simple relief and (joy) that it is all over, there is no more suffering or painfulness.

Translation:

Earth and heaven holds their ears
As Jesus cries out deafeningly.
He undertook all sins,
Now enough has been done to him,
For Eden to be built again,
Which we had lost before.

My joke, I can't finish in a sad way

Sorry, it's in German again, but I didn't write the stuff! I figured, I can't finish it without a little brightness for you. Here is a little ditty, about a maiden who is being harassed by a nobleman.

Translation for you:

A Lord rode out one sunny morn to view the meadows round,
And spied a pretty country maid come tripping o’er the ground.
Dismounting from his milk-white steed he said “Come kiss your Lord”.
She trembling stood there and obeyed, poor girl, quite overawed.
[‘Fie, fie, why not say no?’]

He took this fair maid for a walk, her hand within his own;
“I want to purchase your true heart: ‘tis you I love alone!
I’ll make you happy. Take my purse, my ring, my watch so fine;
And if you want still more from me, then speak and it is thine!”
[‘Fie, fie, that sounds too good!’]

“Kind sir” she said, “I pray take care; my brothers - they might see.
And if they spread the tale about, what would become of me?
Were they not working quite so nigh I fear that I might yield.
Climb up upon that bank and see if they are in the field.”
[‘Ha, ha, what happened then?’]

Now as the Lord rose up to look, the maid to his dismay
Leapt on his steed, and like the wind she quickly tore away.
“I’ll go no more a-roving with you, kind sir” she cried.
He stood there in a fearful rage: denied, and then defied!
[‘Ha, ha, a pretty pass, the clever lass!’]

Hope everything turns out better for you! Sorry, it's the best I could do at short notice, and while travelling with no access to my recording stash... If it makes you feel better, I do laugh out loud over your jokes!

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS

Sort:  

@bengy

This was beautiful. It was exactly what I was wanting/needing/looking forward to! :)

I'm going to listen to these over and over... and let them lift my spirits!!!

Thank you friend <3 And... the tags - oh my gosh - the tags!!!!!!!!!!!
I loved them and they made me laugh so hard :)

and laughter... is the BEST medicine!!

.... and I'd like to give you a little something to show my appreciation :)

Hahaha, I didn't spot the tags till you mentioned them!

hehehehehe aren't they so funny????? LOL i love funny tags :)

Glad you liked it, and hope it helped a little! Thanks for the Dreemie, I had meant to refuse payout on this one, but had posted it and forgot to do that... but thank you!

I'm glad you liked the tags! I was wondering if you would see them!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Some of these, I've posted before in seperate posts, but this is really something for @dreemsteem.
It should be separate instead of seperate.

That isn't grammar!

HOW IRONIC IS THAT?!?!?! lololollol

@kchitrah.... take a deep breath... and enjoy <3

Dear @dreemsteem, I hope @bengy's choices have helped you feel better. The second one lifted my heart. xxx

they really did @kiwideb! :) just beautiful! and his heart was even more beautiful in wanting to cheer a friend

thank you @bengy <3

Ah, I do like Bach! The second one especially. I really felt the sense of relief and joy at the end.
PS I liked the Haydn too.

i love Bach as well.. i used to enjoy playing his Inventions :)

A pianist?!?! Now, it is your turn to post some music!

Thanks! I There are so many great Bach arias and pieces that are just somehow the perfect expression of complex emotion, something that is difficult to put into words.

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

TIER UPVOTES ARE IN EFFECT!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.24) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.30) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.36) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66