How #drawitagain Gave Me Peace of Mind

in #drawitagain6 years ago (edited)

steemit-enternamehere-drawitagain.jpg


steemit-enternamehere-drawitagain-thingsthatarecircle-original.jpg
This circa 1997 original was tucked away at my grandparent's house, patiently waiting two decades to be unearthed and posted to the blockchain.

Honestly, I don't exactly remember drawing this picture,

yet I do know it was during summer break in grade school. It was common to spend most of our vacation time at their rural Texas home, where there was no TV, Internet or central A/C. To entertain myself I would often play outside, climbing trees, riding my bike and exploring the arid property.

When outside became too hot, I'd go indoors to sketch and color until that was boring and outside called me back again. While it may not be much to look at, the original drawing made in the 90's is extra important to me because almost none of the artwork I made as a child is in existence today. Finding my old "things that are circle" doodle on dot matrix paper was like stepping into a time machine and visiting myself twenty years ago.



Drafty in here
steemit-enternamehere-drawitagain-drafts.jpg

Fast-forward to 2018. After creating a few too many pencil drafts of my ideas for this little project, I got to work on the inky part. Everything was going great, I was moving right along, enjoying the process quite a lot, when suddenly, thanks to only a slight lapse in concentration, I goofed.

steemit-enternamehere-drawitagain-thingsthatarecircle.jpg
Ink on copy paper

This was bad.


I stopped drawing and put down the pen. I closed my eyes in disbelief. All that time spent in preparation was for nothing. I told myself to breathe and be cool. Pride was burning a giant question into my mind: “To post or not to post??” I stood up and got to work doing every productive thing I could think of that wasn't drawing it again.

There was a slew of activity that took place, productive procrastination alive and well:

steemit-enternamehere-drawitagain-procrastination-collage.jpg
A) baked a cake from a box, B) cooked bean soup from scratch, C)made an impromptu mushroom quiche, D) washed laundry, E) folded laundry and F) helped @jschindler with some yard work.

Finally, as the afternoon was drawing to a close, I was hit upside the head with a loud realization: F*ck it! The challenge is called Draw It Again, NOT
Draw It Again Perfectly -- OR ELSE.

“Things That Are Circle 2.0” was completed that evening, what a relief. Peace of mind all mine.


How often do you find yourself chasing the perfection ideal?
How do you let go of it?
Let's talk about it.

#drawitagain is a challenge created by @jillustrations where a previous work is redrawn to demonstrate skill progression. #drawitagain Round 2 was held in March 2018. As of this posting (May 2018), there have not been any announcements made regarding #drawitagain Round 3. This post isn't an official submission, this is for kicks.


Previous Post: A Poetry Experiment

20180507_104429-3.jpg

Who is enternamehere?

steemit-enternamehere-sketching-portrait-375px.jpg

ENH is a steemian exploring life and artistic expression one day at a time. Also known as Seana. Here I am.


voxel-sig-enh-steemit-by_fabiyamada-032018.png
^^custom voxel art made by @fabiyamada^^









Sort:  

Seeing old work is so much more intriguing then we expect it to be. Also, as a kid you tend to draw impulsive, yet when you're older you start too overthink every move you make. The whole structure of your new circles 2.0 looks eye catching. That's some delicious looking food aswell, now I'm hungry...

How often do you find yourself chasing the perfection ideal?
With art, all the time, a gift and a curse.

How do you let go of it?
A lot of the curse part; I can get mad at the tiniest (and almost invisible) mistakes. Going outside for some fresh air helps.

Also, as a kid you tend to draw impulsive, yet when you're older you start too overthink every move you make.

That's the fountain of youth right there, springing from the mind. When we leave ourselves open to the light, the fountain works wonderfully, we are youthful and invigorated. When we close ourselves off from the light, the fountain becomes a trickle and age begins wrapping itself around us.

The food was delicious! We've been shifting away from the beloved Standard American Diet towards fresher, more sensible options. Although I cook for 2, I often make enough for 10 at once so I don't have to cook every day and staying 'on track' is easier. What do you like to eat, hmm???

Fresh air always helps! Along with blood movement to get that new oxygen distributed around the body and brain. And your mistakes must be tiny 'cause I've never seen not one in your work.

When we leave ourselves open to the light, the fountain works wonderfully, we are youthful and invigorated. When we close ourselves off from the light, the fountain becomes a trickle and age begins wrapping itself around us.

Couldn't have said it better!

Oxygen is indeed key to a lot of things. This is what inspired me to make my new music aswell ;)

It sure is good to switch up your diet from time to time. Most of the time I eat well balanced plates, tho sometimes it's too easy to resort to certain fast food. But I'm always up for Lasagne, that's my jam!

Lasagna is where it's at, I'm with you there. That's another one of those great dishes for planned leftovers. Plus, when made with consideration it can be a balanced plate all on its own ☺

Things that are circle: circle. < This is funny :P
Mmm I don't see the mistake!! What is it??
I live this Challenge... Shall I take it??

Lol! I said the same thing when I found it...uh yes circles are circle, good eye 1997 Seana.
The mistake that wanted to break me is "PumRkin". I almost skipped the second P, then my edit made it into an R, for GRRRRRR.

Most definitely, let's see what you draw again!!

First, your new 'All Things Circle' is amazing. Love all of it, especially the clock.

I know how disappointed and let down it feels to make the smallest error which glares at you. So thanks for sharing, I'm sure it can't have been easy to share. But it's so nice to see how you dealt with it and posted this with peace of mind!

Also, hi Seana! It's nice to enter a name here.

Thanks for swinging through, much appreciated. Seana is out of the bag now! Mistakes are opportunities for us to improve in some way, I've been holding that firmly in mind. Peace of mind comes piece by piece.

That is so neat. I love the eye and moon juxtaposed together. It gives the impression the eye is looking at that moon.

Thanks for the feedback - that eye is looking at the moon, I see it now.

I don't want to see what I drew or wrote 10 years ago. I am quite ashamed of it. I am a new person now.
However, you made me fancy to have cream cake.
Are you a teacher by chance? Or do you work for some of those crossed words magazine? -Just wondering-

Our past shameful selves are a bridge to our new selves, we walk across that old self bridge to get to now.

Italian cream cake = fantastic. The vanilla cake I made from the box was a first for me, it was organic and it tasted pretty good, much better than the fried cookie dough Oreo from a couple weeks ago.

I'm not a teacher by profession, nor a puzzle smith! What makes you ask?? That's the first time anyone has asked if I teach.

Just from the way you display the images! (I was a kindergarten teacher for 10 months)

@enternamehere You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12