zero's Sketchbook Chronicles - episode X ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ–Œ

in #drawing โ€ข 6 years ago

20180203_153019.png


Pulled out my old box of treasures and took some new photos of the content of my old sketchbooks after some heavy nostalgia hit. These drawings are from my time at University in Lincoln and include various formats including A5, A4, A3 and cutouts on various grades and weight of paper. I mostly used pencils, sharpies, colored pencils and markers. These are all sketches and drawings that I think turned out rather well. Remember that I've boiled these down from dozens of sketches, not everything you do can be a hit! Once you add a strong black to a drawing it looks finished far faster. If you are disciplined enough to keep filling sketchbooks regulary (which I am not) you keep your edge sharp. It's also great to document your process and sometimes a simple sketch can go on to become much more!


20180203_152843.png20180203_151839.png
20180203_152156.png20180203_152214.png
20180203_152403.png20180203_153249.png

So a range of styles and techniques can be found in the drawings above, from university project prep, sketching for fun, learning techniques and thumbnailing. Over the years you accumulate a lot of pages and I have been far lazier than I should have been! That being said, sketching can fulful a great deal of purposes and is fun. Take your time and enjoy.


A couple of examples of techniques which let you use the white of the paper and negative space to fill out your pages.

20180203_152541.png20180203_153141.png20180203_152143.png
MonochromeNegativeInversing




Hint of the Day:

I can't stress enough the importance of investing in good paper! A higher quality sketchbook is so much more fun to draw in and it's really worth the couple of extra bucks..



Hope you guys feel positively illuminated at this stage. It ain't magic, it's sweat and practice. It's old newspaper, sitting on the floor for hours in awkward positions and using whatever colorful thing you find that leaves a mark. Don't forget to have fun too while you're at it!

I'll still be archiving my stuff for a while, still got tons of character studies, life drawings, illustration exercise and graphic design bits to show, watch this space for additional pieces in the future. Back to the drawing board.

there and back again,

ZeroOoC

1111.png

Sort: ย 

@zeroooc selbst der Post ist wahre Kunst!
Really perfect art post!
All this single pics!
How you talk about it!
Everyone can read your passion for your work and thatโ€™s great!
Pin ich zu mir!
Thanks

That is very kind of you :)
I try to improve on the layout a little bit each time but there is only so much you can do with Markdown ^^

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

See, even now your are thinking what you can create with your art..! Nice! At discord austria I recognized you and for real great talent you are! Could you check out @yoganarchista s drawing contests? Maybe it brings fun to you :-)

Hugs to ya

Cool and bold! My favourite one is the one with marine creatures. Thank you for sharing your nostalgic sketches, most of my old sketches are unfortunately gone. But I have some of them, so perhaps I'll post them sometime in the future, too. Those sketches of yours show for sure that you're accustomed with a variety of techniques, styles and themes. What are your best memories from the time in University of Lincoln?

PS. Oh I hear ya with that quality paper, I've switched to watercolor paper recently, soon I'll be posting an art made on such paper. But my search for a paper Graal is still on hah. Wish me luck!

Love,
Klaudia

Yeah the whales and shark fit well in the nautical theme of steemit. But I think at this stage we needa redefine the different roles and tiers a little bit. @Zeitgleich is a Narwhal for example!

Only a fraction of my work has survived to this point. Most sketches go straight in the rubbish bin tbh and you never get to see them. Presentation is key!

Favorite memories...hmm will have to think about that and get back to you. I liked that it was a medival town though!

Good paper is the best...but remember that even with normal paper you can do all kinds of things!

From the profile pic I'd say I'm an octopus, so yeah! I think I'll follow @Zeitgleich more closely from now on to find out more about Narwhals in our marine society :) Medieval town sounds charming and mysterious.
;)

I used to get these basic black sketchbooks, 200 pages of 110gsm paper. Not terribly expensive and they keep me going forever (because I don't really draw much and even less these days, my last sketchbook still only has the first few pages filled O_O;).

Hm you might be onto something with the strong blacks making it looked finished faster, maybe I should suggest that to a friend of mine who thinks her pencils look unfinished and sketchy XD (in fairness though she feels that drawings or at least her drawings aren't "complete" until they've been fully coloured and shaded).

That inverse one looks like it would have been a fair bit of work and ink O_O I do love the inverse stuff though, they're really striking.

goatsig

Yes, inversing kills your pens quickly. It's super fun though :)

I usually like slightly heavier paper, like 150gsm. For Printing I like 200+ to get a bit of tangibility going.
Still got tons of half filled books around so I wouldn't technically have to buy any new ones. I do like the fresh slate that a new sketchbook affords though.

I think finishing a drawing is surprisingly hard. Often times you'll get distracted in the beginning stages already and decide to redraw it completely :)

Agree with that sketchbook quality! Though a bit more expensive, I would go for a good drawing pad, the feel of the pencil is totally different.

Very true! Sometimes the conditions are just right. It depends on your mood, the lighting and the quality of the materials. Remember that you can recreate a favorable setting.

Nice post. I absolutely agree: black makes a big difference in an image. And I love this: "It ain't magic, it's sweat and practice." Yes.

Aye! Good sharpies and markers are an important investment. Copic or Prisma if you really wanna splurge.

So pricey though!

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.

Thank you mate. I can only show you the way but we all gotta swim there ourselves :)

Okay. This is the third time I've seen this guy write these same words. Once was to me, and now I feel so used... But we must fight on. We must all do what we can to extend the steemit.

Cool! You have a real talent!

I thank you :)

Very nice photos u got there ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

Ur welcome you are real talented keep it up

This post has received a 2.01 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @zeroooc

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.88% vote... I was summoned by @zeroooc! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86