Poll: Would you rather posts on Steem never "expire" from being eligible for rewards?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Poll: Would you rather posts on Steem never "expire" from being eligible for rewards?


I recently created a post about improving Steems ability to reward content creators by improving tools and UX flows towards donations vs most rewards coming from Steem inflation.

While the good people over at @steempeak were brainstorming how you might accomplish this and I was basically just snooping on their convo, I overheard(overread?) something I found interesting.

It was mentioned that a comment could be created and auto-hidden by the frontend to track some information from the post. They were talking about using it for something else but that got the gears turning in my head about another issue that I think would overall just make Steem better, which is the 7 day expiration date on posts.

So first off if there is some technical reason this exists, please enlighten me because I'm only looking at this from the user perspective and it just seems counter intuitive. Did the information in the post lose all value after a week? If you created a music video and put it on Steem exclusivly you'd only be able to monetize it for 7 days? That doesn't make any sense. Again, as I mentioned in previous posts this, is a misaligned incentive. It deters users from posting content that they might deem extremely valuable. At least it would deter them from posting it exclusively on Steem, which is what would be of greatest value to Steem.

So the idea was, since frontends can basically do a lot of stuff behind the scenes, but show the user whatever they want, wouldn't it be possible to create a workaround around the 7 day expiration by visually resetting the upvote checkbox, then if someone upvotes a post after the 7 day period, a comment is created on that post, auto-hidden, upvoted by the user casting the upvote, but the value on that comment is visually shown as additional value for the post?

It sounds a bit hacky, but it should work right?

So the poll question here is, is this something you would be interested in?


  • Yes, I'd rather my posts be able to earn rewards indefinitely.

  • No, I like things the way they are.

  • Doesn't really matter to me one way or the other.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • Yes, I'd rather my posts be able to earn rewards indefinitely.

Voted for

  • Yes, I'd rather my posts be able to earn rewards indefinitely.

Check this out ..I have never tried it because I don't write good content..
https://steem-bounty.com/services/forever

@abbak7 Yea, this is really similar, although I'm thinking it would just be built directly in the frontend so it doesn't take any extra steps. I feel like I remember when this came out. I think they might have pissed people off because they didn't clearly disclose they were taking a beneficiary reward for this service, or they were taking too large a beneficiary reward or both. If it's the same service, not sure.

Voted for

  • No, I like things the way they are.

Voted for

  • Yes, I'd rather my posts be able to earn rewards indefinitely.

I think that it is vital to change the payout structure to a permanent one if we want to attract more content producers. Especially for people posting on dtube and sites where you expect traffic over a long period of time.

I'm not sure about the technical side of things but I have suggested a separate token before that you can vote with permenantly and trade to steem.

Or if you could vote the author rather than the individual post. Every day the author rewards would be payed out after 7 days wait regardless of what content the vote was placed on. Could be a much simpler system to use.

The reason I specifically chose this solution is because it doesn't require a hardfork. Changing the core functionality of how Steem works is a lot harder to implement because it requires a lot more people to agree. Any frontend(busy, Steempeak, Steeve, esteem, etc) could implement this pretty quickly(I think) and see how it's received and if it causes lots of issues, just get rid of it.

Voted for

  • Yes, I'd rather my posts be able to earn rewards indefinitely.

Voted for

  • Yes, I'd rather my posts be able to earn rewards indefinitely.

I'm going to say yes here.. and caveat it with - maybe not indefinitely.. But there needs to be a way to reward viral posts that take off after the 7 day window.. and as you mention things like music videos that have a slow burn over time

Well the key would be that the comment is only created once someone upvotes on a post past the 7 day period, ie the vast majority of posts would never trigger it to begin with, but as you said in cases where something is really viral, or has a slow burn, it wouldn't shaft those people.

Ah I might have glossed over that point.. Yah.. something that will allow you to continue to upvote maybe with some smaller payout.. but will capture all those truant votes..

That one could be left open indefinitely and payout every 7 day period or something..

really interesting idea, and if what you say is technically possible it would be great, and maybe not that complicated to implement. and would certainly add more value to quality written posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • No, I like things the way they are.

I prefer the current system because it is hard enough to read through the hundreds of blog posts daily. If old posts could continue to be upvoted, then new posts would not get as many views.

But does this not encourage people to just post content everyday regardless of quality. If you were writing a post or making a video that you wanted to be seen for years I'm sure you would try to make it to a higher standard.

Just say you want to shoot a short movie for dtube? That could take a few weeks to create but if it is dead in days there is no point. Same goes for writing detailed informitive posts that should be available for years to help people, instead they are pushed to the side instantly. Just my thoughts on it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I do know that the intent of the window is because it is too resource intensive to keep reward calculations open for all posts indefinitely.

The method you propose sounds interesting, as it creates a workaround that would only trigger when a post generates renewed or continual interest. Honestly, the vast majority of social media style posts don’t see any prolonged activity. No one goes back to a two year old image of someone’s dinner and likes it!

I’ve previously advocated for a different “hack” with the same intent. An interface or interfaces should develop a “resteem with comment” option. I remember seeing this even listed as something that could be implemented with new Hivemind tools. But, the step further I’d like to see, is for that “share” style to automatically reference the author of the shared post and set them as a fairly significant rewards beneficiary.

So for instance, I find an awesome year old tutorial you did, and resteem it on my blog with a comment for my followers to check it out. I get 30-40% of any rewards my share generates, and 60-70% goes to you. This creates an “evergreen” revenue stream for posts, encourages resteems and sharing, and a whole new breed of curation rewards emerges, that greatly benefits casual users with low SP holdings that don’t benefit from curation rewards now due to the low impact of their votes.

True enough about typically social media post not generating continued interest, which is why I think this could work without bogging down the system. It would benefit the few cases where someone shares content that does create renewed interest like, a tutorial, or a music video, or artwork, etc. It would shift the incentives here to quality over quantity.

Also love the resteem idea, I think it would be cool if the poster could set the amount with like a minimum of 15% or something. But imagine you're promoting something, you might set it to 100% if your primary goal is to spread the word about something.

I like that aspect of it being a customizable field set by the author. You’re absolutely right it could be a strategy to get more exposure and promotion.

After thinking more about my reply, I thought of a troublesome exploit though, someone would post something on account A, have 100 alt accounts that all resteem the post and have account A set the beneficiary amount to where the resteemers get 100% of the payout.

Voted for

  • Yes, I'd rather my posts be able to earn rewards indefinitely.

Knircky has been working on something similar to what you describe called STEEM Forever (he's the one who created the steem bounty system). Information about it, what there is of it, can be found here: https://steem-bounty.com/services/forever, or you can look through posts by knircky to find the one he wrote about it some months back.

Personally, I tried it once, but I don't know if anything came of it. It's supposed to create a comment that can be upvoted if people choose to do so, but never saw that happen, so I don't have first hand knowledge about that.

I know there is some rationale to keeping it to a seven day pay system and then it's done, but I can't say I've really understood it. The fact is, though, some content is going to be at least somewhat evergreen, like your music video example, while much more of it won't be. I think part of it has to do with keeping bots or alt accounts from forever upvoting their own creations, but I would think there would be a way for the system to keep track of who has already upvoted, and then not allow them to do it after seven days.

Also, I would think it has something to do with flags, too. If you disagree with content, you and your cohorts only have to worry about seven days as opposed to an ongoing approach to keep the value down. Sad, but I think those are at least some of the reasons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46