You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poll: Would you rather posts on Steem never "expire" from being eligible for rewards?

in #dpoll6 years ago

Voted for

  • Yes, I'd rather my posts be able to earn rewards indefinitely.

Knircky has been working on something similar to what you describe called STEEM Forever (he's the one who created the steem bounty system). Information about it, what there is of it, can be found here: https://steem-bounty.com/services/forever, or you can look through posts by knircky to find the one he wrote about it some months back.

Personally, I tried it once, but I don't know if anything came of it. It's supposed to create a comment that can be upvoted if people choose to do so, but never saw that happen, so I don't have first hand knowledge about that.

I know there is some rationale to keeping it to a seven day pay system and then it's done, but I can't say I've really understood it. The fact is, though, some content is going to be at least somewhat evergreen, like your music video example, while much more of it won't be. I think part of it has to do with keeping bots or alt accounts from forever upvoting their own creations, but I would think there would be a way for the system to keep track of who has already upvoted, and then not allow them to do it after seven days.

Also, I would think it has something to do with flags, too. If you disagree with content, you and your cohorts only have to worry about seven days as opposed to an ongoing approach to keep the value down. Sad, but I think those are at least some of the reasons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33