Not a perfect 10 - My DoodleDoodledayeo Round 8

in #doodleon7 years ago

MisterMoh.png

My doodle for @opheliafu's DoodleDoodledayeo Round 8 was a bit of a comedy of errors. The prompt was Superhero / Diamond / Squid. Inspired partly by my favorite superhero the ever-lovin' blue-eyed Thing I figured I'd do a made-of-diamond superhero fighting a giant squid. As I was imagining that, I thought of a cackling villain with aquatic-creature-control powers mocking the hero with some hardness-related pun. That made me think of the traditional hardness scale and gave me a name for the hero, Mister Moh (joke's on me, I had misremembered, it's the Mohs scale not the Moh scale, but the name was stuck in my head). I started trying to sketch some things but I immediately discovered that my reach had exceeded my grasp trying to draw a diamond-faceted rock-monster guy. Eventually I decided to go a little more abstract and cartoony with it, which I was able to implement a bit better.

IMG_0556.JPG

I was originally going to make the symbol on his superhero costume a diagram of the crystalline structure of diamond (inspired by Dr. Manhattan's Hydrogen-inspired symbol). That was also a bit hard to draw at the scale I was working with, and then it occurred to me that diamond is a 10 on the Mohs scale so his symbol should be a 10, which amused me because it would make his superhero costume look like a sports jersey. (In the fantasy universe where Mister Moh is an ongoing character there would be a lot of "perfect 10" references). I needed to clean up some eraser marks from my primary sketch, so I scanned it in:

MisterMohScan.jpg

and did some erasing in GIMP and used the color levels tool to get rid of the scanning effects of the paper background. Then I loaded it into Inkscape where I did a bitmap-trace and added the text for the villain's taunt (in Comic Sans, since it amuses me that so many people hate that font so much) and generated my final image:

MisterMoh.png

The spirit of Doodle Doodledayeo is supposed to be simple and fun, but for some reason this one really ended up being more trouble than I expected when I started. Maybe the "hardness" metaphor was manifesting in my real life, too?

As a final note, people who are interested in fun drawing activities like Doodle Doodledayeo might want to read my post about my simple pencil-and-paper drawing game "Four Panels" where I have a bunch of scans of the results of playing it, which are fun little drawings.

Sort:  

The struggle with the doodling of the diamond man was definitely worth it though, this is a fantastic outcome. I found the diamond the hardest thing to draw too.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Thank you very much a lot of nice posts posted by your post very much Like many beautiful and many quality quality pictures are posted on you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46