Finding the most inspirational content

balloons.jpg

Do you know that feeling that you have when you are searching for something but not quite sure what? You need inspiration, but you are not sure in what form to take it? 

Well, that is where I found myself this week until I came across @markrmorrisjr and his 10 day dolphin school bootcamp challenge. I read through and as it sounded completely up my street, I thought I would give it a go.

I signed up and today I am currently on day one- I hope I am doing this right and I hope I am following the directions correctly.  I am a little bit of a maverick and tend to drift off, but I am very excited to be part of this.

Anyway, one of my tasks was to find a post that would be my ideal follower/ person of interest and mention them in my post. I searched for a good hour until I stumbled across @hopehuggs, an inspirational leader of life teachings. She blogs about her developments and educates her peers through blog/vlog journals.

I have a hell of alot of catching up to do here in terms of reading 49 journal entries, but for a mature student (moi) who has just turned 40 (Ok 41...) This really appeals to me, and it has given me some inspiration that I was looking for.

So @hopehuggs is my steemit idol for today, and my pick for today's challenge.

Here is the full 10 day boot camp


Sort:  

@hopehuggs is great. I see her around @thesteemengine she would be a fantastic follower. Very insightful. Her comments would aid any post.

You need inspiration, but you are not sure in what form to take it?

I am in the same place and was so excited to stumble on @markrmorrisjr's challenge. I look forward to getting to know you better over the next ten days. 😁

Me too...It's very exciting !

Well done! Great to see those with a little more bandwidth pitching in to encourage! Love it!

This is a great effort! 2 things, it's very short to get many votes. I have a suggestion that wouldn't require you writing ANYTHING else, except one sentence. "Here are my three favorite quotes from Hopehuggs so far" then, copy and paste a sentence or two from a couple of posts by that account, and maybe link to them. That way, you add a little more value to the stranger who finds this post. You can edit this post to add that, or just keep it in mind for the future. If you update it, leave a link on the dolphinschool day one post and I'll take a look! GREAT JOB!

Thanks Mark, I appreciate your comments as always. Question about the length though, does it really make a difference? I got taught that when you blog, you could keep it short and snappy as people don't want to be reading to much in one go, or is this not applicable to steemit ? I know it is a different blogging beast than normally blogs, but does it really make a difference? Oh and what was the 2nd thing :-)

Short and snappy yes, but, in the blogging world right now, that means minimum 350-500 words. But, both here on steemit and in the real world, the holy grail of content marketing, is the Skyscraper post, over 1500 words. Here's the psychology, the more time a person invests, the more likely you are to get a response. But, not just filler. You've got to enhance the experience. This post I wrote today for Dolphin School, will still be getting comments six months from now. It's got so much in it. Even Twitter recently increased their character count, seems, just as I said it would, longer term attention span is coming back into vogue. The new generation sees themselves as thinkers. They'll invest more time for quality content. But, as always, this is your content, I'm just sharing my experience.

Ok, I get it now thanks. I do content blogging for my 'learning' style blogs, the ones that people will keep coming back too, I didn't think about the relevance of length when passing on snippets of information. My methodology has been short and snappy for quick, fun/ philosophical reads that encourage engagement and long content blogs for learning and educational blogs. A poem for example or piece of art or quote would not be at length (unless a really looooooong poem) but may hold enough quality content to capture someones attention. I'm going slightly off topic here, but you're really good at this sort of stuff so hoping to get more insight. If my post is a short poem, piece of art or an inspirational quote, would this not be enough on its own? Sometimes words can overshadow a statement...and I would be interested in what you think the best style of content would be in regards to quantity. I do agree with the above comments about this post however, that could have more as I was skimping at 250 words. :-) I am studying an arts degree at the moment and it focuses very much on this sort of thing...but maybe different, of course, with the entitity of Steemit!

Yes, if the piece is stand alone, it could ruin the impact to share more. That's why I said, make sure you're adding value. But, in a loose prose piece like this, just a little more meat in the sandwich might help. Gauge it, check your votes, and followers, etc. If it's working, do it, if it's not, tell me to go to hell. LOL (not really, I might take offense. )

To give you a little background, I spent almost two decades teaching creative arts, theater, voice, acting, design and creative writing. Then, I went to marketing. So, I'm a weird hybrid. None of what I say is classroom wisdom. It's all from practical experience, but, what works for one, will not for another. My best advice to students, don't let them teach you what you can't, or are not supposed to do. Rules in art are meant to be broken, all virtuosos must do so to earn that recognition.

Ahhh great background, I run a little theatre group and wrote/directed a couple of Greek plays last year. I won't tell you to go to hell, too passive for that haha(and a wimp) I appreciate what you're are doing, best advice I have seen on here for a while!

Ah, I'm jealous! I haven't touched a stage, except to help my brother with sets for his company, in eight years. It broke my heart. I just haven't gone back yet. 25 years, that was my sole passion, morning noon and night, over 1500 performances, directed 75 productions, designed well over a hundred and had a thousand acting students, not a day goes by I don't miss it. but, I'm happy, no regrets. It almost killed my marriage, and me.

Ahhhh I think it is that sort of passion that just grips you, I am taking six months out before the next performance and I have someone to write and direct the next one as it is very exhausting (but completely exhilarating) I'm jealous you got to do so much! I only have a small group of up to 15, but it was always a worry covering for people and coaching them and doing all the production stuff. Even acting in both, which I wasn't going to do!

Great starting post for the challenge. You certainly picked a Steemian worth following. One of the names on my list that unfortunately I don't get to spend much time reading these days. But the reminder is good.

Thank you for your comments. Yes, was lucky to find her. Looking forward to day 2, to see what it entails :-)

Sometimes just looking at others can truly inspire you to do more. I love commenting more than blogging posts. It give me a topic to discuss and I can always feel like I can relate.

Now I do not feel so bad knowing there are some people on here that are a little older than me :p

Haha cheeky...

I am better at blogging than commenting but working on that :-)

Thanks for the recommendation to @hopehuggs !

I just read her latest post (https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@hopehuggs/a13y2lxk) in which states:

"Reading with your child is one of the most delightful experiences that you can have..."

Agreed. What's more, reading with your child is critical to their developing their own literacy skills.

Hi there - nice writing - Good luck with the challenge and finding the inspiration :)

Great comment! Thanks for taking the time to support others!

Thank you, I will follow you now...couldn't get on your link before :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63