How to Make the Most of Reading With Your Child

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)


PerfectSeparator.png

Reading with your child is one of the most delightful experiences that you can have, as it is a chance for some one on one time and a cuddle on the sofa.

I enjoyed listening to my daughter read last night, she is doing really well talking about split digraphs and what have you. I help with the sounding out of words, not the technical terms though, I'll leave that to them to teach me.

No I will look it up to see if I can get my head around it, so I can surprise them with my newly acquired phonics knowledge...

Oh yes a definition I get, I now understand!

"A digraph is two letters (two vowels or two consonants or a vowel and a consonant) which together make one sound (as in the words tail, boat, found or read).

When a digraph is split by a consonant it becomes a split digraph. For example:

wrote – the 'oe' here make one sound. The 'oe' digraph is split by the 't'
lake – the 'ae' here make one sound. The 'ae' digraph is split by the 'k'.
complete – the 'ee' here make one sound. The 'ee' digraph is split by the 't'"

Source

I understand tricky words, these are the words are the ones that don't sound like the way they are spelled out like; the, you, here, love, mother, always

I picked those out randomly so I thought. Those tricky words mentioned contain an important lesson!

But having time with your children and encouraging them to read and seeing them get and read words by themselves is a heartwarming and proud moment wrapped into one.


source

PerfectSeparator.png

TIPS FOR A SMOOTH READING SESSION

So here are some tips to make sure that your reading session goes as smoothly as possible...

  • Make the time for your child
  • Choose a time when your child is not too tired
  • Don't force a child to read
  • If they need encouraging think of rewards like stickers, a trip to the park or certificate you can download and print off the internet.
  • Be sure to encourage them when they are reading and tell them that they are doing well
  • Cuddles and well dones a plenty and they will want to read more
  • Most of all enjoy being in the moment with your child.

Trust me, they don't still this little long and soon they will be off in their bedroom reading their book on their own, in their head and you will miss the pleasure of hearing them reading to you. They will get to the phase of I don't need your help anymore all too soon.

So make the most of the reading you have,and take a video so you never forget. It is a treasured moment captured forever.


source

PerfectSeparator.png

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
Free daily crypto: Swift Coins

PerfectSeparator.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's awesome to see the lights turn on in their little heads. By the way, I was inspired by one of your comments to me and started doing this alot more.
IMG_1176 copy.jpg

I thanked you here: https://steemit.com/family/@gabbyg86/owen-is-not-happy-owen-s-vlog-2

As a private children lesson teacher for about four years I can say you are on the right path. Though, they are not simple formula to achieve success but having a good plan and following through your own path with consideration on the children learning needs will surely leads you to success. Its very sad that most parents ignore this early stage of a child development. I do always advise parent to use this period to make a bond with the child that will reap off well in the future. Thanks @hopehuggs for the message.

yes actually it's really great to have this experiance without forgetting that it have a really great results it useful for the child as well and thank you for the tips i love your tips especially i advice people to focuse on do not force child to read and to chose the appropriate time so that the child is not tired or not on the mood in addition that making new methods will be really useful thank you again

This is nice. I don't have a kid though but I see the need for connection. What people do not is that as we reach we learn. See you now know what split digraphs is. Me too... Lol.

I love reading with my little ones, only problem is they get so excited and can’t sit still and constantly pull the pages. I sill love it though.

this was very helpful and a great post dear thanks for sharing the video :) always a good time seeing and learn from you :D

a new learning phase in life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64