How to become a Dolphin in a few easy steps

in #dolphins8 years ago (edited)

So there is a lot of talk of Whales, Dolphins and Minnows. But the question is how do one move through the ranks?

There is also a lot of not being noticed, posts dropping of the new list in a few minutes, there is no follow button etc.
I have never been afraid of hard work, and one thing that I ultimately believe is that if you do not have a plan, you are not going to make it as you have no goal to work towards. It is also not as easy as saying I want to be a dolphin and think it is just going to happen!..

Although I am a minnow and a new user to Steemit … I have only been on Steemit for 18 days. One thing that I can truly say is that if you add value to other people, the reward will follow. In my life I have never been one to quit, and when I do something I always only know one direction and this is Upwards and Forward. Steemit is the same thing, I only want to move up in the ranks. I truly believe that ALL of us can become dolphins, in a much shorter time frame that we think.

My Tip to other newbies like myself: Build a reputation as Steemit is a reputation economy. See my post on this subject here

So here is my plan of working my way up to becoming a dolphin.

I can obviously not vouch that it will work, but what I can promise you is that I will change my plan until it works!!! I also want to mention that the list is in no particular order.

1. Get into a rhythm of posting and post good content.

A lot of life is about rhythm. Get into a habit of posting a few times a day. You will need to work out what time in your time zones are the best time to post.

2. Read and understand what makes people tick

It is quite easy to pick up the trend of which type of posts are making the trending lists. It changed quite dramatically during the time that I have been here on Steemit. I recently posted Trending Posts are changing for the better

3. Become a better author

English is my second language and what comes naturally in my First Language (Afrikaans) does not come naturally in English. I am reading and studying a lot about how to become a better writer.

4. Be noticeable and build a reputation

This is probably the most important of all. Due to the fact that the Steemit Community is growing rapidly, many posts are generated per minute. The result is that your posts are dropping of the New list very quickly. This comes back to building a reputation and a community of friendly's around you. Remember the community around you is also moving up the ranks, and they also become stronger, which rewards you when they vote on your posts.

It helps a lot to read many posts and comment. It does pay off… This is actually my first post after receiving recognition from @cryptogee - Steemit Spotlight No. 6 - The Rising Starts of Steemit! . @cryptogee, thank you very much for the recognition!!!

@gavvet, who has been on the platform for a few months are also really assisting me to be noticed. He is promoting me as one of his African Authors. I am also trying to find new ways of expanding my reach through other authors. Yo can read about my trip About traveling to Namibia and back to South Africa in 5 days

5. Be honest

As this is one of my character trades and values I do it by default and so should all of us.

6. Build your Steem Power

This is key to moving up the ranks and ultimately make you a dolphin. The more Steempower you have, the more voting power you have, the more curation awards you receive. I am actually starting to allocate 20% of all my earnings to buying SteemPower. Slowly but surely my Steempower is growing.

7. Be adaptable

Due to this being a new platform, a lot of changes are coming frequently. We need to be able to adapt to these changes. For example the 24 hour period changing to a 12 hour period. The new 30 day second pay period. The way you do things and write posts should be done keeping the future of Steemit in mind.

8. A little bit of luck

Whales had up voted me twice in the past 20 posts I have written. I have not yet had the major win on top of the trending list. But if you do all of the above, you will start understanding the trends, be in a rhythm of posting and hopefully you will be noticed. Like Gary Player one's said: The more I practice the luckier I get. :)

9. Enjoy Yourself

It is not all about the money. Like everything else in the world, you must enjoy what you are doing. Enjoy every second of posting. @piedpiper said it well in his post on Satisfaction on Steemit.

10. Curate

As @nanzo-scoop correctly pointed out - Voting on good content at the right time is a great way of growing your STEEM Power.

This is what I am planning to do for the next few weeks at least. Like I mentioned earlier there is no substitute for hard work…

Please feel free to comment below and tell me if I am nuts...

If you enjoy my posts, please follow me at @jacor

Happy Steeming!

Sort:  

Great list. I'd add Curate. Voting on good content at the right time is a great way of growing your STEEM Power.

Thanks for the tip @nanzo-scoop and totally agree. Would you mind if I add it to my post?

Sure no problem... be my guest!

Thanks Added and just followed you!

Looks like a great plan to me. I read a great article from @cryptoctopus about how he blogged for an entire year without making money but it prepared him for what he's achieving today. I think the key is to persevere and don't give up. Love your attitude!

And notice how you're stuff is already standing out from the crowd in the feed right now.

I have started to track my posts in excel and there is an obvious upward trend .. . My problem now is that I spend too much time on Steemit.:) I need to get to the point where it can be done on a more full time basis :)

Thanks, I am am lucky to be optimistic and my attitude is always positive. I have read many of @cryptotopus 's articles. Very good writer!

Luck is a big part it seems. I posted the same blog 10h ago and 20h ago. New got 50$, the first one 0. Explain that :)

Not that I am an expert, but I have found that the time that you post make a massive difference. You will need to work out what the best time is to post in your time zone.

Thanks for your great tips, i just 1 week on steemit. And its very hard to get noticeable, still dont know how curation work. Do i will get SP everytime i vote even the last voter?

Thanks for the points you have provided here

Thank you for the comment @corax . It gives great satisfaction when you receive positive comments on your posts.

This is a great post. I plan on becoming a dolphin as soon as I can and you really highlight some good points to get there. It's inspirational that you - after only 18 days - have made it this far already. I'd say you're already at dolphin status from this and your other articles. It's an exciting time to be a part of such a completely paradigm-shifting idea. Good luck to all!

Just buy the steam power. That is the easiest step.

Very expensive way to get there but it will obviously work as well :)

thanks this was helpful to find

I am a newbie! Great info on the previous post as well. Thanks for sharing!

Hope you enjoy the community. Welcome!

One day I shall earn money one posts as you do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59051.02
ETH 2508.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44